We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sterling Sands Condominiums
Ranked #34 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our first trip to Destin. We were very pleased with the fabulous beach and friendly families on the property. The Sterling beach is so much nicer that other properties to the west. Go to the beach shack the day you get there to reserve your umbrella and chairs. We got lucky and there was one set left on the front row the morning we stayed on the beach. Unit 205 was clean, well equipped and in good repair. The property was quiet in the evening and even though the pool closes at 9:00, there were several people quietly enjoying it until later. It is so nice to have a washer and dryer to keep the beach towels clean and keep ahead of the sweaty clothes. Sterling is located across the street from a souvenir shop and mini-golf/go carts. Never had trouble parking. Be prepared to wait for a table at the restaurants.

Room Tip: Read the reviews from other travelers since the condos are owned by different people. We were right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easterbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments for Sterling Sands. We strive for excellence and value you opinions and suggestions. Please come back to see us soonest.

Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    41
    18
    8
    12
See reviews for
80
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stay at Sterling Sands for 4 yrs in a row. This last one, the condo unit (113) 2 bedroom deluxe is nothing to brag about. The kitchen is really out dated. This unit is up for sale thru remax for 425K. The owner really needs to do modernize it or getting that price is a joke. You can go to website to look at photos to see what I am talking about. Things in this unit(beds, misc, appliances) needs a major rehab. I would recommend Sterling Sands but not this particular unit. I paid for deluxe and did not get that at all. Very disappointed with the stay this time around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Enjoyed the stay. When we arrived, light bulbs were out, AC was frozen over, refrigerator was leaking water all over the kitchen floor... They fixed bulbs the next day, AC got fixed due to a friend that was with us being a heat and air guy, refrigerator still leaks. Beach was AWSOME!!! Short walk from condo to chairs and umbrellas. Go cart tracks right across the street and Big Kahunas less than half a mile away. They have crafts for kids twice a week that was absolutely phenomenal! The kids will remember making the shark tooth necklaces, the seashell picture frames, and the tye dye tshirt forever! Overall a great experience. We will be back. Maybe a different condo though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gooser67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have also resolved the AC issue and appreciate you bringing it to our attention so quickly. Please come back to see us when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family stayed in unit 802, which was a 2br/2bath deluxe unit. This was our first time visiting Destin and had a hard time deciding on which property to stay in. But, we were happy with our decision to stay at Sterling Sands. We absolutely loved it! We arrived a little early and decided to go to the front desk in hopes that our unit was available and were pleased to find out that it was. The condo was newly renovated and had a beautiful view of the beach. As other reviewers have said, the beach was not overly crowded and the pool was very nice. Sterling Sands was conveniently located near shopping, dining, and other fun family activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we are doing. We strive to do our best and certainly appreciate hearing that it does work.

Thank you kindly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We just got back from Sterling Sands and we had a blast. It is really nice place right on the beach. We had a 3br, 3 bath corner unit. It was really nice. Everything was really clean. Gorgeous balcony and great location. Nice size pool and hot tub that wasn't ever too crowded. Walked to back porch one night and right across the street to the souvenir shops. Only thing was I wish they had a poolside bar. That would have been nice!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stars1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We do try our best to make each guest experience the best
we possibly can.
Sadly, we don't always hear the positive reviews so this one was very nice and myself and my staff appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great location,right on the beach.we had standard 2bedroom,will do larger 2bedroom next trip.bedrooms on road side can hear traffic,and trash pick up will awake you.this unit 112.was good,kitchen great.the balcony needs resin furniture,as what was there rust stained several pieces of clothing.over all a great place to stay,had more issues with shopping and eating then anything.i would recommend sterling sands and would stay again if the beach is all your wanting..

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms will have ocean front view,beautiful!!.a little noises from traffic in early mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we are doing. Please come back to see us when you can.
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Beautifully decorated, well stocked,owner rented condo! Directly on the beach with great ocean view. Staff lacked friendliness. Grounds were clean. Average size pool that became crowded midday which didn't bother us because we stayed on the beach.. Elevators kept breaking down. Housekeeping prior to arrival was fair. Floors were still sandy with hair and there was black scum around the tops of the sinks and on shower door. Great location, only a few condo buildings away from the Back Porch(great tuna and crab dips!). Plenty of parking. Across the street from The Track (go carts, bumper cars, putt putt golf, etc.). Close to Kelly Plantation Golf course. Only one and 1/2 rows of umbrellas/chairs in front of Sterling Sands but two and three rows of umbrellas and crowded next door at Silver Beach.

Room Tip: We used Vacation Rentals By Owner website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20BeachloveR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.4 mi away
Sterling Shores
Sterling Shores
#15 of 56 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#8 of 56 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Towers
Emerald Towers
#31 of 56 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Beach House Condominiums
0.7 mi away
Resorts of Pelican Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Sands Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Sands Condominiums

Property: Sterling Sands Condominiums
Address: 1080 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2942
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sterling Sands Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Sands is a modern, beachfront mid-rise conveniently located in the heart of Destin near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Sterling Sands offers 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies in a resort setting that includes a free-form pool and spa, picnic area with grill, and beachside deli. Children's activities, meeting/reception facilities, and free wi-fi in all rental units.2013 Update: Sterling Sands under went all new exterior upgrades. New paint, new tiled walkways, new pool deck, new lighting, new elevators, new vending area, new poolside restrooms and more. Come see us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sterling Sands Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Sands Condominiums Hotel Destin
Sterling Sands Condominiums Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing