We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emerald Grande at Harborwalk not a beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Certificate of Excellence
bourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Emerald Grande at Harborwalk not a beach resort”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village is a nice resort but would not consider it a beach resort.

From the beginning:
Check in was quick and efficient. We were told we would be on the penthouse floor. We were of course excited thinking it would be something special. Upon arrival we found a regular 3 bedroom 2 bath slightly warm room with a pool view. We soon figured out they just din't want to call it the 13th floor. That being said the views were beautiful.

This was our second stay at the Emerald. Our room this stay was clean but not very roomy. Would not recommend this size room for 6 people(unless 2 are small children). We felt like we were always running into one another. The 3 bedroom harbor view we stayed in our previous visit was much roomer. Living room furniture was very uncomfortable. Not that it was used much. The master bath was beautiful and huge but would have loved some of that space in other areas. Master bed was comfortable. The bunk room was extremely small with no storage/closet space and my daughter complained of it being warm in the evening.

That brings me to my first real complaint. Before arrival i read some recent reviews and there were several complaints about water pressure. We have stayed at many timeshare condos and most are very eco friendly so I assumed that is what the reviews were referring to when they complained about low water pressure. I was wrong. The first morning in the shower, which you only turned on hot water to get warm water, I find myself with no water at all. After several minutes it started flowing (if you can call it that) again. I let them know when they called for our welcome phone call. I wasn't really upset the first time it happened but became annoyed the fifth time. I even tried using the beautiful large tub. However once i was in and had a head full of shampoo i found out there was not enough water pressure to use the hand held to rinse it out. So beware when you hear low water pressure we are not just talking eco friendly.
Speaking of eco friendly, I would not place that label on this resort. We had to run the dryer 3-4 cycles to dry 1/2 a batch of laundry. Your kitchen garbage is at most a 4 gallon can with a 13 gallon bag. You are constantly taking out the garbage. Not because the bag is full but because they give a bedroom/bathroom size can for you full kitchen.

That brings us to the elevators. As this was our second stay we had a heads up on the difficult navigation of the elevator system that has East/ West/Public/ and Resident elevators. We won 1/2 the battle, the other half was the extremely long wait times. We would often send whomever was ready first to get the elevators while others were still getting ready. Wait times ranged for 5-15 minutes to get an elevator that was not full.

This will likely be our last stay at this resort.

The Beach
They bring you via shuttle to a beach that is not private. Locals and tour boats bring boat loads of people to the same beach. You have to watch where you are walking not to trip on anchor lines from pontoon rentals and local boaters. Our group had to move out of the way of a local boater to avoid being hit. A rider of the boat had to jump in the water to try and stop the progression of the boat after the engine was stopped. The driver could not put the boat in reverse due to a person in the water behind the boat. You are in bay/pass waters not the gulf. This is a plus for small children and not so much for older children looking to ride non extant waves. Snorkeling at the jetties was OK. Saw same small fish (sea perch) and hermit crabs but not much else. If you want the true Destin experience you have pack up and go to a public beach. Henderson Beach is very nice!!!

Harborwalk
Crab Island Catina
My husband wanted to try 2 different kind of meat tacos. We were told that was not possible since they were frozen together. Tacos came wrapped with two soft shells. The inter shell was mushy and my husband attempted unsuccessfully to remove. I ordered the steak fajitas. They were good but found them over priced. Food was eatable but very overpriced for the quality.
Margaretta was good beer was warm service was marginal. We would not recommend not will we visit again.

AJ's

We did not eat here but had drinks on the dock one evening and listened to live music with great crown enteraction. Was very entertaining, They stopped playing on the dock at 11:00 so we visited the bar on the second level which also had live music and a dance floor. We nice place to spend the evening. Roomy and had a great gulf breeze.

Fireworks
We rushed back from Henderson beach in tons of trafic to view the harbor firework. They were beautiful however very rushed and very short. Do not plan an evening around just seeing the fireworks. 5-7 mins at most.

We did enjoy our vacation however after six days we were extremely ready for a nice long HOT shower with out a 15 min. wait to get to the front door.

Room Tip: Views from the pool view east tower will be of the pass and crab island in the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portier5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
portier5,

We appreciate your extensive review about your recent stay at Emerald Grande. Sounds from your review that you booked through Wyndham, and they do differ in the room types available. A 3 Bedroom Deluxe will offer the 2 Bedroom/2 Bath plus bunk room, while the 3 Bedroom Plus will offer the 3 full bedrooms and 3 full bathrooms. If you ever have any questions about what you are booking, please contact us directly and we would be more than happy to assist you. I apologize about the water pressure issue, and please know that I have forwarded those issues to our maintenance team. I'm happy to hear you had the opportunity to try out the different venues in HarborWalk Village, and hope you do give us another opportunity should you visit the Gulf Coast in the future.

Thank you,

Mark Pzinski
mpzinski@emeraldgrande.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    193
    90
    59
    52
See reviews for
495
179
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here with my brother and his wife for my mother's birthday celebration and we loved it and had a great time - awesome huge pool area, hot tubs and we even saw a wedding while we were there last September. The interior of our place was beautiful and fully updated with granite, updated color schemes and wood. I would love to stay here again and even live here one day maybe!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
snoto63,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Emerald Grande. So happy to hear you got share your mother's birthday with us, and we too hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon!

Thank you,

Mark Pzinski
mpzinski@emeraldgrande.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed at this location each time we have visited Destin. It's in a perfect location for the boardwalk, water activities, access to shopping, and restaurants. Getting around the hotel takes some getting used to but after a day it's no problem. Rooms are nice with well stocked kitchens, updated bathrooms, and washer and dryer in the unit. The pool is a bit small for a hotel this size, and the beach is a ferry ride away. This was not much of an issue for us but may be an issue if you are looking to be able to just walk out onto the beach. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
mike1173,

Thank you for sharing your experiences during your most recent stay with us at Emerald Grande, and we do appreciate your loyalty as a repeat guest. Happy to hear you got a chance to enjoy the water activities, as well as the variety of restaurants in our area. Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Mark Pzinski
mpzinski@emeraldgrande.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our first stay at Emeralde Grande and it was everything that we expected it to be and more. We had a 4 bedroom residence with beautiful views of the beach and the harbor. The residence was spotless and very spacious, easily accommodating all 9 of us. Everything that you could possibly do on vacation from deep sea fishing to parasailing to jet skiing was centrally located and extremely easy to book. Our purpose in choosing this resort was the location and amenities and this place met and exceeded our expectations. If we had any complaints at all, it would be the confusion with the parking garage in relation to the residences but we eventually conquered this and all was well!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scowgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Scowgill,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Emerald Grande. Those 4 Bedroom units and their wrap-around balconies offer such an amazing view, and allow you to see all of the action going on in the Destin Harbor. We do pride ourselves on all the amenities we offer on-site, whether that be the water sports, restaurants, entertainment, etc....there is never a shortage of things to do. I know this was your first stay, but hopefully it won't be the last!

Thank you,

Mark Pzinski
mpzinski@emeraldgrande.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a group of 54 stay here for a recent family reunion. Here are my thoughts on the hotel:

Room: We stayed in a 4 bedroom condo that had an excellent water view. The room was very nice with luxurious kitchen and bathroom. The balcony was huge and the TVs had plenty of channels. The bed was comfortable.

Grounds: Lobby was nice. Decor was attractive.

Elevators: They were terrible. Very slow, and it was a pain to get from one tower to the other tower.

Service: We encountered terrific service everywhere we went, except for the one day they didn't clean our room.

Neighboring area: Plenty of restaurants and bars next door. And a Starbucks right there also.

Beach: You have to take a ferry to the private beach. It only runs every 30 minutes, and when we were there the last ferry stopped at 5:30 pm, which seemed early. The beach was nice though, with a terrific volleyball court. The water was not clear, apparently due to the recent rain. You can order drinks at the beach.

Pool: This was a major issue. The outdoor pool is way too small for a hotel of this size. You could barely move in there without knocking into someone. There is also an indoor pool but it is tiny. On the plus side, there is happy hour at the pool bar which gives you 50% off.

Overall, we had a fun time at the hotel. But I wouldn't stay here again because I put priority on an on-site beach and big pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGoBlue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
MGoBlue99,

Thank you for your feed back about your recent stay with us at Emerald Grande. We are happy that you chose us to celebrate your family reunion, and it sounds like you had a great time. I'm sorry to hear about the elevators, I know having to wait for anything while on vacation can be a pain. I'm glad to see you did have the opportunity to take advantage of all we have to offer, and the wonderful service that comes along with it. Hopefully we can see you again in the future, and please reach out to me personally if there is anything I can do to help.

Thank you,

Mark Pzinski
mpzinski@emeraldgrande.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallassee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is our third stay at this magnificent resort! Our last trip the end of May(weekend after Memorial Day) was perfect! The rooms never disappoint and the staff is helpful, friendly and very prompt if there is a problem. We traveled with our children and grands! The food at the on site restaurant is delicious. The boat ride to the beach is fun and quick as is the boat staff and the beach staff. They set up chairs and umbrellas for you and you can order food and drinks and have them brought to you and billed to your room. We parked our car on Friday and never removed it from the parking garage until we checked out on Monday! Everything is in walking distance. We were even treated to a Christian music concert....FREE! Hope you enjoy your stay!!! We will be back, soon!!

Room Tip: We have had bay view and harbor view and both are nice. The bay view deck was larger. All are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Pamela V,

Thank you for coming back to see us so soon at Emerald Grande. We truly value our return guests, and appreciate your feedback. We pride ourselves on our customer service, and that seems to have shown through by our attentive staff. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Mark Pzinski
mpzinski@emeraldgrande.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This place looks great on the outside, but putting lipstick on a pig still gives you nothing more than a pig. The rooms look great if you don't see well, but they aren't very clean. Mild in the shower, dirty kitchen, and one shower that flooded the whole bathroom was just the start. The furniture has been well used and in need of replacement. The pool is too small to accommodate size of resort. The elevators are ridiculous. Got stuck in one that was fully packed with 90 degree temps and no AC, and hotel would not resolve. Had to call 911 to have firefighters crack the door open. Front desk staff refused to discuss. If you are with Wyndham, be ready for hard, deceptive sales practices. They say they want to provide you with updates, but it's only a guise for sales. They prey on the ignorant and attempt to make you feel stupid for not buying. Our sales guy, Boone, was very well trained and equally cunning and deceptive. Don't buy a timeshare. Stay at another hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ctarnold69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkPzinski, Guest Services Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
ctarnold69,

I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasurable experience at Emerald Grande during your most recent stay. In reading your review, it seems that you had a few isolated incidents that seems to happen, and I'm sorry they all seemed to fall to you. Please know that I will follow up on each of your problems personally, and would like it if you could reach out to me personally to assist in the details, as some of this is the first I am hearing of it. While the Wyndham Sales office is a different entity in our resort, I will let them know of your experience as well. Please know that I appreciate your feedback and hope that we hear from you soon.

Mark Pzinski
Guest Services Manager
mpzinski@emeraldgrande.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
9.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
4.8 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Property: Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
Address: 10 Harbor Blvd., Destin, FL 32541-7374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village is Destin's shining jewel overlooking some of the most marvelous turquoise water and sugar sand beaches in creation. The one-of-a-kind architecture blends harmoniously with the harbor front setting. All rooms have spacious balconies with panoramic views overlooking the Emerald Coast. With four different resort residence categories to accommodate families of all sizes, you'll enjoy luxurious accommodations that include custom-crafted furnishings and lavish baths, with a level of service that sets the standard for all other family resorts. Amenities include a full service European spa and fitness center, indoor and outdoor heated pools overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, full-time concierge, numerous restaurants to choose from as well as in-room dining, state-of-the-art business center, garage parking and 24 hour security. Emerald Grande is nestled inside HarborWalk Village where activities and entertainment waits to please each and every member of your family-dive in and make memories that will last a lifetime. Here you can find waterfront shopping, water sports, boat, pontoon and ski rentals, world class fishing, aqua adventures, dolphin cruises, clubs and nightlife, weekly fireworks, seasonal festivals, live entertainment, magic shows, and an array of restaurants to satisfy all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Grande Harbor Walk Village Hotel Destin
Emerald Grande At HarborWalk Village Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing