We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary experience in every way...”
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many bed and breakfast inns over the last several years but have not stayed at an inn that offers the level of service found here. We had heard about this Inn but never had the opportunity to stay....the accomodations are sparkling clean, roomy, beautifully decorated and right on the beach!...initial impression includes fresh flowers, grapes and wine in your room! We were able to see and hear the waves from our bed, which looked out on the water with open terrace doors. The pampering starts at a beautiful breakfast buffet with cooked to order omelets, etc., and progresses through the box lunch you may order and they provide, to afternoon treats and happy hour to follow. Having said all of that, their most important contribution is their personal service and evident desire for your stay to be all it can be...they are gracious in spirit as they are gracious in service. After my huband sustained an injury from a fall on a city sidewalk, we found ourselves having a very different vacation than planned.....and are very thankful for all of the extra assistance the staff provided, whether late at night or during the day. They are all simply the best! And the beaches in Destin are, as always, the most beautiful you will find anywhere.

Room Tip: We loved our suite in the East building, but am doubting there are any rooms that wouldnt be desirab...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandRDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Henderson Park Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Everything I've read about the Henderson is true. I don't need to write another Henderson review about how good the breakfast is and how friendly the staff is because it's already been said over and over, but I'd thought I would add one about their customer service. We recently booked a room at the Henderson and when we found an issue with the bed, they promptly moved us into another room no questions asked! Turns out the bed frame was broken and not reported by the previous occupants. The staff at the Henderson worked tirelessly to ensure our stay was memorable and that all our needs were met. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bombero123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was the best weekend gettaway ever. The staff was very customer focused and the location is perfect. The food was outstanding. We really enjoyed everything about our trip to Henderson Park Inn!! We will return for sure!!

Room Tip: Ask for a large balcony room when you make your reservation. Our balcony was fantastic.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here this week and had the best time! Right on the ocean, extremely nice staff, clean rooms with a comfortable bed, beautiful view and interesting guests. I will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Henderson Park Inn, or HPI, is fabulous. Although we live only an hour away in Navarre, FL we stayed at HPI in Oct, 2012 for my birthday. We had a wonderful, relaxing visit but decided that it was a bit pricey for us and would only go back for a very special occasion. The special occasion came much quicker than we though! We received an email from HPI with reduced prices for mid-week in Jan/Feb. We decided to celebrate Valentine's Day a week early and booked a room for 3 nights.

We were impressed with the staff on both visits. Everyone from housekeeping to the chef at breakfast to the bartenders at the included happy hour to the front desk staff go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your visit.

So much has already been said about all of the things that are included in the room rate, so I won't repeat a lot of that here. We really enjoyed the included lunch. You pre-order on the night before from a menu of sandwiches and salads and can pick up the box lunch in the dining room anytime between noon and 2 pm. During this time, there are several kinds of cookies, a variety of fruits, lemonade, and ice tea. Since we often weren't hungry during that timeframe (still full from breakfast!), we used the refrigerator in our rooms to store the sandwiches and then warmed them up later in the microwave.

Although Destin can be crazy, especially in the summer, HPI is tucked away on "old" scenic Hwy 98 right next to the state park. Probably the quietest place you can find in Destin and still easy walking distance (less than a mile) to all of the shops and restaurants in Destin Commons.

For both on our visits, our rooms were on the 3rd floor of the main building. As previously mentioned, the balconies on this floor are very small. We really appreciated that we were alerted to this when we called to make our reservations. No surprises! We did not find this to be a problem since HPI has a huge deck that is never very crowded.

Both times,we enjoyed talking to the other guests at the included happy hour and at breakfast. Many of the guests have been to HPI numerous times. Count us among them! We have already booked our third visit for our anniversary in January, 2013!

Room Tip: Ask for a discount or a free upgrade during the off-season.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great service. Great view. Had a super room with ocean view. Went there the first time in Sept 2011 and will surely return.

Room Tip: Try the oceanview room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eepj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Henderson Park Inn offers excellence in customer service and accommodations. From the moment guest arrive they will notice that staff are attentive with no detail overlooked. The ocean front rooms allow guest to enjoy the emerald coast in a way that typical accommodations do not. From my morning walk on the beach to the awesome happy hour, this has been one of my favorite travel experiences.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hcaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
6.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £154 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin
Henderson Park Inn Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing