We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a 3 bedroom presidential suite overlooking the Harbor Walk. Great hotel, great suite and fantastic view. Walk out the back door and you are on the Harbor Walk with dozens of restaurants and shops plus dozens of choices for boat excursions, deep sea fishing trips, and rentals of all sorts of water crafts/toys.

Room Tip: Most rooms have views of the gulf or harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Ronald C,

Thank you for your nice review. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you decide to choose us again in the future.

Cheers,
Victoria Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were looking for a place on the water in Destin to stay for a few days. We decided on the Emerald Grande even if it was more expensive. When we were driving up to the hotel, we were very impressed. The place is huge and very attractive. The parking was underground which was very nice since it was hot. There was no charge for the parking which was great. The checkin was easy and we went up to our three bedroom unit. We were very pleased with the interior of our unit. It was nicely decorated and our balconies faced the water as we requested. We went down to the Broadwalk and had dinner. There are plenty of places to eat but the shopping is limited for the older crowd. When we returned to our unit, we noticed the elevators were making a loud banging noise. It was so loud one of the occupants was begging to get off because she was scared. We went to our unit and got ready for bed. That's when we noticed you could hear the loud banging from the elevator in our bedroom. This went on until about 2:00 AM when most everyone was in the room but it started again early morning. We went down to the front desk and reported it. They said they would notify maintenance of the problem.

When we left for the room for the day. We left a nice tip for the maid and went shopping. When we returned to our room, we noticed the maid had been there. She took the dirty towels but did not replace them. The bed was half made and you could tell someone one had been laying on top of it. We also notice we could still hear the elevator. We went back downstairs and discussed it with the front desk again. We were told there was nothing they could do about it because it was the elevator. I asked them why they didn't call an elevator repair person because it was not normal for a elevator to have a loud banging sound. They didn't have a reply. We asked them how we were suppose to sleep because of the sound. They still didn't have an answer. We called the front desk a few more times but it didn't do any good.

The next morning the toilet in one of the bathrooms was stopped up. We called the front desk and reported it. They said they would take care of it. We left the room for most of the day and when we returned the toilet had not been fixed. We had to call again and they acted like they didn't know what we were talking about. They finally sent someone to fix it. The room this time was very clean so we must have had a different maid.

The next day we took the boat shuttle to the hotel's private beach. We asked if we needed to take food or drink with us. We were told we could get anything we wanted while on the beach. We took the shuttle over and was shocked. The beach is inland. There are no waves and the water is a dirty brown. There weren't any bathrooms and there were no refreshments available. We asked the personnel there who told us we had to use the restrooms on the boat shuttle when it arrived and they would get drinks for us. Speaking of drinks, we tried to find a place in the hotel or a pop machine to buy drinks late one night. We were told there was none available. We had to leave the hotel to find drinks and snacks.

We did use the pool which was very large but is only four foot deep. The area did have a nice hot tub.

The place is very beautiful but until the service changes I would not recommend this place. It's not worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the elevator as possible and not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank EJAEIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria W, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear EJAEIK,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a thorough review of your experience. It is always our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests, and I am very sorry that we were unable to accomplish that during your stay.

Because of your feedback we reached out to our elevator company and had them come take a look at all of our elevators to ensure that they are operating properly and they confirmed that they are. I am sorry that this was a negative experience for you. I have already shared your comments regarding your daily maid service on the first day with the Housekeeping Manager which should preclude this issue from occurring in the future.

I am sorry that the water was not as beautiful as it typically is during your stay. We experienced some severe flooding in late April and early May that the tide changes eventually took care of, and the water is always the most beautiful during high tide and we only get one of those per day. We do have a beach menu that is brought down from our restaurant, and we have Coca Cola products as well as 6 different types of beer readily available on the boat for purchase.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I can assure you that your comments have already assisted us in fine tuning some areas of opportunity.

Regards,

Victoria A. Wyatt
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Emerald Grande is a beautiful facility, and the rooms are very, very nice. It's a great place to stay as a couple or if you have a large family and need multiple bedrooms. Harborwalk offers a lot of restaurant choices...some of them excellent.

The staff is wonderful. We've dined there many times at special events, and even had a couple events of our own there. The staff is wonderful. I highly recommend it.

You may find it a bit pricy. But for where it is and what the Emerald Grande offers, it's a very good choice.

Room Tip: I suggest a room with a west or southwest view in the west tower. The sunsets can be spectacular fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavenATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

RavenATB,

Thank you for taking the time to review Emerald Grande. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Cheers,
Victoria Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in a three bedroom unit which was so lovely. It truly felt like a home which was so wonderful. The pool area is wonderful and we so enjoyed the evening hours watching the water by the pool. Our children loved being able to walk to shopping and food which was great for the adults as well. Honestly, this was pampering and fun! We loved it!

Room Tip: I could not see a bad room in the entire complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Nancy M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and hope you choose us again for your next Destin vacation!

Regards,
Victoria Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Emerald Grande for a long weekend May 22-27. We arrived on the evening of May 22 and when we got to our room we were hit with this overwhelming smell. To us it smelled like cat urine. But they don't allow pets there so I'm not sure what it was. But it was so bad there was no way we could stay there. My husband is a very mellow, go with the flow kind of guy and he never complains. Even he said no, we can't stay in this room. So we went back to the front desk and told them we couldn't stay in that room. At first the girl at the desk said they didn't have any more one bedrooms to offer us and I said welllll....we paid a lot of money and would like a room that doesn't stink. One quick call to the manager and we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom. This one had no odor :) So I was happy with that resolution. The room was VERY nice.

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was immaculate. The staff were all nice and friendly. Even ones you just passed in the hallway. The restaurant was excellent. Every morning we ate breakfast at the hotel and the veggie omelet was divine!

I have read on here about noise keeping people up but noise didn't bother us. We had a view of the pool.

The hotel has a parking garage that always had plenty of parking.

We only spent a short amount of time at the pool but everything seemed great to me. It wasn't too crowded.

My only disappointment was the private beach. The shuttle was easy to find and delivers you right to the beach with umbrellas and chairs. But the water was gross. Not at all like the pictures on the website. I will attach a picture of it. I did not come from the East coast to look at water like that ;) We walked over to the gulf coast side (maybe a 5 minute walk) and that was better but still not like the pictures. And no chairs or umbrellas over there. So after that we decided to just drive to the public beaches. They are so much better. Beautiful clear water! They are not far at all. It was just a bummer to not have chairs and umbrellas. But worth it to not look at that nasty water.

Even with the beach not working out I would still stay at the EG again. It was so nice to be able to walk to so many restaurants. Especially since we were there over Memorial Day weekend and traffic was crazy.

I also got a massage at the spa. Their relaxation room is awesome, has a big window that overlooks the Harbor. Massage was great too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dena G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. First off, I want to apologize again about the odor in your original room but I'm glad it was brought to my attention so we could upgrade you into another unit so you were able to enjoy your stay. As for the beach, I apologize that it was not what you expected. The water has not been as emerald as we're used to due to much rain recently. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to experience more of that! Again, thank you for your review. We value your feedback and look forward to serving you on your next vacation to Destin.

Best,
Victoria Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Seems brand new. Room are very nice. We had a 3BR/3bath suite. The hotel has a nice and friendly staff. There pool and bar is very nice. It is very nice that the hotel is on the HarborWalk and there is direct access from the hotel. There are several activities and restaurants on the HarborWalk. This hotel also has its own private beach.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the HarborWalk. Also, I imagine that a room facing the pool area would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlakkSnow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

blakksnow21,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Emerald Grande. We truly appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Victoria Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

You'll feel so pampered if you stay at the Emerald Grande. We stayed in a beautiful 3-bedroom condo, which featured marble counter-tops and tiling, a spacious living room, a dining room with generous 10-seat dining table, and a HUGE kitchen with two sinks. The beds are extremely comfortable and the entire property is sparkling clean and well-maintained. There is a gorgeous indoor pool with columns tiled in jellyfish mosaics and a huge outdoor pool with one edge where you can walk right in (shaped like a wave pool). I was also really impressed with the high quality original artwork throughout the property.

During our visit in March, the Emerald Grande was very quiet. We felt we had the run of the place. The staff is so friendly and eager to please. We had a broken icemaker, and it was taken care of within 30 minutes of our call to the front desk.

Be sure not to miss the free boat ride to Emerald Grande's private beach. There are two areas, and the one we were taken to was prime shell-seeking territory. I even found a shark's tooth!

Harbor Walk, located along the lower levels of Emerald Grande, is a fun area for shopping and eating (although when we visited in March many of the shops were not open regular hours). Also be aware that the restaurants are a bit overpriced.

There were only a few disappointments with Emerald Grande. One, our showers did not get hot enough to our liking. The staff at the desk said that it took a little while for hot water to reach our floor (I think it was 10). But it seemed to us the water heaters were set too low. Another con was that we chose "harbor view" and found that our room overlooked the highway coming into town. We would have preferred the opposite side, which faces the ocean. Our rooms also faced an Irish pub across the street, which played loud Irish jigs until 10 or 11p.m. at night.

I would recommend visiting this area later in the year than we did, although this year was the coldest in a decade! But if you do visit, make Emerald Grande your resort.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, don't choose "harbor view" - this faces inland towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bearcatnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Bearcatnat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Emerald Grande. It sounds like you had a wonderful experience, and even took the time to notice all the work and detail that make our resort so special. We pride ourselves on customer service, and I'm glad you felt our staff was eager to please. From your description, it appears you were booked into a Bay View unit which faces West. My suggestion would be to book a Harbor View unit during your next stay, which would be located in the East Tower, also facing towards the East. I have taken note of the other issues, and will make sure to follow up on them personally. Once again, thank you for staying with us at Emerald Grande, and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Mark Pzinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#31 of 38 in Destin
450 reviews
9.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
11.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Address: 10 Harbor Blvd., Destin, FL 32541-7374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range: £229 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village is Destin's shining jewel overlooking some of the most marvelous turquoise water and sugar sand beaches in creation. The one-of-a-kind architecture blends harmoniously with the harbor front setting. All rooms have spacious balconies with panoramic views overlooking the Emerald Coast. With four different resort residence categories to accommodate families of all sizes, you'll enjoy luxurious accommodations that include custom-crafted furnishings and lavish baths, with a level of service that sets the standard for all other family resorts. Amenities include a full service European spa and fitness center, indoor and outdoor heated pools overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, full-time concierge, numerous restaurants to choose from as well as in-room dining, state-of-the-art business center, garage parking and 24 hour security. Emerald Grande is nestled inside HarborWalk Village where activities and entertainment waits to please each and every member of your family-dive in and make memories that will last a lifetime. Here you can find waterfront shopping, water sports, boat, pontoon and ski rentals, world class fishing, aqua adventures, dolphin cruises, clubs and nightlife, weekly fireworks, seasonal festivals, live entertainment, magic shows, and an array of restaurants to satisfy all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Grande Harbor Walk Village Hotel Destin
Emerald Grande At HarborWalk Village Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing