We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in 503”
Review of Chateau La Mer II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau La Mer II
Ranked #32 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The unit 503 is very run down not cleaned well spent the first week just cleaning. Carpet was totally disgusting. I talked to the owner about it and told him how bad it was but there was nothing he could do and I still have to pay a cleaning charge. We looked at a couple of units there and they were beautiful, and it was a very nice complex and I would stay there again but not in 503.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank napsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2009

We misunderstood a rule of the clubhouse and were given the key by an employee, management came in during our family gathering, more than once, and treated us like dirt. I will never, ever stay there again, and we've stayed there many times and brought up to 30 people with us. If I had a rental there I would check in on the managements' manners, I'm sure glad I don't own one there. We'll be going back to Destin but not at Chateau LaMer II!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babygirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed in unit 1003 for 3 days. It was clean and roomy, but the beds were very uncomfortable. My biggest complaint is that there is ZERO view from this unit. From the back balcony you see the back of a shopping center and from the front you see parking lot. I guess I should've been more specific when I asked about the view. My first question was is it on the beach to which he answered no, it's across the street, but there is private beach access. Then I asked if you could see the beach, to which his answer was yes. Well, you can see the beach from the condo entrance, but definitely not from the unit. Also, there is private beach access, but it leads you to a public beach, so there really is no point to the key padded gate.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LSUstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

We went to Destin the first part of August 2007 before school started. We rented from an individual as that is sometimes much cheaper. The condo itself was nice on the ground floor. These condos were built in the 1980's but I think most of them have been remodeled or updated. We had everything we needed in the condo and the bedrooms were very roomy. There was a decent sized pool and a play ground. The condo we stayed in unfortunately was at the very back of the resort which was bad in a way because we usually stay on the beach or only a few steps from the beach and we had to walk what I'm guess was several blocks carrying all our stuff -with two young kids.(There are units that are much closer.) One thing I would note is that the ceilings and walls seem very thin - luckily the people above us did not show up until the night before we were leaving. When they fushed the toilet you thought that a wave was about to come through the wall. On a positive note we LOVED being close to Pompano Joes which has become our favorite place to eat each year. All in all I would stay there again but would choose a top floor condo closer to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank amy4bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

My Mother and I just returned from our first visit to Destin. We were very pleased with everything. Our stay was from July 16th - July 23rd. A friend recommended the Chateau LaMer II condo's to us. We were very pleased with the condo, staff, pool area, and the location on the beach. They are located across the street from Capt. Dave's Restaurant and you have a private entry access to the beach.
We ate at several restaurants, which included Capt. Dave's, The Crap Trap, Callahans, AJ's, The Lucky Snapper, Dewey Destin, Hog's Breath, Kenny D's, just to name a few and were pleased with all food choices and prices.
We also visted the Destin Commons, and the Silver Sands malls for shopping. We were very pleased with both. There are many brand name stores in both areas.
We live in Ringgold, Ga so the trip only was about a 6 hour drive. Very convenient for even a long weekend.
We were very excited about our week trip and will certainly be back for many more trips to this beach. Very white sand and plenty of activites to keep the entire family entertained.
It's a must trip if you have never visited Destin before.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank Showmeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: le 1304 est excellent avec pleins de choses utiles exemple on a trouvé des pistolets à eau pour nos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#28 of 38 in Destin
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
8.6 mi away
Mainsail Resort
Mainsail Resort
#31 of 55 in Destin
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbor Landing
Harbor Landing
#50 of 55 in Destin
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Destin on the Gulf
Destin on the Gulf
#25 of 55 in Destin
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Dunes Condominium
Silver Dunes Condominium
#30 of 55 in Destin
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Mer II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Mer II

Address: 98 Beach Dr, Destin, FL 32541-2471
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range: £138 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau La Mer II 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau La Mer II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Mer Ii Hotel Destin
Chateau La Mer II Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing