We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
262
161
46
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
161
46
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews henderson state park across the street henderson beach outdoor pool hotel is located free breakfast yogurt the hotel is clean comfortable beds balcony room would definitely stay here again comfortable stay the breakfast area busy road front desk staff location is great third floor
Filter
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went on a vacation to Destin for the first time and chose this hotel because it was across from the beach and seemed to be in the middle of the city itself. Our arrival was early but Ashleigh was so great and checked us in anyway. When we told her it was our first time in Destin she offered her local recommendations of restaurants, activities and even maps to places! She even gave our son a free frisbee when he started to get fussy, which as a mom free toys are worth their weight in gold. We also met Corey during our stay who was just as friendly. He seemed to know a great deal about the area and even advised us of current weather and traffic conditions. I really do think a staff can make or break a hotel and this hotel will treat you like family. As far as the rooms go, they were always clean and the beds were so comfortable! The AC unit does hum, but it surely wasn't loud enough to bother us and let's face it - this is a hotel where each room will have a separate unit in it and they're not going to be perfectly silent. We had such a great experience with this hotel and we will be going back before the summer is over!

Room tip: They have balcony rooms on the front of the hotel that look out to the ocean... I can only imagine how great those rooms are!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I'm very glad that you enjoyed so many things about our hotel and I can't wait to share with Ashleigh and Corey your comments. The staff here takes great pride in making sure each guest feels at home while staying with us. We want each guest to experience the cleanliness just as you would at home, your kids to be as comfortable in a new environment as they can and for everyone to experience Destin just as we do living here. Please know that your comments will be shared with the team here and we look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

this is the former comfort inn .has been redone as a brand new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott.it actually feels more like a SpringHill Suites than a Fairfield. the breakfast is very different , much more involved than you would expect.great location in the heart of destin, quiet surroundings.very close to Wal-Mart (across parking lot) and shopping. definitely recommend it

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank destinloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experiences at the Fairfield Inn & Suites on TripAdvisor! Thank you for recognizing our recent renovation. I am happy to see that our property was the perfect location to provide you with the amenities you desired in Destin. Our proximity to the lovely beaches and fine dining certainly allows our guests to enjoy everything the area has to offer. We all look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We generally stay at Marriott properties when we travel. I used free night certificates for two nights here and paid for the third night. The service was very good. I was particularly impressed by the fact that the young lady at the desk remembered my name and greeted me by name every time she saw me in the lobby. The free breakfast was good and there were enough servers to keep the food filled. The comments about the A/C units were spot on. The controller on the wall clicks (loudly) to signal the unit to turn on and clicks again to turn the unit off. It cycles loudly and regularly all the time. It bothered my husband more than it did me.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsGti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Its important to us that everyone truly enjoys their stay and were so glad that you did. The whole staff from the front desk, housekeeping team to breakfast all takes pride in what they do and are very pleased when their hard work pays off. Thank you for the detailed comments about the A/C units, we are working on this now & assure you it will be fixed. Thanks again for reviewing your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I like to book at Fairfield Inn and Suites and Residence Inns because they both offer rooms that have a living area with a sleeper sofa and a private bedroom. This allows our family to travel together and yet have room to spread out (not to mention 2 TVs!). We decided on this hotel because we read that the Henderson Beach State Park was excellent and that it is literally just across the road. We have not been disappointed. In fact, we asked to extend our stay one more night and though the King Suites were booked, they found us a double Queen room and allowed us to move in early so that we didn't have to pack up and check back in after 4pm. Every staff member has been friendly and everyone has treated us very well. We're planning a return trip!

Room tip: Elevators are in the middle. The King suites are best for families. There are balcony suites, but the ones in front give a view of Emerald Hwy....not the ocean. :)
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you are enjoying the hotel and all that we offer. The entire staff from front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and breakfast take pride in what they do to help provide the most positive experience for you and your family. We always enjoy seeing familiar faces so we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I only write reviews when my stay is either exceptionally good or exceptionally bad.

A/c units was EXTREMELY loud. The fan can NOT be turned off. So, it blows all the time. It blows warm air from outside and cold air when a/c kicks in (after the room was warmed up enough). This cycle is repeated every 5 minutes. This is idiocy to warm the room first and than to cool it down.
The standard room is no bigger than a shoe box. it used to be a comfort inn. It needed to stay a comfort inn and not Marriott. Does not deserve to carry Marriott brand.
Will never return!

Room tip: may be if you get an upgraded room you will have a better experience.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alg589s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Your response indicated that the AC unit was unsatisfactory and I hope that you will please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Our new AC units now have a dehumidifier in them which is different than most standard hotel units. We take great pride in ensuring our guest's satisfaction. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit and do hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews