We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"NOT KID FRIENDLY"”
Review of Dewey Destin's

Dewey Destin's
Ranked #17 of 308 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"NOT KID FRIENDLY"”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Restaurant Is not kid friendly.....we waited an hour and a half for table to be ready......which is normal in Destin for the month of July .....while waiting ......we noticed all families with children were also waiting.....they prefer to seat larger groups and adults first over families with children....doesn't matter who arrives first or not........needless to say all families with children were the last ones standing.....when we approached the manager she appeared to be intoxicated at the bar....once again not something I want my children to see....such a let down!!! ;-(

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dznefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    582
    283
    114
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great seafood - Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

There are two Dewey Destin restaurants. This one is off Calhoun Street and is on the water. It is a fairly small place, very casual, which I love. People in shorts, bathing suits - etc - enjoying the beach and water. We had lunch, and got there at a pretty good time. We did not have a wait. We sat at one of the tables on the dock and watched the dolphins. I got the grilled fish, my daughter got grilled scallops, and my husband got the shrimp - and we all shared. Each basket came with boiled potatoes and corn on the cob. The seafood was great - the potatoes and corn just OK. Pricing was on the high side, but I felt was worth it. I would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_MadisonsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This place was highly recommended by the concierge at the resort we were staying at. Dewey Destin's does live up to the hype. You know the food must be good, when on a Thursday night they tell you that the wait is 2 hours. Fortunately we only had to wait about half that time.

The restaurant has a very casual atmosphere and you can eat indoors and out. It has two floors and stairs that can bring you down to the parking lot in the back where the marina is. What's nice is that you can walk the marina and to the Harbor Walk after you eat your meal.

They provide generous portions for all meals, including the children's menu. The children's menu serve fish and shrimp as an option, as opposed to the standard hamburger, hot dog , and mac and cheese. The Mediterranean Mahi is delicious. The fish is very tender and loaded with tomatoes, olives, capers, and feta cheese. The rest of our party got the catch of the day, which you had a choice of either having it grilled, fried, blackened, or bronzed. The hushpuppies are excellent as they have a jalapeno pepper kick to them and they are not greasy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary28173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, good food, be prepared to wait”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Dewey Destin's has two locations. I tried the location off Calhoun St., which is on the water and looks to the west toward Crab Island. The atmosphere was great, outdoor tables and the sun setting in the background. What isn't so great is waiting in a long line to order and then standing on the deck waiting for other diners to vacate a table so that you can (hopefully) sit down before someone comes around with your food (shouting your name). If you are a group of more than 4 adults or so, forget sitting together. I wish there were a hostess to seat you and wait staff to come to the tables, considering how popular this restaurant is. One restaurant here in town texts your phone when your table is ready (I think that is a great idea). The food was good, but didn't blow me away. If the restaurant had been less hectic, it would have been a more pleasant experience. Try it, but if the line stretches into the parking lot, you may want to try to come back at another time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dewey Destin”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had heard so many good things about this place from friends and was so excited about going here. Went for lunch before we registered for our resort. Had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated. Went up to the outside deck and what a view. Ordered from the lunch menu but was really disappointed when food arrived. Shrimp were tough and them and fries were cold. Service was good but was really let down by the foos

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dewey Destin's also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dewey Destin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing