We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP NOTCH!!!”
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TOP NOTCH!!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My wife and I traveled down to Destin at the beginning of September. We were a little scared with Hurricane Isaac making landfall close to the Inn. It ended up being beautiful! The Inn Staff are amazing. We felt like family the entire time and they go out of their way which is a big surprise this day and age. The breakfast each morning was amazing and the views are to die for. We ate waffles and made to order omelets each morning, while watching the waves come in. Chef Greg is a hoot and always had good stories in the morning! The Inn's next door neighbor is a state park so we felt like we had our own private beach. We met some fun guests each night during happy hour and even went to dinner with them the last night we stayed. This was by far our best vacation we have had and it came at such a good time! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Book in advance!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    71
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
630
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach Fl
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Let me start with the good points.The location is great, only yards from the Gulf. The staff we met at the hotel were very pleasant. The included breakfast was very good as was the box lunch they offer. The dining room was pleasant and the food very good.

Now for what I didn't like..Getting reservations by phone was an ordeal We were going to have to walk up to the third floor and on the second of a two day stay would have to change rooms. Neither was correct,we were on the second floor with an elevator and kept the same room. The room itself was clean but tired and in need of painting and some carpenter attention. Note there was some painting going on during our stay. I suspect that the recent years horrible weather and poor business climate on the Gulf has caused some of the problems.We were not able to get dinner reservations (except for 5:30 with a time limit or after 8 PM or outside on what was a red flag day at the beach) on the day of our arrival and were given a recommendation for what was a dive down the road. A good hotel would have suggested reservations or have set asides for arriving guests.Finally upon check out I noticed a strange $40 charge on my bill. I was told that it was a standard charge for unintended damages to the rooms. This I was told is the standard practice in Destn? I don't argue about prices, I just don't return to a place that is so deceptive and unintelligent regarding the standards of their guests Our bill was about $300 plus taxes a night plus the the fund for accidents; I am surprized they didn't have a separate depreciation charge. $300 plus for a room is not too much given the location but it should include a well maintained room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jadolanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had a very nice time, however were a little disappointed compared to our other stays. The room was pricey but showed some wear and tear. For the cost, it should have been pristene.
The staff and the location are still outstanding. Love the happy hour; that had not changed. The beach was still the best. The boxed lunches were by honey baked ham and were okay.Previously they had been by a local bakery and were so much better, but still getting the boxed lunch is a nice touch. The dinner at the beachwalk cafe was okay, but not great. The food was good, but the wine...not so good.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the beach....so worth the extra cost. Just hope room as been spuced up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smlclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallahassee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our stay at Henderson Park Inn was a one of those, “What a great inn! What a great view of the Gulf and tranquil setting! What great breakfasts! What nice staff! How clean! I can see why it is rated so highly; if only....."

If only, they had designed the main two story building with an elevator. Asked if I needed help, they obliged me by enlisting the help of one of the workers dressed in t-shirt and jeans, who seemed as if he had never performed this chore in his life and was embarrassed by my offer of a tip...but then he were so nice it didn't matter.

The corner suite in the second building was terrific (203), and the bottle of wine, rose, and grapes surely made you feel welcomed, but then the rate was almost $400. Also, included were a great breakfast, box lunches, cookies and lemonade, candy bars, sodas, and bottled water.

If only the rate was $50-$75 a night lower, I would have considered it a good value.....but then it was Labor Day.

My unsolicited advice to management is to spend a small percentage of revenues and make the following improvements. Your inn is not far from perfect:

Change out some of the Home Depot hardware in baths and entry doors to rooms. The doorknob on Room 213 in Building II is very loose and wobbles (first impression).

Replace bathtub drain (it is black) in Room 213. The worn jets make the tub seem dirty. Room 203 tub has a loose cover on side and makes a high pitched sucking sound.

Replace Room 213 Celotex drop ceiling in bathroom with sheetrock ceiling. The tiles on drop ceiling are stained, with ill fitting tiles, and dirty AC vent.

Tell you waiter in the onsite restaurant why the chef's signature dish, grouper with crusted pecans, is named the Grouper Vince. It might have been served at Vince Gill's and Amy Grant's wedding reception....the waiter was very good but just did know the details. My wife loved the Vince Grouper. To me, grouper should not be coated with a maple syrup tasting sauce.

Enough with the nit picking, my wife says I am being too hard on the HPI.
She loves everything about it, but then we were celebrating her birthday.

My ambivalence is obvious. We had a great time, but not sure I would come back unless the prices were more in line with the product.

Room Tip: 203 in main building and 213 are both great selections...both corner rooms with outstanding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenameTallahassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Henderson Park Inn in Destin for 3 days in August. Our first time there but it won't be our last. What a wonderful place to go. Quiet, kid-free, relaxing, and tranquil. Though a little pricier than we normally go, when you consider all the included amenities (breakfast, lunch, beach chair service, happy hour,...) it's a very reasonable deal and you can't find a more friendly and courteous staff anywhere. Everyone made us feel like we were special. The great food in the Beach Walk restaurant is so delicious. The beach is lovely. Room we had was wonderful, clean and inviting. We could not have been more pleased with our choice. If you are looking for a great romantic getaway with that special someone look no further than The Henderson.

Room Tip: Book early if you must have a beach view but room 214 is a great room if you don't. 204-208 seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeVaTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natchez ms
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A wonderful inn on a private beach.The water was amazing, the breakfast was great.
The boxed lunch was appreciated and good. A great place for adults that want to relax
and have a really good time. We can't wait to come back. We are Innkeepers of a Historic
Inn and were very happy.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor had a balcony facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oakhillinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I visited the Henderson Park Inn for a quickly getaway in early August 2012.

We loved how the Inn catered to our every need. When you arrive everyone is so accommodating even before they know who you are. The valet was helpful with baggage, the front desk was full of smiles and even while helping other guests made sure we were well received and taken care of without much waiting around. The rooms are well presented and comfortable. We were even surprised to find a bottle of wine and fresh grapes waiting for us. This was a treat after a long drive....and we had to wait a couple of hours until our dinner reservations at the on site restaurant.

The restaurant is divine!! It is a mix of fine dining and casual (adult only) atmosphere. Our waiter (James) was extremely helpful in helping us decide what to order and how to pair the food with drinks/wine. He also had a great sense of humor and never hovered around, but always seemed to be nearby. We ordered everything all at once, but as expected each course came out in its proper order. We even took a 10 minute walk down to the beach for sunset between apps and main course came our right as we came back to sit down and was perfectly fresh and warm. We didn't mention the walk, so perhaps we got lucky...but I do think that the service staff picked up on our trip and postponed our dinner to make sure it was timed well.

We were especially grateful for his recommendations when they turned us on to wine we had never tried before, and even a wonderful Grouper special that was so good it cannot be described with words...

The best part of our trip was the mixture of privacy and service. While we were walking the grounds or in the restaurant we experienced full service, but we were never bothered around our vehicle, on the beach, or near our room. The Inn Keeper (Ryan Olin) even stopped by to see how we were doing at the beginning of our dinner.

For an all inclusive trip to Destin it doesn't get much better. If we had stayed longer we may have needed to go to a grocery store or something, but for just a few nights we had a blast just hanging out around the Inn and walking up the street to the Best Buy shopping center once.

We will definitely be back, and plan to reserve earlier in the year so we can enjoy a longer stay!!

Room Tip: We love the first floor rooms with beach front patios. They are elevated over the sand because the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MicahB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Property: Henderson Park Inn
Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin
Henderson Park Inn Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing