We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Sands Condominiums
Ranked #38 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The view and the beach is very nice but the rooms are very dirty. Our ceilings fans are 80% covered with dust,the air vents are gross and we found roaches in the kitchen and bedrooms. The chairs outside are missing legs. Overall the room is dirty and it could use a update. This is our 17th coming to Destin and this place is the worst place we've stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mendez_michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is our first trip to Destin (for a wedding in a nearby Henderson Park Inn - wonderful venue) and this condo was wonderful. We stayed at unit 111B and it was very clean. We love the location and the convenient of the first floor condo. We have a toddler and being on the first floor was a must for us. Our son could only tolerate the beach for a short period each time, and since the condo is right on the beach, it was easy for us to do the short walk to the beach.

The view of the ocean from the patio was gorgeous. It was nice to be able to just enjoy the patio and watched the view while our son was napping or after he has gone down for the day. And our son loved playing on the patio and walked along the boardwalk.

The unit is right in front of the pool so you will hear some noises from people playing in the pool. But it wasn't really a big deal during our stay - our son was able to go down for his naps with no problem.

We rented through Sea Oats Management Rental and everything was a breeze. We received the full security deposit back promptly in the mail - a week after we stayed there.
We also used Coastal Crib Rental to rent a crib and a stroller. They were there on the condo when we checked in and they picked them up after we checked out. Very easy process.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank destinvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 214 in building A. We rented directly from the units owner. It was a nicely updated unit although it had some wear and tear which can be expected when you're renting to a new family every week.

I will say that the cleanliness of the unit could have been a bit better. A beach condo is bound to be full of sand but the cleaning crew could have done a better job before we checked in. And the countertops had some gunk in a few spots.

With that said, neither me or my wife found either issue that annoying. A quick vacuum and wipe down of the counters took care if it.

As far as the actual property, it's kept clean, and right on the beach. We found it was in a good central location of Destin, making it easy to get to the grocery store etc.

A downside is that there a plenty of public access so the beach can get crowded, but it wasn't an issue for us.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and thought Crystal Sands was a nice property.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed a week here and our 2nd floor condo was clean, well-stocked with plenty of towels, and the beach chairs/umbrella that was included made it very nice. We enjoyed sipping coffee and reading on the balcony as we watched the waves.
The only down side is that we were near the pool and it was noisy; the bedroom is on the front so if you wanted a mid-day nap that close to the pool, I'd suggest earplugs. Also, it sounded like a herd of elephants over us on the 3rd floor; we had travel companions staying on the first floor and they said the people over them were noisy as well so not sure if we both had unfortunate vacationers above us or if it was just not much insulation between floors. But for the price, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor and on the OPPOSITE end from the pool if you want peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terrig308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

105B is exactly what we needed and wanted! It is incredibly clean and completely updated. You could not possibly get closer to the beach. It is the perfect area in Destin, close enough to everything but not too close. The agent was great to work with. It was the perfect stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in 101B, loved the location & convenience to the beach. The condo was ok, but had correctable problems: slow draining bath tub, musty (maybe cigarette smoke), dated televisions, uncomfortable patio furniture, pots & pans were very worn, needs new mattress, no pantry. We would probably stay here again, the price was great & the issues were just inconvenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianag1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a response to the review below for 105B. I was actually apprehensive about our stay here due to that particular reviewer (thanks for that!)...so I would hate for one persons experience to negatively affect this location going forward.

Our experience could not have been more different. The condo was extremely clean, and there is no better view in the Destin area. This is a first floor (of 3) condo, and opens up to a boardwalk of sorts that leads to the beach access. (The upper floors have private balconies of course.). The showers for rinsing sand off etc are in the middle of the complex. This particular room is diagonal to that, and you can see people there if you look over. The same would be true for any room in the complex except for the next one over (107?). And as far as seeing staff around: to my knowledge, there is none, so Im not sure what "staff" they are referring to, except maybe the private company that places the umbrellas on the beach. There are 2 flat screen TVs in this particular unit, with the local cable feed of 80 channels give or take.

But excellent place. excellent location right off the new bridge. Would recommend to anyone, especially those with families. The one negative of this place is the public beach access is right next to it, so the beach stays a bit more crowded.

And yes, this is a real review, not from the owner :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cham2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Destin
Days Inn Destin
#36 of 37 in Destin
204 reviews
3.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.8 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
3 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#18 of 55 in Destin
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Sands Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sands Condominiums

Address: 3290 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541-5102
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Sands Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crystal Sands Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Sands Condominiums Hotel Destin
Crystal Sands Condominiums Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing