We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Destin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I should have done more homework on TripAdvisor. My room was fine. It was a one bedroom deluxe and had plenty of space for two people. It was furnished and equipped nicely. It wasn't fancy but it was ok. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was plenty of parking.
The problem was that this building in not on the beach and there is another large building between you and the beach.When the other reviews talk about the view from their room, they mean standing on their balcony looking around the corner at the beach across the highway. When I made my reservation, I envisioned myself sitting on my balcony looking out at the Gulf. I would not stay here again and don't really understand why anyone would want to come to Destin and not be on the beach. There are plenty of other places to stay. You even have to go to another building to go to the pool.

Room Tip: no rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TomFromBellaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at the Majestic Sun for four nights in late October and had a very positive experience. Even though the building is not directly on the Gulf, our one bedroom unit had a great balcony with a view. It was a spacious one-bedroom condo within walking distance to a few restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a gulf view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This Wyndham property was convenient to the beautiful Destin Beach. There is ample parking and you can walk across a small road right down to the beach. The pool area is also quite nice. The room was quite nice with a full kitchen and a small washer and dryer. The view wasn't the best but you could see some of the ocean view. The unit was very clean and seemed to be updated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kovendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed with another couple at this resort loved it! All rooms have water views and are updated, clean, and beautiful. The resort grounds are well kept. Many places we have visited are "tired" but not this resort. No only is it beautiful but the staff is extraordinary! They are courteous, kind, pleasant, and helpful. We highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on an upper floor for a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank everblessed7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

From the moment I checked in everything was perfect! The staff was very kind and eager to please. The pools are well kept and weren't crowded. The views of the Gulf was exquisite! Looking forward to returning:)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluegoldstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the resort amenities and view. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here & had 2 rooms. A 2br & 1br condo for a week. The 1 br had no balcony & tiny kitchen but was sufficient for 2 adults & 1 toddler. The 2br had lots of room & small balcony & semi view of the beach. They said they had no beach view condos here. The was a walk carrying all the toys & chairs & ice chest. We thought we would be smart & take a cart. Well on the beach side there were no ramps so it was a task getting down the several flights of stairs. I did like the swimming pools. We will stay here sometime in the future but would probably skip the 1br if at all possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim4917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Hi Kim,

Thank you for providing this feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the lack of ramps. We will work to better communicate this information in the future. We are glad you enjoyed the larger unit and swimming pools available. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The staff and the ambience was wonderful...we checked into our 1 br and it was like a brand new apt. everything about the trip was delightful! We were a party of MEME( THE YOUNG GRANDMA) my daughter and two children 11 months and 41/2 yr old...loved the sparkling pool and beautiful beach..all local restaurants were walking distance...sunset at Whale Tail it was a delight!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback including some area activities for future guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s great to hear you were fully assisted with any needs by our friendly staff. We hope you come back to visit for another great vacation experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
3.9 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun

Address: 77 Seascape Dr, Destin, FL 32550-3974 (Formerly Fairfield Destin at Majestic Sun)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Destin
#9 Family Hotel in Destin
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £108 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At Majestic Sun Hotel Destin
Wyndham Destin
Wyndham Vacation Hotel
Destin Wyndham
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing