We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad first impression” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad first impression”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

First impressions are everything. Mine, left a bad taste in my mouth and left me wondering what was going to happen on day 2. We arrived early, so our room was not ready. (Check-in was 4 PM.) We decided to leave our luggage in the lobby and we would go do our grocery shopping and by the time we returned, our room would be ready. Around 4:00, we were leaving the grocery store. We arrived at the resort and checked-in, grabbed our luggage and room keys, and headed up to our room with all of our groceries. Once there, we saw that our passage was blocked by cleaning carts. It was now about 4:30 and the cleaning crews were just cleaning our room. We asked if we could come in and at least put the groceries that needed to go in the fridge and freezer away so they didn't spoil in the heat. They refused to let us in. I had to call the front desk and explain the situation. It took about 10 minutes for someone to reach our room and for the ladies to allow us access to put the groceries away in the fridge. The lunch meat was room temperature from sitting in the hot sun. We were all hot.

When we finally were able to get in, the two staff members that came up just kind of watched us unpack our $400 worth of groceries for the week and one of them was nice enough to make a second trip up from the car with us. But, at that point, we were all kind of irritated. It was way past 4:00 and now we are in a room for a week that had not been finished being cleaned.

The bed was not comfortable, and actually the sofa bed was a little softer. They did bring us some matress pads that made it better.

If you want a cup of coffee, buy some of your own to make in the room because the coffee shop doesn't open until 11 AM!

The staff worked hard to try to make up for the bad first impression. Overall, Scott at the front desk was one of the best employees we encountered. He was helpful and very sincere. We will go back and give this place another shot one day. The location is awesome and the rooms are very pretty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    50
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
68
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I bought into the Wyndham resort to try it. My first vacation was here. I was told I had a ocean front and ended up an ocean view. Condo was very nice, linens crisp and clean, bed comfy. Nicely decorated. staff was super if you could find where to check in. Signage is horrible so I drove, parked, went in and out to another place about 3 times. Again, I have to say the staff was super! Always smiles and very very helpful. The pools were horrible. Last night decided to find them all. The front one (inside and outside one) was so dirty the white tiles were black with crud. The hot tubs would have had more bubbles if I farted! 2 of the other pools were green with algi! Not nice at all. Would I stay here again? Yes. So now I have 3 other vacations planned with this thing we bought but I dont think I will buy into it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This resort is great and the staff was unbelievably wonderful, but be aware this resort is the side facing building, not the oceanfront building. I was unaware of this. And there is a lot of confusion when people are checking in. I first went to the oceanfront building, then was sent to the Arial Dunes, then finally to the side building where the Wyndham check in was. I cannot say enough about how outstanding the staff was, and we had a 2 bedroom lock off that was fantastic. Beach was unbelievable, better than some Caribbean islands I have been to. We did both sets of outlets, and the Pirate ship with our kids, which was awesome. We loved the Majestic Sun so much we bought a Wyndham timeshare to come back every year!! Love this place. Great job Wyndham, great staff!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room so you can see the ocean. We were on the 10th floor and it was great!! Check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVMOM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larned
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My mother daughter and I stayed a week at Wyndham Majestic Sun. I am a Wyndham owner but it was our first time here. It has become my favorite Wyndham property so far. We had a one bedroom that slept 4. King size bed with queen size sleeper sofa. Had what I would call a bath and a half, but only one toilet. The unit had a full kitchen that was stocked with everything we needed right down to a blender, coffee pot, and dish washer. We had a nice view from our balcony. It was a short walk to the beach, probably 50 yards. The sand and emerald coast waters of miramar beach are the prettiest I've ever been on. Each day there was lemon cucumber water in the lobby. I know that doesn't sound that good but it was so refreshing after a day in the sun on the beach. We plan on returning to this location on a regular basis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFox67550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We are Wyndham vacation owners. First time time stay at Majestic Sun. We had booked to stay at Bay Club 2, our usual spot. The afternoon of arrival we learned from the management our Bay Club unit was flooded and not usable for us. KenAllison, manager, and his staff could not have been more accommodating, customer service at its best! One option was the Majestic Sun unit. It worked out fabulous. Only activity we missed was the bike riding which our 3 grand kids really enjoy at Bay Club in Sandestin. Other wise the beach and pools were very accessible and nice.
Unit was clean, large enough for 2 adults and 3 sm grand kids. Parking easy. My husband and I enjoyed sitting on balcony after kids were in bed to watch ocean and activity below us. It was somewhat noisy but not offensive. Again we can not say enough positive about the Wyndham management !! They were very willing do do whatever we needed to make our stay comfortable and fun!!!

Room Tip: All units are ocean view. 4th floor has widest balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psl126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a perfectly located resort. The unit we rented slept 8 and was very nice. The View was so amazing of the emerald waters of Miramar Beach. The walk to the beach was easy and the sand was very pretty. The location is very safe and kids are free to move around with out fear of trouble. There are plenty of places within walking distance to eat and buy supplies for your condo.

Room Tip: be sure your room has view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great place overall. The front desk associates were always cheerful and helpful. The grounds were very well-maintained. Even for a busy holiday week; the lobby was well attended and clean. Elevator service was great; as well. Again, busy holiday week and monsoon-type weather when everyone is going up and down to their respective condo units; it was suprisingly good.
The units themselves were impressive. Stayed in a 2 bedroom; which consisted of King Master, and 2 queen guest accomodations. The furnishings appeared to be new or recently replaced. The unit was spacious, clean, and well-appointed; including a washer and dryer. In addition, the insulation here is great. The only noise we heard was random sounds above us; around bed time. Chairs scraping and what could only be described as beads bouncing. I can't even guess what was going on above me; but it happened three nights in a row. It didn't spoil my stay here, though. Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun

Property: Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
Address: 77 Seascape Dr, Destin, FL 32550-3974 (Formerly Fairfield Destin at Majestic Sun)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Destin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#9 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At Majestic Sun Hotel Destin
Wyndham Destin
Wyndham Vacation Hotel
Destin Wyndham
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing