We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Beach Towers West 705”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Beach Towers Resort
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

First I will list the things that I like. The condo in general is well maintained with manicured grounds and security. One cannot get in the gate or back area of the building without an electronic "key". Two very nice, very large pools (one heated) are available. Parking under the condo also provides some shelter and convenience from the weather, hot or cold, rainy or sunny.

Now the things that I didn't like about this particular unit (W705). The carpet when we were there definately needed serious cleaning or replacement. It made you feel like you shouldn't take off your shoes. Minimum amenities like soap and toilet paper, paper towels, etc. Take your own or be prepared to buy some depending on the length of your stay. Apparently the cleaning service chose to not replace one TP roll, leaving 2/3 of a very,very cheap roll (you could see thru it) in one bath. Not enough of the small travel soaps were there, even to qualify for "mininimu" set up. One, yes one trash bag for the kitchen. No extras. It seems like for the prices paid there should be a little consideration for that. One of the remote phones was not working. It didn't even belong to the "set". It was just the "second phone" to a set, but the base was a different brand, so the second phone was simply plugged in and of no use. If you depend on or use ur laptop, or iPod Touch, anything that needs wi-fi, internet access, be prepared to pay for it...for each device. Example if you have two laptops, or one and some iPods, you must pay to have each device connected for Internet service. Yes, Wi-Fi is available but not for free, and relatively expensive, since other condos provide FREE service. The unit generally speaking was a good unit, furniture and flat screen TVs but some of the apparent policies, such as the Internet, lack of TP, etc. somewhat spoils the whole experience. Check all this before you rent any unit in this Condo complex.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
16  Thank Tnflaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at the Silver Beach Towers for a "girls trip" for my sister-in-laws 50th birthday. We stayed in the 5 bedroom, 5 1/2 bath penthouse unit W1706. We rented this through Abec Resorts.
This condo was everything it promised to be, and more. It was very clean and very modern. There was not a bad room in the house. The views were amazing. The beach is directly below. The resort has two pools, one heated, one not. Two jacuzzis, and very nice gas grills (I think one may have been for charcoal too).
I have never stayed in a vacation rental where they provided such nice linens and even little soaps and lotions for the bathrooms, all 6 of them!
If you have never been to Destin you do not know what you are missing. I have not done a ton of traveling, but we have stayed in the Bahamas, Mexico and other parts of Florida but I have never seen such nice beaches. The water is not quite as pretty as the Caribbean, but it is very clear and nice shades of green. However, the actual beach itself is outstanding. Soft white sand between your toes and uninterrupted for miles. The water, at least in front of Silver Beach Towers, stays very shallow and you can walk out to even more shallow sandbars. Plus, it was so nice to be able to get up in the morning and walk alone on the beach and feel perfectly safe.
Maybe I'm too easy to please but we loved everything we did while there. If you ask at the front desk when you check in, they will give you some coupons to local restaurants for free appetizers. We ate at The Back Porch, Pompano Joe's and AJ's. They are all waterfront and we had amazing food and drinks at all of them.
We also rented a pontoon boat, which if you have a large group is a great deal. We just did a 1/2 day (think it was $150 including gas) because the waters were a bit choppy so we were limited on how far out we could go. We rented through Destin Vacation Rentals. The pontoon was brand new and very clean. They gave us directions on how to operate everything and areas to stay away from and areas where we were most likely to see dolphins.
Overall, would absolutely go back to Destin! Loved everything about it and would definitely stay at Silver Beach Towers again. I'm sure the unit you end up in can change your views, but at least speaking for W1706 it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VickiMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We've stayed here for the past three years and have used two different companies to rent from. We have been incredibly pleased with how well the resort is maintained and upkeep. There has always been a few issues with the cleanliness of the rooms but that is somewhat to be expected when staying on the beach (sand, etc). Will go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Batsontf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Rented through vrbo.com 1106 west Silver Beach Towers. This was managed by Compass Resorts. We walked in and the unit reeked of fish, screen on master torn up, stains all over carpet, dirt on tile, sticky rings on shelves in pantry, food stains running down the stove front and over walls. This unit needs a deep cleaning, paint and repairs! We have battled with a lingering odor all week and have gone through multiple air deodorizers. Also wifi does not work through the provider they listed. Very disappointed for the price we paid. Compass was all talk no follow through to remediate the issues. Very pricey for a smelly, dirty, beat up unit. On a positive note, it is spacious with great views. The unit has not been maintained at all and is dirty and outdated. Bring your own everything also...beach towels, hot pads, cookie sheets, pans, pillow cases you name it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Very nice 3 bedroom condo with a large balcony looking out over the west pool and beach. Our group ranged from grade school kids age, parents in their 40's, and a grandparent in her early 70's and I think all were happy and comfortable here. Wasn't anything super fancy or over the top about it (hence the "very good" rating), but there really wasn't much of anything to complain about either. Everything worked right, the unit was clean, the kitchen was decently equipped, and the furnishings were comfortable. If I were to make suggestions at all, would be nice if there were more places to hang towels in the baths, some kind of a sheet to tell you what TV channels were what, and some kind of a binder or something with information about local attractions, activities, restaurants, etc. I have had this in other condos in Destin and appreciated it very much. We left some of our books we picked up with notes in them in with the phone books for the next guests to find. We appreciated very much the covered parking, and the elevators were very fast. Another handy thing is that the street entrance is right at a light, so anyone who is familiar with Destin traffic can appreciate that. I have stayed in Destin several times and this is my favorite place so far. It's not cheap, but then nothing much is in Destin. I would love to stay there again. For anyone reading, the Harborwalk area is fun to go check out. We had good meals at Capt Dave's, Harry T's, McGuire's, to name a few, even Fudpuckers, which can be hit or miss at times. Would NOT recommend Bubba Gump's. A couple in our group did parasailing with Just Chute Me and had a blast. We also had a great dolphin excursion on the Southern Star. Hope these recommendations are helpful for anyone reading. Love Destin! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Illinifan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Silver Beach Towers is my husband and I's favorite. Stayed in the West tower penthouse in May 2008 (can't remember the unit) and it was amazing!! I had just graduated high school two years prior so it was a younger crowd that all put in to go, and there was a jacuzzi outside on your balcony and even a bidet! lol This August four of us are staying in W1405 (all that was left) and we cannot wait. When planning our trip, I was trying to find something with the best deal. Regardless of me already staying here and after lots of condo hunting, I found this resort did have the better priced deal! I was happy about that (: When you're in the pool, you can see the beach right there, kind of like an infinity pool; it is so close! Perfect rooms, location, price and beach spot. You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndsyalyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abec, General Manager at Silver Beach Towers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.

We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Destin on business or pleasure. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
ABEC Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our family stayed in a 3-bedroom condo at Silver Beach Towers (603W) in May of this year and can't wait to go back. The condo was large, clean, and well updated. The balcony has a beautiful view over the beach and ocean, which are just steps away from the building. The condo has 2 swimming pools, which were especially nice for the kids, and two hot tubs. It's located near plenty of good restaurants, and shopping is also nearby. Free, covered parking is available. Internet is available for a decent price. This was our fourth time in Destin, but it was our first at Silver Beach Towers, and we definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Verdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abec, General Manager at Silver Beach Towers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.

We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Destin on business or pleasure. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
ABEC Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
6.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
2.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
8.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Towers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Towers Resort

Address: 1048 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-7920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Destin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Beach Towers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Beach Towers Resort specializes in Gulf-front Destin vacation rental suite amenities. Guests from all over the world stay at Silver Beach Tower's vacation rentals in Destin, Florida for a peaceful escape. Our two gulf front vacation rental tower amenities offer spacious one-to five- bedroom fully equipped suites that feature kitchens, living areas, washer and dryer, unique designer finishes and private sliding-glass door balconies with picturesque views of Destin, Florida's beautiful beaches. When you stay in Silver Beach Tower vacation rentals, you are just steps away from 600 feet of private beach, two lagoon pools with waterfalls, and whirlpool. Conveniently located within walking distance of Destin's premier shops, nightlife, dinning, and area attractions makes Silver Beach Towers the perfect vacation rental get away. Stay at Silver Beach Tower's vacation rentals and treat yourself to the relaxation and revitalization you deserve in paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Towers Hotel Destin
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Towers Resort Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing