We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet & close to beach”
Review of Chateau La Mer II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau La Mer II
Ranked #29 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet & close to beach”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in unit 1603, which is right by the tennis court and pool. It is near the back of the units overall, but still just a short walk to the beach. It is a two-story condo complex. So no loud kids running up and down hallways, no elevators ringing 24/7, quiet and relaxing.

The condo was very clean and the proximity to the beach, when lugging all the gear you need at the beach, was easy. This condo unit also has a deal with Captain Dave's Restaurant, right on the beach, to allow you to park there during the day if you would like. You have to move by 4pm, when they open for dinner.

Overall, we were very pleased with this condo and would stay here again. The only downsides were minimal, but included very dated interior design. The couches, wall decor, furniture, all of it was just so old. There were even cassette tape holders in the entertainment center! Wow! But, like I said, everything is clean as can be and who really cares about the decor when you're there for the ocean anyway?!

I would prefer a king bed in the master. This unit had a queen, which felt more like a full or a double. We had to check the double beds in the second bedroom to see if they were the same size. The master bed was a tiny bit bigger. This unit also had a pullout sofa bed, the provided linens for it. There were plenty of towels and dishes.

The last step on the staircase outside these units is wobbly and needs to be fixed. The toilet in the hallway bathroom runs funny after flushing for a few minutes, but works just fine. The gate securing the so-called private beach access is rusted out, unlocked and wide open for all. These things could use some attention.

The tennis court was gorgeous and the pool, although small, was really nice. They had fun music playing all day.

We loved being able to walk to eat at Captain Dave's just across the parking lot from the front of the condo units, and less than a mile to The Crab Trap. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singingredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    14
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, ohio
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have stayed at Chateau La Mer II in the past and have always found it to be very nice, clean, and convenient to everything. In September, we stayed in Unit # 904 and were very pleased with the very comfortable, updated, and well equipped unit. The furnishings were all relatively new and the kitchen was very well equipped. The beds were very comfortable and the bedrooms each had TV's.The beach is absolutely beautiful, the best I have ever seen. There is no comparison between Destin's beach and the east coast beachs. Chateau La mer is convenient to many restaurants and the Huge, Silver Sands Outlet Mall. This unit is on the second floor and it has a vaulted ceiling so it is very open. We will definately return in the future.

Room Tip: Second floor units have vaulted ceilings and as a result seem even larger than the downstairs units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbyFarmer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I have been coming to Chateau La Mer II with my family for many years now, and we have never been disappointed. The units in particular that have stood out are 801 and 1103. they are well furnished and feel like you're at home, with a nice "beachy" flair, both condos are well maintained and very clean. I've stayed in these two condos over the years and both owners update and replace things when needed. The airy open feeling of 1103, and all upstairs units in the complex, is very inviting. the newly updated kitchen in 801 is a dream, new counter tops and updated fixtures make this condo feel like home. i would highly recommend these two units from my past experiences. We usually go down with a big group of family and its perfect! we have used the club house for large family reunion like parties. The way the complex is set up is perfect for a big family reunion or just a large family gathering in general. The pool is always kept very clean, and if it gets dirty at all the maintenance staff is more than willing to fix any problems that may be occurring. The location is PERFECT. although its not right on the water, the 2-5 minute walk(depending on how much beach toys/chairs you haul down) is very nice. The huge outlet mall is very conveniently located just 5-10 minutes away, depending on traffic. It is a short drive to both Santa Rosa Beach and downtown Destin. Chateau La Mer II is located by many yummy restaraunts, like Captain Dave's, Kenny D's, the Crab Trap and my favorite, Pompano Joe's. My family and I couldn't be more pleased about the wonderful 15 years+ of staying at Chateau La Mer II.

Room Tip: rooms farther away from the pool will stay quieter, but the whole complex is tucked back away from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Units were clean and well-furnished

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 516Bob516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrison, ohio, usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have stayed at Chateau La Mer II in the past with no difficulties. We returned expecting the same atmosphere. Unfortunately, we reserved a room only to arrive and find we were placed in another room. The difference was that we requested a second floor room that included wifi. The room we received did not offer wifi, but of course it could be purchased. When I called management to report the confusion on arrival, there was no response. On Monday when they arrived to the office, I was told to bad. My advice is if you are going to rent from this management team read all of the fine print. They are NOT trustworthy.

Room Tip: Read and reread all communications. Make sure they did not change rooms on you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christy1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenner, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We booked this place in July, however we thought the place would be up to date. The place was very old inside. The carpet, the tvs (SMALL), furniture. This place DEF needs a makeover. I am not sure if the other ones looked differently but we would not go back because we could have paid the same for a nicer hotel. There were 3 towels total for the week and we would need to wash them if we wanted clean ones. We had to buy our own toilet paper, paper towels, ice ect. The pool is small. The two nice things about the place is the location and the the quiet. If they would just take an interest in making it nicer on the inside we would have been happier, Also I agree with the person before, the staff inside were not friendly. If you go in to get brochures or something they do not even acknowledge that you are a guest or make you feel welcome. A smile and hello would do. .

Room Tip: Ask what rooms are newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank July40247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

No dogs allowed. Property is very old and not maintained. Other guests were loud boisterous, and left empty beer cans and broken bottles all around the parking lot, which the management ignored. Pool was green. Tennis court has long deep cracks making it unusable. Air conditioning made lots of noise but no cold air. Carpet was stained and smelled of mold. Water from the faucet smelled like sulfur, as if it hadn't been run in a very long time. Sheriff's deputies responded twice during our stay to disturbances in other units. Horrible experience, waste of my hard earned money. We left early and I requested a refund.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachAndGolfGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#29 of 39 in Destin
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#31 of 39 in Destin
445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#30 of 39 in Destin
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
0.7 mi away
Destin on the Gulf
Destin on the Gulf
#25 of 55 in Destin
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Destin
Motel 6 Destin
#37 of 39 in Destin
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Mer II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Mer II

Property: Chateau La Mer II
Address: 98 Beach Dr, Destin, FL 32541-2471
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau La Mer II 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau La Mer II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Mer Ii Hotel Destin
Chateau La Mer II Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing