We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sterling Sands Condominiums
Ranked #33 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Home away from home..just had to write a review to encourage those of you who have not stayed at Sterling Sands to do so . I have been staying there the last 5 years. I had been trying many condos in destin for the last 32 years...I finally found my home here at SS...the management is like family..Always making your accommodations perfect for you..newly updated it has a very luxurious feel..The rooms are so spacious and the kitchen is well equipped and large. Recently stayed for several weeks and waking up with the ocean view and a cup of coffee....Cannot be in a better place...I'm Home...check it out its great!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank DestinLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are certainly glad to you enjoy your stays at Sterling Sands and very much appreciate the positive comments so that others who may not have made a decision of where to stay yet- will chose "Sterling Sands".

We are excited for your next visit and value your patronage.

Regards,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

This condo was a beautifully furnished 2 bedroom deluxe, with plenty of places to sit and watch TV! Enough for all five members of our family!!! We were so excited this condo had a key pad door!!!! No keeping track of keys, how relaxing! Condo was clean. Great appliances and well equipped kitchen! Location is beyond amazing! Manager was wonderful and helped with any issues, immediately! Highly recommend staying at this complex! The facilities are clean and well maintained! Staff is friendly and attentive! We have stayed at Sterling Sands for the past 6 spring breaks and we really enjoyed our stay again this year and are looking forward to returning next year! Can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: All condos have amazing views of the gulf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

I completely agree with you. Unit 210 is wonderful and one my of many favorites at Sterling Sands. We're were equally happy that you had the opportunity to stay in that condo and I have expressed your happiness to the unit owner who allowed this reservation to be made possible by cancelling one of her weeks to allow enough space for your family.

Thanks so much for your kind words. We'll be looking forward to you future reservation at Sterling Sands.

Kind regards,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Condo nice. Clean. Condo was as promised. However, the pool and spa were not in working condition. Pool closed two days in a row. Hot tub broken since we arrived. No attempt was made by staff to fix problems or offer solutions. So many other choices available- I will not stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPRNGBRK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

The hot tub required a part and was only closed over night and re-opened on 4/17 after the part arrived and could be installed.
What is not mentioned here is that the pool was closed for everyone's safety. A child had an "accident" and laws require the pool be closed and shocked to make it safe-we cannot help the length of time necessary to re-open the pool.

The pool was/is not broken but was closed for safety reasons to ensure the well being of all who will use it. Sadly, we cannot refund for accidents in the pool as the check in office has no control over the external property issues or this sort of "accident" but action was taken immediately to make is safe and the Health Regulations were followed to the letter.
We're sorry for the inconvenience during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We took a girls bachelorette trip for our friend getting married next month. Based on the pictures we saw, we expected a nice clean, modern looking room. The room was the exact opposite. Outdated, not clean when we checked in. The carpet was so dirty and hair in the tub. Light bulbs not working, ripped couch cushions, not to mention the layer of grime you could feel in the couch. We are all really laid back girls, so we had a great trip regardless, but for our good friends bachelorette I think we all would have preferred a nice place to stay. The maintenance people did respond to our complaints about the room, but long after we called them.
The positives are it's right on the beach and a great location, but because of the room, I will not stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Ladyivy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We're sorry that you didn't find the unit to your satisfaction. There was no mention of the unit being outdated to our staff when you were in this condo. Maintenance and housekeeping were right up there to take care of the removal on 1 hair in the tub, 1 wash cloth left in a closet behind the bathroom door and to give directions on the light switch operation from the wall switch.

I would like to add that our staff acted quickly and you agreed to that in person and am disappointed to see a negative review when we did what you asked timely and professionally.

Additionally, the toilet paper, paper towels, etc. are an initial setup item only-we did find a note shoved in the office door on Monday but were closed Sunday and unable to see your note. These items are typically put in for your convenience and after they are depleted, we leave it up to the guest to purchase more. The Manager also emailed you this same detail 2 days ago.

We apologize that you didn't prefer your condo but that was not mentioned while you were here as we could have relocated you elsewhere had we known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The facility is very nice; The location is EXCELLENT; Right on the beach; Nice pool/Hot tub; Many restaurants and nice places nearby; Stayed in 504;
Nicely furnished with full silverware/plates etc including blenders;

The biggest problem is the front desk; Called many times and left messages in advance to confirm booking and check in procedures but never got a call back.
Website and door states that office closes at 5pm but when we got there at 4pm, she said they are already closed ; Got the feeling from the front that guests were an interruption of their time;

Feel bad for the owners of the condos; They have done their part to get a 5star rating; HOwever with management being 3 stars, the average is a 4 star overall;

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a Gulf view; Higher floors have better views;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BbBbBbBbTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Our office hours are seasonal and the sign on our front door does say that we close at 4pm. We apologize if you didn't see it. Additionally, the number you dialed to reach us was either before or after our business hours and goes to an after hours service. There were not messages left at our front desk and we are sorry that we missed you call in person. If callers attempt to reach us before we open or after we close, they go to a voicemail system with our call center. We received no messages that you were trying to reach us as I've pulled that call log and you number wasn't on it sadly.

We do apologize for your inconvenience and are glad that we were able to return your Iphone to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sterling Sands condominium- no problems- we stayed in 406- and it was very nice and comfy- loved being on the beach- the price was good- no problems- more quiet here than some of the other bigger condos- only 8 stories- beach was not crowded- had a walk in shower- plus a huge jacuzi in the master bedroom-

Room Tip: We were in 406 and it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginningcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We do hope you and your family will return to Destin to visit us again soon.
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We recently stayed at Sterling Sands and had a very good time. The building is only 8-stories, so there are no long waits for elevators. They provided plenty of luggage and food carts, so stocking the condo was also relatively easy. The master bedroom in our condo held a queen bed and had plenty of room to move; however, the second bedroom was a postage stamp. Our kitchen was well-stocked, with plenty of pots and pans. Furnishings in the condo were tasteful and functional.

The pool and hot tub were loaded with children each afternoon, but around 6:00 or so, the crowd thinned and the pool area was very pleasant. From my condo balcony, I observed staff cleaning the pool and pool seating areas every morning. The private beach was also always clean, with no debris left over from the day before. At some condominium complexes, the walk to the beach requires a long walk down a boardwalk, but this condo is situated VERY close to the ocean-front. One small problem we encountered was with securing a water-front spot on the beach. The hotel has a chair rental service, but if you want to take your own umbrellas and chairs, you'd better stake out a spot by 8:00 each morning. Otherwise, you'll be forced to set up behind a line of folks in front of you.

Our family has traveled to Gulf Shores, Alabama for years, but the water quality in Destin is so much better that we've decided to make this our new spot for our yearly family vacation. We'd definitely stay at Sterling Sands again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thanks for your comments. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit Sterling Sands/Sterling Resorts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
6.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.4 mi away
Sterling Shores
Sterling Shores
#22 of 55 in Destin
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#14 of 55 in Destin
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Resorts of Pelican Beach
7 mi away
Mainsail Resort
Mainsail Resort
#32 of 55 in Destin
60 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Sands Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Sands Condominiums

Address: 1080 Highway 98 E, Corner of Highway 98 E and Airport Rd, Destin, FL 32541-2942
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range: £185 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sterling Sands Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Sands is a clean and inviting beachfront high-rise condominium conveniently located in the heart of Destin near family activities like the Track and Big Kahunas; popular restaurants like the Back Porch, Harbor Docks and Dewey Destin; and close to plenty of shopping. Sterling Sands offers 1.5, 2, and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies on the Gulf in a resort setting that includes a free-form pool and spa, picnic area with gas grills. Children's activities, meeting/reception facilities, and free high speed wi-fi in all rental units. Sterling Sands recently recoated their balconies and many units adding balcony tile that adds some luxury to your stay. The Fitness Center was updated with all new exercise and weight equipment to include a 40" flat screen TV. There have also been many landscaping upgrades to include the entrance fountain, new bollard lights and paved sidewalks. Come and stay at the newly updated Sterling Sands, you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sterling Sands Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Sands Condominiums Hotel Destin
Sterling Sands Condominiums Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing