We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, poor food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar

AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar
Ranked #37 of 301 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: To read about AJ’s is one thing... to experience it is another. Come see why AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar has been the place to be on the Emerald Coast for nearly 30 years! Join us today! Doors open at 11:00 am! See you soon!
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I sat outside on the top deck overlooking the marina. Location was perfect to watch the boats come in for the day. The food was a bit pricey and only average. My husband had the mahi mahi basket. It looked like fish sticks and wasn't fresh. I had the clam basket and although it was plentiful, it was below average. We would return to AJ's for drinks and to enjoy the atmosphere, but we wouldn't stay for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    485
    355
    188
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chimay1028
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely a tourist trap!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The food here was subpar for what you pay. The seafood did not taste fresh. No better than Captain D's but you pay $60-70 for a meal (with no alcoholic beverages).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our service wasn't great. We had to wait forever before anyone acknowledged that we were there, but after that it was OK. The food was average, nothing to brag or complain about. The view was great! We could see right out into the bay, where there were dolphins! We also watched the boats return from their fishing excursions which was pretty cool. The atmosphere is fun and laid back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on our Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We ate lunch at AJ's during our visit during Spring Break. We were seated on the lower level at an open window seat. While we waited for our lunch, we watched dolphins playing in the water and boats coming in and out. The ambiance couldn't be beat! The waiter was very pleasant and efficient and the food was delicious. Everyone enjoyed their food. I had the nachos and they were delicious! We would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 973Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“She Crab Soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This restaurant is at the Harbor Walk and has parking. The She Crab Soup was absolutely delicious. The staff was great and service was quick and the food served hot. I would definitely eat here again if we get the chance to revisit Destin. My waiter was kind enough to give me an oyster shell as a souvenir. Thanks!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cacobun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing