We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
jackson ms
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, beautiful place”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

After refusing to jump into the Silver Shells world my friends raved about, we finally gave in and visited for a week in May. Well, they were right, we were missing out. Spotless condo, grounds, and common areas, beautiful beach, everything is just a short drive away. Highly recommend. We rented through destinbeachrentals.com on VRBO Our unit was so clean, well decorated, and spacious. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LetsMaketheMostofIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abec, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.

We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Destin on business or pleasure. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
ABEC Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    41
    24
    17
    24
See reviews for
116
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I always love staying at Silver Shells. I have looked at alot of other properties in the Destin area but for me I choose Silver Shells. The location is right in the middle of everything. IMO it has one of the best pools, as well if you stay in the St. Lucia building you also have a private fool that building as well. One of the pluses is the resort is right next to Henderson Beach Park which is all wide open spaces so even some of the beach can be crowed you have alot of unobstructed areas. I wish there were more places like this in Destin. Keep in mind if you rent from VRBO be sure to ask lots of questions and for recent pics. As with any place your experience if you go through VRBO can be unique with different owners

Room Tip: Vrbo is great for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abec, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.

We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Destin on business or pleasure. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
ABEC Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Master Bedroom does not have a closet, nor does it have a door. The closet is in the kids bunkroom, which is an extension of the kids room, as there is very little to any furnishings in the room. The balcony furntiure needs updating, especially cushions. I would not consider the building beachfront, you may as well stay across a street for half the price. The pool is nice, the cabannas are old and look like a garage, the AC works great, the door was falling of the hinges. We had concerns as to the children putting their hand through trying to close the the door. The furniture is all Bassett, but the beds are very fragile. The AC in the rooms is not cold during the day and extremely cold in the middle of the night (not so bad since hot all day). Thereare not enough options for snacks and dining. We are going to try Ruth Chris' tomorrow on site. I would suggest this property only at a reduced cost. We paid about $5000 for our room. It is a $3000 property to me and not that close to the beach!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sammyloveshismommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abec, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Thank you for choosing Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Destin.

I have had a chance to look over the review that you recently completed regarding your stay. We are the on site office ABEC Resorts. I was concerned to hear about your experience with the Penthouse at St. Lucia. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the issues you encountered. I understand this does not change your experience. Although this unit is located on our property, the owner of this penthouse has decided to manage this unit through someone other than our on site agency This unit is not managed by the on-site office of ABEC Resorts. Please direct these concerns to the reservations agency or property manager which booked this Penthouse for you. I am sure that this feedback would be helpful to them for improving the quality and efficiency of their services, just as feedback is helpful to us. I apologize again for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it.

Sincerely,
General Manager
ABEC Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Silver shells resort is the most amazing resort I've ever been too. The place is extremely nice and the beach is very private. If you can, rent a unit in st.maarten. Very nice with the elevator coming straight up to your foyer. Judging by the previous reviews that weren't the best, I'm pretty sure the resort made renovations. All in all, one o the nicest resorts if not the nicest in destin.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crhs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abec, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.

We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Destin on business or pleasure. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
ABEC Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Our family of 4 stayed in St. Croix 1002 and it was perfect! Flat screen televisions, tropical decor, well stocked kitchen and a breathtaking view from our balcony. Huge pool with poolside service and a great tiki hut on the beach with yummy food and drinks! We loved splitting our time between the white sand beach and the pool, since it was easy access to both. Our kids loved the nice playground on the resort, the ice cream at the tiki hut and walking over to The Back Porch for dinner. The adults love Ruth Chris Steakhouse on the property. We have been vacationing in Destin for many years and will definitely stay here for many years to come.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Silver Shells Spa and Resort. Our condo was decorated cheerfully. It was very clean. The security of the condo was great. Perfect access to the beach. We were in walking distance from many activities. Stores were close for groceries and sunscreen. My husband and I walked the beach every morning and evening. We saw dolphins from our balcony. The beach was excellent, white sands and beach chairs waiting for us. We will be back with our daughter next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamiltoncolumbusks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abec, Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.

We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Destin on business or pleasure. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
ABEC Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I've stayed here a couple of times and I have really enjoyed myself. The onlytime there was an incident was when the pool's pump broke and so for the entire week we stayed it was broken. The rooms are extremely nice and so are the beaches. I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neworleans123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.4 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
5.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 15000 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541-3338
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Destin
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa features the best in luxury Destin vacation rentals and accommodations. Enjoy luxury and elegance in our spacious gulf front one- to four- bedroom Destin, Florida vacation rentals. Our resort vacation rental amenities offer fully equipped kitchens, washer and dryer, extra linens and a serene view of the Gulf waters from your own private balcony and much more. All four vacation rental towers offer guests private parking, exclusive outdoor pool and hot tub with beach access for endless opportunities of peaceful relaxation or adventure. Visit Sunrise Beach Services for your complimentary beach chair and umbrella or see a list of all the fun offered water sports and excursions. You may also enjoy the center piece of our resort, a 7,500 square foot lagoon pool with waterfall and whirlpool where you may enjoy your favorite drink or snack from our Sandbar Restaurant and Beachside Bar. As an exclusive guest at Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa, you may also enjoy a variety of our vacation rental amenities. Savor a delicious meal at the famous Ruth’s Chris Steak House, escape to the luxurious The Spa at Silver Shells full service spa and fitness center, or play a game of tennis or basketball on our private courts. Centrally located among Destin’s premier shops, nightlife, dinning, and Destin area attractions there is something for everyone wishing to get away from it all. Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa vacation rentals offer an experience as relaxing or as invigorating as you desire in beautiful Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Shells Beach Hotel Destin
Silver Shells Beach Resort And Spa
Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing