We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainsail is fantastic!”
Review of Mainsail Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mainsail Resort
Ranked #26 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
alcoa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mainsail is fantastic!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent last week at Mainsail Resort. Reserved Unit 168 2 1/2 weeks before our stay through ResortQuest. Mainsail Resort is fantastic. I researched many places. This resort is one of the older condo resorts in Destin. Many of the owners whom rent their units have maintained them well. It was a great bargain compared to many others I researched. Units 1 & 2 are angled to where there is a good view - architects knew what they were doing when they planned this place - of the ocean and the beach, except the the first floor units. Unit 168(6th floor of 8 floors) was the last unit right above the pool. Yet, we had a good view from the balcony of the ocean and the beach - even when sitting on the couch of the spacious living room the view was good. Our unit had a washer and dryer. The washer was not functioning when we checked in Saturday afternoon. I called Sunday to report it, and a technician arrived Monday morning to repair it. I'm an early riser in the morning. Sunday morning after sunrise, we heard a big boom. Power in our unit, except for the kitchen went out. Other guests I had encountered that day from our Building 1 experienced the same power outage. I must have been the first quest to call because their staff were not aware of any power outage. Linemen from Gulf Power arrived in 30 minutes, and had power restored 30 minutes later. Later that day, I spoke to a woman who witnessed Rocky(squirrel) hop onto a transformer, and in a poof of smoke he was gone. Our 2 beach chairs and umbrella were included in our package. The damage deposit was small compared to many other resorts I researched. There is an outlet mall across the street(Hwy 98); it's close, and a short walk away. General Dollar and Alvin's Island were a short walk away. Publix was 2 to 3 miles away. Mainsail has nice beach house rentals on both sides. Thus, it was not crowded like some of the bigger resorts in Destin. The pool is big enough. There is covered parking which is underneath the tennis courts. In the past, I have spent more money on other beach resorts that were no better than Mainsail. We loved our first stay in Destin. When we do return to the Emerald Coast, Mainsail will definitely be considered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    12
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My family and friends stayed at Mainsail over Spring Break. It was a perfect fit for us! Lots to do, but still quiet enough to relax...Close enough to great restaurants and attractions... And right on the gorgeous beach! The pool and hot tub were nice. Our friends enjoyed playing pickle ball on the well maintained tennis courts. The staff were really great to deal with and made us feel right at home. The beach is private, with a guy who sets up chairs and umbrellas for you! We even saw dolphins from our kitchen window!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I specifically wanted to stay at Mainsail because my sister lived there when it was brand new and I was familiar with it. We rented a last minute unit through Resort Quest. The unit was clean and modern, the pool area very nice and we enjoyed the gym and tennis courts. And you are just a few steps to the most beautiful beach.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cwoodharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Five women in one condo for a weekend WHAT A BLAST. We were quite happy with the first floor, closest to the beach accommodations. Nicely appointed, clean, meet every need we could image. Felt safe, content, perfect weather. Support staff was absolutely wonderful....Kim is great!

Room Tip: We selected first floor beach side due to limitations of walking long distances. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisaandrewssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The facilities are nice but tired. They have a great gym and pool on property. The beach area needs to be kept cleaner woke up to walk each morning and always a great amount of trash. Not a good place for couples as its highly family use, so quiet location is not a option, so bad we left 3 day early.

Room Tip: No a good place to stay if you dont have kids to noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Leisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Mainsail is ideal for families. The pools are gated and the kiddie pool is gated so kids can't leave the area. It has a small waterfall in the kids area too.

It's on the beach, so you don't have to cross any streets. Also, the community is gated with security. There is a no-noise policy after 10pm, which we really appreciated.

We stayed in unit 321. VRBO 69600. 2 bedroom, 2 bath. Huge living room. Fully equipped kitchen. It is newly remodeled and extremely comfortable. The owner is really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingWhicters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Great beach location. Beautiful units are furnished so nicely and have every amenity. Great place for families. Directly across the street from the outlet mall. We've been staying here since 1995. Always love it here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
14.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
962 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Caribbean East
Grand Caribbean East
#52 of 55 in Destin
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach House Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Destin on the Gulf
Destin on the Gulf
#25 of 55 in Destin
25 reviews
7.9 mi away
Shoreline Towers
Shoreline Towers
#21 of 55 in Destin
60 reviews
17.1 mi away
El Matador
El Matador
#6 of 15 in Fort Walton Beach
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainsail Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainsail Resort

Property: Mainsail Resort
Address: 114 Mainsail Dr, Destin, FL 32550-4952
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mainsail Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mainsail Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Mainsail Hotel Destin
Mainsail Resort Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing