We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware: unheated pool”
Review of Mediterranea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mediterranea
Ranked #42 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware: unheated pool”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The pool at Mediterranea was not heated as the condo association apparently voted not to heat it to cut expenses. None of the renters during 2013 Spring Break knew and most were demanding and receiving rebates for being misled. The pool was so cold not even the kids would get in. We like Mediterranea and it's unfortunate the owners are being so short sighted. Ask yourself, would you pay that much money for a week's stay if you knew you wouldn't have a pool?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DavidM_35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were recently in the Destin area and stayed at a beautiful resort off of Old Hwy 98 called Mediterranea. Our unit was 310. This property is GOURGIOUS. The landscaping is very well kept and all of the grounds were spotless. The living room and each bedroom have their own balcony so even though we were traveling with another couple we still had our own little retreat. The beach access was easy to get to and they have beach rentals right there. There was actually one provided by the owner we rented from. The furnishings were great and the kitchen was very well stocked if you want to cook. The condo is located close to everything Destin has to offer. We especially enjoyed strolling over to Pompano Joes' just down the street for an afternoon cocktail. I would highly recommend this property and especially this unit to anyone visiting the Destin area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank PoodleGirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have stayed here multiple times in the past few years, and each time we hate to leave. The beach access here is perfect. The pool is just the right size, and the proximity to everything seems perfect. Overall, a great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kankead8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piqua, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

I don't know why the picture shows a different resort. The actual resort is much more beautiful. Anyway, we booked through ocean reef and we were happy with the process. I would like for there to be more information about the area in the codo though, and clear information on the amenities. When we arrived we weren't even sure which building we were in or where the parking spot was, clear instructions would have been nice. On the positive, the resort grounds are absolutely gorgeous, very tropical. The pool is very large, so much larger than a lot of the other resorts offer. We booked a week before we arrived, so we had to take a ground level condo. It really is nicely appointed but we would rather have been a little higher for a better view, the upside is being to walk directly off the balcony to the pool or beach. The gazebo on the beach was fabulous, especially in the evenings. The beach was very nice, much less populated than a lot of other areas. I would like to stay directly on the beach but if unable to, this is the place to stay!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in 506b. Since it was not yet peak season I felt we got a great deal. The condo was large and beautifully decorated. TV in both bedrooms and family room although they weren't flatscreens. The view from the family room was absolutely amazing!!! However...there was a problem with the double pane glass in the sliding door. Moisture had formed between the panes and the view was blocked unless you opened the sliding glass. We just kept it open most of the time while we were in the condo. They need to fix that! I did report it. I sat on the balcony every morning and enjoyed looking at the beach and drank coffee. Even saw some dolphins. Very conveniently located across the beach- no buildings blocking the view- just a quick walk across the street. We usually stay in a hotel in Destin and this was the first time we stayed in a condo. Some helpful tips: bring extra kitchen garbage bags ( they only give you two and if you're there for several days you'll need more), toilet paper (there's only one roll per bathroom), dishwashing detergent, and handsoap- they don't give you enough of those. Theres a coffee maker but no filters. I'm sure its the same in most other condos we just didn't know. We had a wonderful time and will definately stay there again!
And the view was probably the best!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at the Mediterranea during Spring break and we were very pleased with our Choice. I definitely would recommend staying here, it is convenient to everything and the pool area is fabulous.

Room Tip: Use Vrbo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincygirl3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville AR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2010

My husband and I got married on the beach of the Mediterranea almost 4 years ago and are about to make our 3rd trip back this summer. The condo units are very nice and clean. The location is PERFECT! We ate at Pompano Joe's everyday for lunch and even one night for dinner! It is amazing food! All of the other restaurants along scenic 98 are delicious too and just a walk/bike ride away which we loved! The beach was beautiful the last time we went in August but I have been before when there has been some seaweed. This is just something you have to deal with when going to the beach. You never know what the current will bring in. The pool is HUGE...definitely one of the biggest at a condo in Destin. We spent quite a bit of time there as well as the beach. This was one of the best vacations we have been on and obviously we are going to be staying there again. We have actually decided we won't be staying anywhere besides the mediterranea in Destin! WE LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
0.6 mi away
Gulf Winds East
Gulf Winds East
#35 of 56 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leeward Key Condominiums
0.9 mi away
Enclave Condos
Enclave Condos
#41 of 56 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gulfview Condominiums
Gulfview Condominiums
#48 of 56 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Villas at Seascape Resort
1.7 mi away
Huntington By The Sea
Huntington By The Sea
#4 of 4 in Miramar Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranea

Property: Mediterranea
Address: Scenic Hwy 98, Destin, FL 32550 (Formerly ResortQuest Mediteranea)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mediterranea Hotel Destin
Mediterranea Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing