We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Access to everything for a great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Our family of 10 from 3 states have gathered at Emerald Grande the last 2 years because we found that, after considering MANY houses and condos all over Destin and San Destin previously, selecting the Grande simplified everyting for us. It is very convenient to most and resonably convenient to all types of water and golf activities. The balcony view of the Harbor is spectaclular and is our favorite spot to wake up to and chill out from a long day of play. The staff is great and everyone made every effort to take care of us while there. If you eat breakfast in the restaurant, ask for Britany who was happy, helpful, and an absolute delight.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

We always stay at the Grande in Destin and that's 5-6 weeks a year total. But this year we held our family reunion which is an every couple year event with people traveling from several countries. This was a great venue for the event as it offers so many options for day and night activities, but in a close community. So everyone could be very close at hand for organized rendezvous while at the same time not be tied down in between to an area. We could do so many wonderful activities so quick and close without driving all over town if we didn't want to. The service was great and the luxury amenities are the best in Destin and we have been traveling to and staying at various places in Destin for 30+ years. We took advantage of the fishing on the "Swoop" and a couple of golf outings at their course "Regatta Bay" as well and both were first class days! The best review would be that every single family member found it to be a great place offering them each what they wanted and needed individually. If you have a large family, you know that NEVER happens.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Check-in time says 4:00. Us along with multiple other guest waited over an hour and half to check-in. When we first asked for a late check out to compensate they said no. After three phone calls and being on hold for 18 minutes. The best that they could do is an hour and half. Funny thing is the room will sit empty until right before check-in for cleaning. This is the second year we stayed here with bad service. Things need to change at the top

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, and very well-maintained. Our condo, located on the Penthouse floor, was opulant (granite counter tops, washer and dryer, nice linens, heavy doors and the service was excellent). I also loved the spa -- very friendly service, and the gratuity is included in the price of the intial service. However, there are a couple of things families should know. Number one, the "beach" that they shuttle you by boat to, is not really a beach -- it's a tiny strip of sand . You are crammed together on this paltry piece of land, and it was a bit depressing (not to mention the fact we waited, in the hot sun, 30 minutes for a boat to take us there). You can't just walk to the beach, a downside in my eyes. Also, when we arrived at the beach, it was crowded with small, red jellyfish, so swimming really wasn't an option -- perhaps the jellyfish are attracted to the beach since it's in the bay. you are much better off heading to a local beach (like Henderson) -- don't bother with this experience. Secondly, although the pool is aesthetically pleasing, it's extremely shallow and crowed with little ones. Third, you are promised a free round of golf or free round of fishing, but it is only good for one person per day, and the choices are extremely limited (we didn't use our rounds). Lastly, Destin is a gorgeous, friendly place, but it's mighty expensive. We spent at least $80 at every meal (think $8 mac and cheese for the kiddos). You are much better off eating as many meals as you can in your lovely room -- the restaurants around the hotel are quite expensive and only average in taste.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgrl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We took our family vacation here from July 23-28, 2011. We had a 3 bedroom condo and a 2 bedroom condo. The rooms were huge, all with stainless steel appliances and we each had a bathroom for each room. The rooms could not have been more perfect. The location is nice for walking right onto the Harbor walk village shops and restaurants but that's all I can say good about the location.
Now for the negatives about this resort. When we arrived we had several light bulbs out. My sister and I spent the majority of the time getting ready in the kitchen or living room because every time we used the blowdryer the breaker would trip. If you love the beach, this is NOT the place for you. The resort will shuttle you to a private beach, however this is NOT a beach, it's a sand bar on the bay that is only about 3 feet deep unless you swim out further. The resort claims the shuttle runs every 15 minutes, yet it only comes to the dock about every 30 minutes. My family and I waited over an hour to get shuttled over the sand bar because the shuttle only holds 28 people and there was to many people waiting in front of us at this time. We gave up and went back to the pool. At the pool 2 security guards are constantly walking around and policing everyone. The guards are very rude and yelled at us for having a small soft water football in the pool. Everyone had balls in the pool so he was yelling at everyone all day. We are adults and was not rough housing nor were we disturbing anyone with ball, nor did the pool rules mention NO balls in the pool. We had to actually complain to management in regards to the several encounters we and other guests had with the security guards. Management did however apologize with a basket of cookies, cheese, and wine.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADupree2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed the week of the fourth, so the resort was pretty busy. The beach was crowded but nice and surprisingly clean for the amount of people. The rooms were very comfortable. Much better than staying in one of the outdated condos around Destin. However, the elevators were somewhat confusing. I wasn't very sure how to get out of the resort (haha!). It was kind of easy to get lost, but that comes with it being such a big resort. I'm sure the next time we visit it will be a little easier to figure out where we are! I even had to stop by the front desk once to ask for directions. A girl (I think her name was Natasha, could be wrong) helped us out. She was very pleasant and seemed liked she genuinely enjoyed helping me and my family. We can't wait to return next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobileMom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

It was our first time at Emerald Grande and we will definitely be back as it exceeded our expectations. We were welcomed by a polite and friendly staff. The room was very comfortable/quiet and the ocean view was amazing. The beach and the pool were not overcrowded and our three kids had great time. The hotel restaurant was reasonably priced and offered delicious food (kids eat free). The Harbor Walk is family friendly and have pretty good restaurants/shops.
The reason I did not rate the experience as Excellent is that the room service and the overall cleanliness of the hotel could be better. We stayed there five nights and requested maid service the third day. They only made our beds and folded our towels, but did not replace our sheets/towels or replenish our coffee/laundry detergent. Also, the beach could be cleaner as there were excessive sea weeds and some thrash present on the sand.
In summary, our vacation was very relaxing and pleasant and we are looking forward to visit Emerald Grande in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Abuzerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#32 of 39 in Destin
448 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
9.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
11.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#31 of 39 in Destin
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Address: 10 Harbor Blvd., Destin, FL 32541-7374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range: £239 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village is Destin's shining jewel overlooking some of the most marvelous turquoise water and sugar sand beaches in creation. The one-of-a-kind architecture blends harmoniously with the harbor front setting. All rooms have spacious balconies with panoramic views overlooking the Emerald Coast. With four different resort residence categories to accommodate families of all sizes, you'll enjoy luxurious accommodations that include custom-crafted furnishings and lavish baths, with a level of service that sets the standard for all other family resorts. Amenities include a full service European spa and fitness center, indoor and outdoor heated pools overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, full-time concierge, numerous restaurants to choose from as well as in-room dining, state-of-the-art business center, garage parking and 24 hour security. Emerald Grande is nestled inside HarborWalk Village where activities and entertainment waits to please each and every member of your family-dive in and make memories that will last a lifetime. Here you can find waterfront shopping, water sports, boat, pontoon and ski rentals, world class fishing, aqua adventures, dolphin cruises, clubs and nightlife, weekly fireworks, seasonal festivals, live entertainment, magic shows, and an array of restaurants to satisfy all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Grande Harbor Walk Village Hotel Destin
Emerald Grande At HarborWalk Village Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing