We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay, however they could make a few changes for the premium price”
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay, however they could make a few changes for the premium price”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband and I really did enjoy our stay at Henderson Park Inn. The staff was friendly and the beach was secluded which is what we like. It was very nice to have a night off to enjoy each other since we have 2 small children. However, the rooms are slightly small and showing there wear and tear. New carpet in the rooms would be a great plus. A pool would be a great addition as well. We enjoyed it and would consider going back, however for the price we would like to at least see the carpet changed and an addition of a pool because we can find these amenities with the secluded beach elsewhere. I, do however, realize it wouldn't be a bed and breakfast but still a very comfortable condo in a secluded area of the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jlkijohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    71
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
630
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We went away for a short break from our little one at home (4 nights). Everything was excellent. We stayed in the smallest room in the East building. The bathroom was very small, but did have a jacuzzi tub. There was not a place to put clothing away except for the closet with a few hangers. When we arrived there were grapes, wine, roses, and chocolates on the bed with music playing. The lobby had bottled water, pop and candy bars for you to enjoy 24/7. They also had a great selection of movies to take to your room as you please. The boxed lunch was filling and good. They also serve lemonade and cookies and fruit during the afternoon. We ate lunch on the deck or our balcony each day and it was just fantastic. The breakfast was wonderful! The waffles really are amazing. The breakfast is huge and you can't ever beat the view from the dining area and deck. We ate at the Beach Walk Cafe twice for dinner. It was very good, but also very pricey. The views were worth it. The lack of crowd and availability of umbrellas, chairs, and beach space was the biggest perk to us. It was very relaxing, and the beach to the West is pretty much empty since it is a state park. The water was clear and you could see fish everywhere. The sand is soft white powder. We had to switch rooms during our stay (due to availability when we booked) and got upgraded just as a nice gesture. That room was MUCH bigger with plenty of space for all your stuff and a much bigger bathroom. The balcony was amazing! The staff knew our names and went out of their way to make sure everything was always perfect. There was a wide range of ages of guest while we were there (all adults). It was so peaceful and everything was right there. They also give you a CD as a parting gift. We will be back!

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a great view, except 1 room without a view. Even the small rooms are beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tracik19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I recently stayed at the Henderson Park Inn in June 2012. There were several really great surprises...one being the private beach and free towels. I am one who pays close attention to detail, so even the small things like chocolates on the bed every day made a huge impression on me. The daily breakfast prepared to your liking with the option of eating it overlooking the ocean was a great way to start the day, and the staff was simply delightful. In addition, who wouldn't love a free candy bar a time or two on your vacation. However, I do have one major complaint. When spending this kind of money for a hotel stay, I never desire or expect to see mold in the shower. Besides a fairly large stain on the carpet, the room was clean. But, I have issues with mold - I HATE it!! My shower had a significant amount of mold along the base, and unfortunately that may be a deal breaker for me when it comes to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This place may not be for everyone, but if you are tired of working all day and dealing with a normally hectic life and want to escape, this is the place to go. The best part was you have to be 25 and over to stay here. That makes this a very serene and peaceful place. besides that the location is beautiful, the staff is friendly and professional, and the breakfast was first class all the way. You can literally come to the Henderson and spend your entire vacation without leaving the property. The staff pays attention to the details, when we first entered the room a CD was playing music that was relaxing and set the mood for the next three days. We also had a bottle of wine, grapes and chocolates on the bed (very nice touch). The view from the window was awesome. The only reason I would not want to recommend this place to others is so that others don't know about it, that way when we go back we can get reservations. My dream job is to now retire and get a job at the Hendersom Park Inn, that way I could enjoy this place year round.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kbhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandon, ms
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My husband and I got married on our room balcony here in April and it's a neat place to stay. We stayed in both the east and west buildings and prefer the east; it's quieter and the view is uninterruped by the patio. It's definitely the most romantic place we've ever stayed. The room decor is lovely and old-fashioned, wine and grapes are waiting for you on a tray on the bed and romantic piano music is playing in a cd player (Jim Brickman) when you walk in the door. Breakfast is buffet and fabulous, the grillades are to die for and they make eggs to your specifications. Lunch is brought in every day, sandwiches and chips, just let them know from the lunch menu by early morning. Dinner requires a reservation, the seating is limited, but the food is 5 star. There's a great patio and back porch overlooking the beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas are set up each morning for all. There are even movies and board games in the lobby if it rains you off the beach. The price and amenities are such that families and partiers are not encouraged...there's no pool. Friends ordered us a special gift box provided by the Inn containing champagne and glasses. The only drawback to our stay was when the front desk called a few days after our return home to tell us they had accidently applied that gift payment to our room bill and requested we pay them for the gift...now we know how much our friend spent on us. But if you want a super romantic place to spend a few days with your sweetheart and don't mind the cost, it's absolutely perfect. There isn't another place like it in Destin.

P.S. I read a lot of reviews that complain when a hotel won't refund them their money if the weather is inclement. Please don't be so absurd.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank destindreamin060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had heard a lot of good things from our neighbors about Henderson Park Inn. We decided to try it for ourselves and it exceeded all expectations. Everything is on property so we didn't have to use our car the entire trip! The location is amazing as you are literally steps from the beach! The food is great and the staff is extremely nice. They go out of their way to make sure you get whatever you need. We have already booked for next year. I can't wait!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN Ldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a several night stay at the Henderson Park Inn. We had read all sorts of glowing reviews prior to booking, which helped us justify the $500+ per night room rate. While we can definitely say the location of the Inn is fantastic (backs up to a state park, which helps mitigate the noise and crowds) and the stretch of beach is beautiful, overall it just did not live up to the hype and the exorbitant nightly rate. The pros are the location, the views, and the fact that it is a small hotel and you'll rarely feel crowded. The beds are comfortable and the chefs down at the omelette station were genuinely friendly and accomodating. However, there are quite a few cons. When booking a room, the staff will recount all the "freebies" included in the room rate - breakfast, a box lunch, nightly happy hour, all you can eat snacks and drinks, etc. The breakfast is decent and there are some healthy options, but the box lunch is subpar and essentially the same every day, the happy hour is comprised of the cheapest wine, beer and liquor available and what adults actually drink sodas and eat Snickers bars on a regular basis?? Even the Beachwalk Cafe, which is conveniently located in the lobby and had received rave reviews, was average at best, though ridiculously overpriced. The bathrooms are extremely outdated, the bath products are not good quality and not automatically refreshed and robes are not provided. The TV is tiny and the phone did not work in our room. The hotel would also benefit greatly from having a pool - one of the few in the area that does not have one - and they need to invest in new beach chairs. We've stayed at hotels all over the world and generally would not complain, but for the price HPI charges, we expected a much higher quality property. This should be a $300 stay max - a Ritz Carlton it is not. Bottom line - the property has a great location and alot of potential, but is in real need of an overall refresh and a more realistic nightly rate. If you're okay paying Four Seasons prices for a simple and quaint B&B, you'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room. Those are the only rooms with decent balconies that can fit two people...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Skylar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Property: Henderson Park Inn
Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin
Henderson Park Inn Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing