We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Certificate of Excellence
Darrow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in a three bedroom unit which was so lovely. It truly felt like a home which was so wonderful. The pool area is wonderful and we so enjoyed the evening hours watching the water by the pool. Our children loved being able to walk to shopping and food which was great for the adults as well. Honestly, this was pampering and fun! We loved it!

Room Tip: I could not see a bad room in the entire complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Nancy M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and hope you choose us again for your next Destin vacation!

Regards,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    182
    87
    55
    50
See reviews for
473
177
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Emerald Grande for a long weekend May 22-27. We arrived on the evening of May 22 and when we got to our room we were hit with this overwhelming smell. To us it smelled like cat urine. But they don't allow pets there so I'm not sure what it was. But it was so bad there was no way we could stay there. My husband is a very mellow, go with the flow kind of guy and he never complains. Even he said no, we can't stay in this room. So we went back to the front desk and told them we couldn't stay in that room. At first the girl at the desk said they didn't have any more one bedrooms to offer us and I said welllll....we paid a lot of money and would like a room that doesn't stink. One quick call to the manager and we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom. This one had no odor :) So I was happy with that resolution. The room was VERY nice.

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was immaculate. The staff were all nice and friendly. Even ones you just passed in the hallway. The restaurant was excellent. Every morning we ate breakfast at the hotel and the veggie omelet was divine!

I have read on here about noise keeping people up but noise didn't bother us. We had a view of the pool.

The hotel has a parking garage that always had plenty of parking.

We only spent a short amount of time at the pool but everything seemed great to me. It wasn't too crowded.

My only disappointment was the private beach. The shuttle was easy to find and delivers you right to the beach with umbrellas and chairs. But the water was gross. Not at all like the pictures on the website. I will attach a picture of it. I did not come from the East coast to look at water like that ;) We walked over to the gulf coast side (maybe a 5 minute walk) and that was better but still not like the pictures. And no chairs or umbrellas over there. So after that we decided to just drive to the public beaches. They are so much better. Beautiful clear water! They are not far at all. It was just a bummer to not have chairs and umbrellas. But worth it to not look at that nasty water.

Even with the beach not working out I would still stay at the EG again. It was so nice to be able to walk to so many restaurants. Especially since we were there over Memorial Day weekend and traffic was crazy.

I also got a massage at the spa. Their relaxation room is awesome, has a big window that overlooks the Harbor. Massage was great too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dena G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. First off, I want to apologize again about the odor in your original room but I'm glad it was brought to my attention so we could upgrade you into another unit so you were able to enjoy your stay. As for the beach, I apologize that it was not what you expected. The water has not been as emerald as we're used to due to much rain recently. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to experience more of that! Again, thank you for your review. We value your feedback and look forward to serving you on your next vacation to Destin.

Best,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Seems brand new. Room are very nice. We had a 3BR/3bath suite. The hotel has a nice and friendly staff. There pool and bar is very nice. It is very nice that the hotel is on the HarborWalk and there is direct access from the hotel. There are several activities and restaurants on the HarborWalk. This hotel also has its own private beach.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the HarborWalk. Also, I imagine that a room facing the pool area would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakkSnow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
blakksnow21,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Emerald Grande. We truly appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

You'll feel so pampered if you stay at the Emerald Grande. We stayed in a beautiful 3-bedroom condo, which featured marble counter-tops and tiling, a spacious living room, a dining room with generous 10-seat dining table, and a HUGE kitchen with two sinks. The beds are extremely comfortable and the entire property is sparkling clean and well-maintained. There is a gorgeous indoor pool with columns tiled in jellyfish mosaics and a huge outdoor pool with one edge where you can walk right in (shaped like a wave pool). I was also really impressed with the high quality original artwork throughout the property.

During our visit in March, the Emerald Grande was very quiet. We felt we had the run of the place. The staff is so friendly and eager to please. We had a broken icemaker, and it was taken care of within 30 minutes of our call to the front desk.

Be sure not to miss the free boat ride to Emerald Grande's private beach. There are two areas, and the one we were taken to was prime shell-seeking territory. I even found a shark's tooth!

Harbor Walk, located along the lower levels of Emerald Grande, is a fun area for shopping and eating (although when we visited in March many of the shops were not open regular hours). Also be aware that the restaurants are a bit overpriced.

There were only a few disappointments with Emerald Grande. One, our showers did not get hot enough to our liking. The staff at the desk said that it took a little while for hot water to reach our floor (I think it was 10). But it seemed to us the water heaters were set too low. Another con was that we chose "harbor view" and found that our room overlooked the highway coming into town. We would have preferred the opposite side, which faces the ocean. Our rooms also faced an Irish pub across the street, which played loud Irish jigs until 10 or 11p.m. at night.

I would recommend visiting this area later in the year than we did, although this year was the coldest in a decade! But if you do visit, make Emerald Grande your resort.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, don't choose "harbor view" - this faces inland towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bearcatnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Bearcatnat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Emerald Grande. It sounds like you had a wonderful experience, and even took the time to notice all the work and detail that make our resort so special. We pride ourselves on customer service, and I'm glad you felt our staff was eager to please. From your description, it appears you were booked into a Bay View unit which faces West. My suggestion would be to book a Harbor View unit during your next stay, which would be located in the East Tower, also facing towards the East. I have taken note of the other issues, and will make sure to follow up on them personally. Once again, thank you for staying with us at Emerald Grande, and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Mark Pzinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the 3-bedroom condo. Simply put, if this was a commercialized condo/townhome, I would definitely buy and live here. There is nothing bad about where we stayed, the view from our room was fabulous. It is so close to everything we did not have to drive anywhere. The rooms were great, the master suite was to die for. We had a private master suite balcony, which just made me want to sleep outside. It was way too big for the 2 of us, but needless to say very VERY awesome.

We also did the couple's massage there which was just as lovely. Not sure if I would do it again, but I loved it at the moment. It is definitely not cheap.

The rooms were nice. It even had a kiddo's room with a bunk bed which just made me miss our kiddos :( Will need to bring kiddos here the next time. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazyboutizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Crazyboutizz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Emerald Grande. We strive to make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible when staying with us, and your review of the room seems to confirm that. We pride ourselves in the fact that everything is located right here at the resort, and you do not have to drive anywhere. I always mention that the less time you are stuck in traffic, the more time you have to enjoy your vacation! I'm glad to hear you had the chance to take advantage of our spa, and will forward your feedback to our spa director. Thank you again for choosing Emerald Grande, and we look forward to seeing you again soon, this time with the kiddos!

Thank you,
Mark Pzinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed several times here at the Emerald Grande while visiting the FWB / Destin Areas. Each time enjoying the beautiful property with such gorgeous views of the Destin Jetties, Choctawhatchee Bay and Gulf of Mexico. The sunsets are absolutely spectacular. The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. The hotel also features a parking garage for both residents and guests to park. For a day of relaxation the Spa is a great place or can workout in the Fitness Center which offers a great view over looking the Grande View Pool, hot tub and Bistro Bar & Grill Decks. Just steps away or an elevator ride down is the Destin Harborwalk which is home to numerous shops, stores, boat & jetski rentals, charter fishing excursions, dolphin cruises, but also has a number of restaurants, such as Harry T's, Jackacudas, AJ's, Dewey Destins, Fisherman's Wharf, Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville just to name a few. Right across the road from the Emerald Grande Hotel is McGuire's Irish Pub Restaurant. So there is plenty of places to dine at if you decide not to eat in the Hotel's Restaurant - the Bistro Bar & Grill, which offers nightly Happy Hours and early bird specials along with a full menu of selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also offers it's own private beaches along the Destin Jetties which connect up with their own section of beaches along the Gulf of Mexico. Now to get to these private beaches the hotel provides private boat / water shuttles back and forth from the Harborwalk to the beaches and also provide beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. For a small fee & tips can purchase beverages, bottle waters and sunscreen. And if the dolphins are swimming around, the boat's captains will also take you around to watch the dolphins swim around in the jetties as an added bonus. All of the rooms in the hotel are fully furnished with full kitchens, living & dining rooms, washer & dryers, balconies, plus. The hotel not only has the outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs, but also has an indoor swimming pool, concierge, business center and gift shop. It also hosts numerous weddings, graduations, meetings, family reunions and other events which is a great place to have them. Very picturesque!!

Room Tip: The Emerald Grande Hotel is also part of the Wyndham Vacation Ownership where Wyndham Vacation Owner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Jami R,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experiences at Emerald Grande! In reading your review I can definitely tell you have stayed with us several times, and the multiple reasons you continue to come back: amenities, restaurants, activities, etc..... We pride ourselves on our customer service, and I appreciate the detailed review of our resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Mark Pzinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I loved the hotel/condo. The room was clean and well maintained. There was tons to do right in our back yard. only thing that i was unhappy with was the beach area. But the free boat ride over to the area made up for it . LOved it and already planning my next stay.

Room Tip: This is a good loacation for families of groups.. There is an extrat little room with bunk beds in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renèe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Renèe G,

Thank you for nice review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
9.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#25 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
11.4 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
4.8 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Property: Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Address: 10 Harbor Blvd., Destin, FL 32541-7374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village is Destin's shining jewel overlooking some of the most marvelous turquoise water and sugar sand beaches in creation. The one-of-a-kind architecture blends harmoniously with the harbor front setting. All rooms have spacious balconies with panoramic views overlooking the Emerald Coast. With four different resort residence categories to accommodate families of all sizes, you'll enjoy luxurious accommodations that include custom-crafted furnishings and lavish baths, with a level of service that sets the standard for all other family resorts. Amenities include a full service European spa and fitness center, indoor and outdoor heated pools overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, full-time concierge, numerous restaurants to choose from as well as in-room dining, state-of-the-art business center, garage parking and 24 hour security. Emerald Grande is nestled inside HarborWalk Village where activities and entertainment waits to please each and every member of your family-dive in and make memories that will last a lifetime. Here you can find waterfront shopping, water sports, boat, pontoon and ski rentals, world class fishing, aqua adventures, dolphin cruises, clubs and nightlife, weekly fireworks, seasonal festivals, live entertainment, magic shows, and an array of restaurants to satisfy all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Grande Harbor Walk Village Hotel Destin
Emerald Grande At HarborWalk Village Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing