We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could not have been more pleased!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We could not have been more pleased!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked a room after first liking the "New England look" of HPI and then reading the reviews. We were not disappointed. From the check-in to the check-out it was first class. The Inn prides itself in its family-like atmosphere that does not seem contrived. They really care that their guests feel at home.
Tammie from the front desk was outstanding and has even taken the time to answer some email questions after we arrived back home.The breakfast crew is top notch and cheerfully accommodating while serving a delicious meal.
If you are looking for a perfect getaway on one of the prettiest private beaches ever, with a staff that spoils you from the great breakfasts and lunches to beach chairs and snacks, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The balconies on the 3rd floor of the original building are small but still have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harriet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    70
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
624
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Went to Henderson Park Inn on a recommendation from some folks we met in Mexico. Check in was horrible. Room wasn't ready and the front desk personnel were not very accommodating. B & B does not have a pool. Had we know that, never would have gone. Great restaurant on property. Overall. Won't go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stoner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This place was amazing!!! The customer service was excellent. Rooms were clean. Complimentary drinks from 4-5 daily. The food was awesome. Complimentary drinks, candy bars, dvd and bike rental and cappuccino. The toes in the sand dinner was awesome also. Our waiter was amazing! We hated to leave. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars that's how much we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mickeyfreak2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed last week June 8 through the 10, 2014 and it was lovely.
I was a bit hesitant to take a first floor room in the main building leery of people walking by and invading our privacy, this was not the case the windows are hard to see into from the outside, there are blinds on all windows and doors, and lastly minimal foot traffic. The front desk assistant did show us an option that was open up on the 3rd floor which had a better view but the balcony was small fitting two pub stools,so it really depends what you want out of the stay.
We really enjoyed the beautiful beach which is adult only, it was a nice break from the chaotic milieu surrounding us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I have been planning to visit Destin Florida for some time now and after weighing all our options, we decided to spend 4 nights at this highly rated bed and breakfast. We made a 4 night reservation and stayed here from 6/1/2014 and checked out 6/5/2014.

Resort is very cute and intimate, it is an older property and it is showing it's age, but the staff deserves high praise for the great upkeep and cleanliness. We stayed in the main building on the 3rd floor, the stairs are narrow for carrying luggage and it is a good climb; not complaining; just stating this for the benefit of others to consider. Also, the balconies on the third floor are a lot smaller than the second floor, but they offer a beautiful ocean view.

Customer service was excellent, check in and check out was very fast and easy. Front desk personnel will go out of their way to answer any questions and/or help you out in any way. Enjoyed the beach, which was one of the main reasons for choosing this location, which is great by the way. About as close as you can get to seclusion in this part of Destin I guess. As others have stated, their amenities such as sodas, water, towels, snacks, happy hour, free bicycle usage, beach chairs and umbrella, etc. etc. make this a great place to visit and I would highly recommend it.

We really enjoyed our jogging and walking on the beach, the beautiful white powdered sand. And we also enjoyed bicycling up and down scenic Hwy 98's bicycle/jogging path; very good exercise and beautiful scenery.

The resort is expensive, and for us, even though the breakfast and boxed lunches are delicious, there is not a lot of variety, maybe if we had stayed 3 nights instead of 4 we would not have minded this. But we did think it was about as close to excellent as you can get, and we will definitely return once again.

Room Tip: For larger balconies, choose the second floor of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kiko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Most of the time when you have a fantastic visit the first time it is hard to duplicate it the second time. However, this time our visit was just as good as the one last summer. The Inn is exceptional. The location, the beach access, the staff and the room met our expectations again. Concerning some of the recent comments, I understand their opinion. The Inn is expensive. Expect 20% for taxes and fees on top of your rate. Your rate on MTW will be cheaper than the other 4 days. I would also consider rooms 101-104 to be inferior rooms due to their location on the main hotel walk. Pay up and stay on a higher floor. I have only stayed in room 109 in the annex and it is a very nice room. I would recommend you stay in the annex which has an elevator. Also the bed in room 109 squeaks. I told the staff that last year and it still squeaks so maybe all 4 poster beds squeak. The view from the balcony was gorgeous. We watched 2 beach weddings on the weekend from it. Fortunately, the events must end by 10 PM which was appreciated.

Room Tip: Stay in the annex with the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkroon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

As a celebration of a special birthday we decided to book a romantic break for 12 nights at the HPI. We were wowed by the pictures on the website, its standing as a recognised Romantic Hotel and the description of the rooms and the setting. We flew 8 hours from London, drove 6 hours from Atlanta and were really looking forward to our Executive room with ‘first floor balcony with a direct view of the gulf’ (direct quote from availability request).

When we arrived, we found that the room we were allocated (103) did not have a balcony as the patio doors opened directly onto the walkway to the restaurant and the communal deck (which meant it did have a gulf view if you looked past all of the foot traffic, and the diners eating 5 feet from the patio doors).
We asked reception to move us, but were told the hotel was full (and even had a waiting list). We asked for our money back but were told no (at this point we had paid over $6000 so could not even just walk away). We were told that we should have realised the room did not have a balcony due to the words spoken by the receptionist at the end of the booking call. She said ‘this room opens onto communal areas’. I thought nothing of this at the time, assuming this meant the front of the room since my booking said I had a balcony and the executive description from HPI website also said the room would have a ‘small or large private balcony’.

So when we were in our room we had to have the patio doors closed, and the blinds closed to stop other guests and diners from seeing into our room. At this point we realised the room could have been anywhere as it became like any other hotel room. The bathroom was dated, the furnishings were a bit shabby in places, and to spend any time together meant re-arranging the furniture as the only two comfortable(ish) chairs in the room were opposite ends of the room.

We also complained about the bed which was probably the most uncomfortable bed I had ever slept in. The headboard and base were wooden and the joint between them was very loose. Every time one of us moved on the bed the headboard shook backwards and forwards. When we complained, the hotel seemed to spray lubricant into the joint – it still shook, but more smoothly!

HPI did offer us a 20% discount, and did move us to the Presidential suite for three nights when it was not booked by someone else.

The hotel has four rooms (101, 102, 103 and 104) which do not have balconies, but they do not publish this anywhere on their website. To advertise and charge these rooms in the same band as their ‘standard’ Executive rooms seems to be very unfair as saying they have a balcony is untrue.

HPI needs to be more open in the way they sell these rooms, how about actually telling people the rooms do not have a balcony rather than the obscure ‘opening onto communal areas’? If they had made this clear to me I would not have booked.....................or is this the reason why they don’t make it clear?

Room Tip: 101, 102, 103 and 104 do not have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minimotor72, General Manager at Henderson Park Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am extremely sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I feel we did everything in our power to make your stay enjoyable. I listened to the phone conversation that our reservationist had with you upon booking your stay. It was explained that you were on our first floor in our main building and your room opened up to a semi private sitting area that opened up to our large public deck area. Upon arrival I was told by the gentleman that in Europe, the first floor meant 2nd floor and normal first floors were for parking. I am sorry for the confusion. We were not familiar with how hotel floors are in Europe. Even though I felt like the situation was not our fault, I wanted to do everything we could to make your stay enjoyable. We upgraded you to our Presidential Suite for as many nights as we had open. We bought you dinner one night, and I gave the gentleman in your party complimentary rounds of golf. Once again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I wish you the best.
Sincerely,
Ryan Olin
Inn Keeper
Henderson Park Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Property: Henderson Park Inn
Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin
Henderson Park Inn Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing