We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jetty East Condominiums
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We arrived at Jetty East just in time to enjoy the new beach. We watched as they pulled the big pipe away that blew in the new sand. We found the most amazing shells. We were at Jetty East last year at this time and the weather was perfect. Only down side was the fisherman who were in the front of the condo bating shark with chopped up herring. They finally caught a small shark then beat it to death with a hammer. We told security, but they told us they have no control of beach property. I hope that is true when a shark comes up and bites someone after being bated like that. I think the fisherman were staying at Jetty East too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

My family returned to Jetty East in Destin, Florida for our 30th year. The water was awesome, clear and like being in a pool. If you are not familiar with Jetty East, it is on Gulf Shores Drive and is on the end by the jetties. We have enjoyed our stay there for 30 years and will continue on staying there. I am sorry that Destin did not have the full tourism that it usually does. I believe the news media went over board with the oil spill hitting the beaches. We were there for 10 days and did not seen anything that we hadn't seen in the last 30 years. If you have time, visit the awesome beaches of Destin!

1  Thank DestinBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My family began visiting J E back in 1985 and it was wonderfull UP TO ABOUT 2003. Our family grew so big we ended up renting 3 condos and met every spring break. NOT ANYMORE, it is PARTY TOWN....they adverstize 24 hour security...that is a joke. Last time we went, the drunkin teanagers were throwing shopping carts over the 5th floor parking balcony. Some snot nosed high shcool boy (obviously drunk when I confronted him) spit on my 65 year old Mother in broad daylight from the 1st floor. These (and many more) are all separate events during separate visits and the list goes on and on. Puke in hallways, pot pipes in stairwells, noise ALL NIGHT LONG, When you call or walk down to talk with security there excuse is always the same "we are doing the best we can"....lololol again. Then we discovered Beach Colony Resort in Perdido Key....WOW....Just like J E and Destin used to be and for the same money (or less). TRUST ME. I promise I am real and have no financial interest in either place, nor do I know anyone that does. I speak the truth. Try any complex on Perdido Key (located near Pensicola and Gulf Shores) and you will never return to the over populated, under policed red neck riviera.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IMH O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My family has gone to JE more than 20 times in the past 25 years; no more! It used to be a fantastic family place. Since they lost their beach (literally, there is NO beach, the waves now slam against the building), the families have disappeared. Now it is a zoo; worse than spring break at Daytona. If your are a teenage alcoholic who wants to party all night and puke in the pool, this is your place. Sorry, I will miss it.‎

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AtlantaBeachlover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Jetty East has a great location. They have done a good job of keeping up the property (built in the '70s). We stayed in unit 213A. It has a great view of Gulf and the pool. There is a nice pavilion with grills that we enjoyed using. Things that could be improved are:
- The TVs in the room were very undersized.
- There is no Internet from the rooms (other than dial-up)
- Their ice price is expensive. A 10# bag is $2.50 Just a third of a mile away, you can get the same bag for $1.79 if you go to Walmart just a little farther away, a 20# bag is $2.26

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62Camaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We just returned from a Spring Break getaway to the Jetty East condos..This was our first time to Destin, and I was impressed with the beauty as well as our balcony view. The closeness to the water is unbelievable-but that is, as the other reviews have said, because there is no beach to speak of. You can see Dolphins jumping 50-100 feet away, sting rays swimming up to the shoreline in the mornings, and even see schools of fish because the water is so calm and clear most of the time. There were a few disappointments however. During our stay, starting at 8am, they have heavy construction equipment building a structure to prevent erosion from taking place close to the condos. They informed everyone that they would be finishing up construction in about 3 weeks,and that it was due to damage sustained by Hurricane Ida- but that was no comfort to all of those who had Spring Break reservations. Seems like there should have been some mention to all of those reserving condos that the sound of backhoes and pounding would be getting them up every morning and be a constant noise over the sound of the crashing waves. The water was a chilly 65 degrees when we stayed, so we spent much of our time in the somewhat heated pool and hot tub. The pool is a nice size, but only slightly warm. The hot tub is nice, but when we stayed, the jets would work, but no bubbles. Our room-403 A was ok. It was a 1 bedroom with a pull out sleeper sofa. We had two small kids with us though that preferred to sleep in our bed, so the bed was fairly small-maybe a queen. The mattress quality of the bed is mediocre and the sleeper sofa is worse. I could feel springs hitting my back. The room is sparsely decorated and most of everything looks 80's ish. No complaints really, because we were there for the beach. Within the condo, we spent most of our time on the balcony anyways. I do wish there had been more amenities within the condo-no paper towels, dish soap, or even a broom. There was a washer/dryer, but we had no soap, so we just didn't use them. Next time, I will come more prepared I guess. All in all, we had a great time, and the location is excellent. Also, the night before we left, a storm was rolling through, and the wind was so strong that the glass sliding doors on the balcony banged all night long, making sleep impossible. We moved to the bedroom, and found out that the strong winds were creating a very loud whirring sound of a wind tunnel outside due to the circular shape of the condos interior passageways that are open to the outdoors.Hopefully, next time we go, it will be warm, the construction will be done, and the weather will be favorable the entire time (although, don't count on a bigger beach), the whirlpool will work correctly, and I will have brought more supplies to cut down on the trips to Walmart.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slygirl117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Jetty East was recommended to us by a friend. It is located right on the beach in Destin, near the Fort Walton end of the resort city. The property looked very nice on their website, so we booked it and headed to Florida. Upon arrival, we were very surprised to discover that most of the beach that looks so nice in the pohotos does not exist! Apparently storms washed away most of the beach behind Jetty East, and what little remains is shared by Jetty East and three or four other large condo properties. As a result, the tiny little beach was jammed. Not fun.

Now, on the positive side the Jetty East pool was great, and our condo unit was very comfortable. We overlooked the gulf, and actually looked down into the water (since there was no beach). This was actually neat, as we watched all types of fish, turtles, and other marine life from our balcony. We even saw several sharks at dusk.

Not all of the condos have open balconies...some have sliding windows.

All and all, we had a good experience at Jetty East, but I doubt we will return until they replenish their sand.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHE757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
4.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
2.4 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
10.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetty East Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetty East Condominiums

Address: 500 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-5068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range: £77 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jetty East Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long favored location on the Emerald Coast, Jetty East remains the best loved vacation spot for families. Beautiful accommodations, a beach side pool, tennis courts and pavilion overlooking the blue green waters of the Gulf enhance vacations and draw our guests back time after time to Jetty East. Come make wonderful memories with your family on our gorgeous sugar white beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jetty East Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetty East Condominiums Hotel Destin
Jetty East Condominiums Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing