We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a 3 day stay with points. at check in the staff indicated that i could stay in the same room for all three days. the second day when i came back to my room, i was locked out.. when i went to the front desk i was told by "the staff" that said i would not have to change rooms, that they did not remember telling me that and that my room type was different for the next two days. They moved me to another room and after opening the door to the new room they indicated "this is actually the same room type and the one we moved you from". The move caused me to be late fro a family event that i was hosting with other siblings. The room was horrible and the staff was plain "mean". I would like to talk with someone about this situation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I do apologize, for the issue at our hotel. There was a miscommunication with our staff and I take full responsibility for any issue at the hotel. I know when you are on vacation everything should be perfect and we did not provide that for you. I also know we did provide you with a free nights stay as part of our apology, and hope you will take that into account. Again, I am sorry for the issue and changing of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    128
    62
    41
    15
See reviews for
207
121
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

SOOOOO disappointed in this hotel. Apparently, a bunch of smokers occupied our room recently, and the room had poor air circulation. It was very difficult to catch a good clean breath of air, and we were careful to not put our luggage on any upholstery or the carpet so that our things would not stink. We were able to turn the air very cold and run the fan on high to get some peace. The breakfast was basically non-existent - the orange juice was colored water, and the hot food containers were empty. There were a couple of old looking muffins, and boiled eggs. However, our room was very quiet :) and the check-in lady was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 747jeanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I understand the room had a smokey smell to it. As one of our last rooms it is a smoking room and we normally have guests check the room as it is smoking. The hotel does plan on removing all smoking rooms in the next year during renovations.
I do apologize that breakfast is so hectic, during the last 45 minutes we have the majority of our guests come down as it is vacation time. We do try to prepare ahead and stock up the area, this day we did not keep up well enough. Every day the staff makes strides to improve how we serve our guests and we hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

In Destin this was a "good" place to stay. Based on other hotels in the area for the price it was ok. To go up in price substantially you get more bang for the buck. The only real problem we had here was the beds were not comfortable. It was clean, the staff were extremely friendly, the breakfast had a good selection each morning and we had no problems here. It is located close to choice things to do in Sandestin as in shopping, eating etc. Try the new bowling alley at the Commons "Uncle Bucks Fish Bowl". Food not so good but the rest was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I are long time Hampton Inn users, but we feel as though we got used/misled by this one, particularly considering how expensive the rooms are. The website describes it as just across the street from the beach. That may be true, but what they don't say is that there are big time share buildings between you and the beach, so you can barely even see the water. Additionallly, to even get to the beach you must walk about 1/4 miles down the road. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am sorry you felt mislead, I have reviewed our web site and all areas refer to ourselves as a quarter mile from the beach as you have indicated yourself. The other Hampton in the Destin area does talk about being across from the beach. We try not to mislead our guests as this is one of the most asked questions. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The accommodations were fine... Aside from the wall window view.

No matter how many hotels we have stayed in from TOP of the line to not so much... The ONLY impression left by Hampton Inn & Suites was that of the bald, rude man working on our last night. (Sorry, I didn't catch his name & I surely don't want anyone else getting in trouble for his bad behavior!)
He yelled at me!!!! Quite frankly scared me and decided to tell me LOUDLY of the "felony for unpaid bills" or something very uneducated in that manner!!" (I'll explain shortly)
I simply walked away at this point... It was also well after midnight & I was ONLY down to get some clothes dried!
This guy is a loose cannon!
My CC kept locking up do to Florida being a high risk for fraud (according to my bank) so, a few times throughout our stay I had to call my bank to get the block removed. Which EVERY OTHER EMPLOYEE THERE UNDERSTOOD PERFECTLY FINE!
When I called the next morning to report this guy's behavior the nice lady said AND I QUOTE... "That's why he works nights, ma'am" OMG... WHY??? Does this guy work here????? HAMPTON INN TAKE MY ADVICE AND GET RID OF THIS GUY. He's baaad news for your company.
We will not be back... And we travel often!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Keithyncourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am sorry this is the impression you left our hotel with. Our Auditor is a four year veteran of the hotel and our guests like him. I understand he asked about the payment issue and your response was not to solve the issue and tell him we made the mistake, which as you stated was not the case. Again, I am sorry for this incident and any misunderstanding there may be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel should be avoided. The entrance is by a Trash Enclosure from Fast Food restaurants, that are overflowing with Trash and grease, that smells when the tempertature is HOT. The Port Cachere faces the rear of the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Charles B,
I am sorry you were disappointed with the entrance to the hotel. We do have two ways to enter the hotel area, one is past the dumpster area and the other is past the retail shops. As you may have noted this area is big on retail with the 125 outlet shops across the street. When I first arrived in this area I to found some of the odor's different, I do know being on the Gulf Coast is different from were I have lived in the past. I do hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed there on a family vacation booked through HHonors. The room was good, and the hotel overall was nice. The only complaint I have would be on location. It can be confusing on how to get to it. It would be nicer if there were a path or sidewalk heading towards the beaches. But I can't fault the hotel itself for that. It was a good stay for the price and I would recommend if you don't mind the drive to the beach to save a few bucks.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 39 in Destin
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Address: 10861 US Highway 98 W, Destin, FL 32550-5864
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#10 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin is conveniently located one-quarter mile from the white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico and across the street from Silver Sands Premium Outlet Mall. This Destin, FL hotel offers guest rooms, suites and accessible rooms with one king- or two queen-sized beds. Both guest rooms and suites feature great amenities, including work desks with adjustable lamps, lap desks, and coffeemakers. Join us each morning for Hampton's free hot breakfast. If you're in a hurry, grab a free Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag for a quick, healthy meal to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin Hotel Destin
Hampton Inn And Suites Destin-Sandestin
Hampton Inn Destin
Destin Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing