We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We loved that this place is for adults only! We wanted a quiet, relaxing trip and that is what we got! Each day our price included a gourmet, fabulous breakfast and you also go to order a box lunch to enjoy out on the beach (or wherever you choose) and then there was also a happy hour on the patio each day. Their is a private beach that backs up to the Henderson Preserve so there is little beach traffic. Beach chairs are provided. They even have bikes for you to use if you'd like. We rode them into town each day. Each room is different...we liked staying in the building beside the main building.

Room Tip: Look at their website for pictures/descriptions of each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Amazing trip to the HPI once again! This place has spoiled us and made us never want to go to Destin and stay in a condo again. This time we attended the cooking class, and what fun that was! Wonderful breakfasts, wonderful view, wonderful room,( but do be sure to ask for 2nd or 3rd floor) wonderful service, and even wonderful weather! Looking forward to our third trip in the future!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A few weeks before the 4th of July Holiday, my husband told me we could go somewhere over the holiday weekend as he'd be closing his business. I knew at such a late notice I'd be hard pressed to find an opening at our usual spot at the beach--and I was right. I did however remember having always seen the Henderson Park Inn and opted to give them a go. As luck would have it, they had just one room still available. Now the price was not cheap as it was a holiday weekend as well as the peak of summer vacation, and with this not being a cheap Inn to begin with, but I jumped at the room.
Yet in the case of the Henderson Park Inn, I believe you certainly get your money's worth!
For the price of your stay, your breakfast each morning is included. And what a delightful breakfast it is!
Your lunch is also included as you may order a boxed lunch prepared by Honey Baked Ham.
There is a tray of fresh fruit, wine and chocolates waiting for you upon your arrival at check-in. Your beach chairs and umbrellas are included as is a happy hour each afternoon between 4 and 5 out on the deck over looking the sugar white sands and emerald water's of the beaches of Destin, Florida.
The Inn has 35 beautifully appointed rooms. This is an adult only facility, accepting guests over the age of 25--which is really a nice and refreshing change, for as parents we've spent our lives in places that were indeed kid friendly---just having a quiet more calm grown up crowed around at the beach is certainly a nice change and indeed relaxing from the raucous sound of kids screaming and teens being teens.
The Inn is older and has been around a while. It looks more like a New England style Inn perched in Florida so it does stand out, but in a welcoming sort of way. It is located on the dead end of old Scenic Hwy 98 in Destin, backing up to Henderson State Park--- which means that in this crowded chaos known as Destin, it offers a quiet respite from the crowds, traffic, noise and craziness of the Destin area. It's a small carved out piece of sanity in the overwhelming crowds which make a summer trip to Destin anything but relaxing.
Our room was on the 2nd floor in the second building, not the main building, but just as private and nice. There are access codes to enter the buildings and access to the gates leading to the beach-- as the Inn sits directly on the beach---just steps away from our room.
Upon entering the room, there was a very musty sort of smell--but then again, the Inn has been around a while and life on the beach, with a constant barrage of intense heat and salt air, can take a toll. The room was large and well appointed---I did notice a leg broken on the side chair and the outside hall on occasion had an overwhelming scent of sewage---but then it would dissipate. There was hair in the sink in the bathroom but overall it was very clean. The bathroom is a bit tired with a garden tube shower combination-- but it was large, light and overall quite spacious and clean--minus the hair in the sink.
The deck was semi private and had a stunning view of the beach and ocean.
The staff was kind and gracious---true Southern Hospitality. It was obvious that the happiness of their guests was paramount.
Breakfast was awesome---a selection of hot and cold offerings. The best grits I have ever eaten complete with a cajun crawfish gravy if one preferred or simply cheese and butter. There was crisp bacon, link sausage, freshly prepared omelets ( I had a delicious shrimp omelet), belgian waffles, hot oatmeal, scones, biscuits with gravy, toast, cereals, fresh fruit, juice, coffee---all included in the price of your room. Supper was the only meal not provided and we opted to eat two of our 3 nights at the hotel---the view is stunning in or out whether you wish to eat on the deck, or for an extra cost you can even eat out on the beach, or as we chose, inside in the main dining room.
The only little trouble, if you'd call it such, was that on our last full day our room was not cleaned. We had been out most of the day on the beach, we arrived back in our room at 2PM, the room had not been cleaned but we did see that housekeeping was out in the halls, this is also when we smelled the overwhelming scent of sewage. We opted to head out again to run some errands. We arrived back two hours later at 4PM and our room was still not cleaned. By now we needed to take showers and get ready for dinner as we had opted to drive out to a favorite restaurant on old Hwy 30A and it would take a while with all of the holiday traffic. At 4:30 Housekeeping knocked on the door, but we told the lady that we'd simply take a few fresh towels as we were in the process of showering and getting ready for the envying out. That was the only glitch, which wasn't much of a glitch at all as we are certainly capable of straightening out our bed.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Henderson Park Inn---I would defiantly go back---it is a great place to celebrate a honeymoon (they do weddings here), an anniversary, or simply a needed time of rest and relaxation at one of the world's prettiest beaches--minus the crowds.

Room Tip: If staying at the Henderson Park Inn, you definitely want a room facing the ocean with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trojans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at HPI for four nights and I can't say enough about how wonderful it was. The bed, linens, and pillows were extremely comfortable along with the location and size of our room. We stayed in a king executive on the first floor of the East building which was very quiet and private. Everything was kept clean and tidy by the staff, who was friendly and always willing to assist with anything we needed. Breakfast was delicious and so was the box lunches and the menu variety. Greg (and his team, sorry I can't remember names) made breakfast fun. The front desk ladies were extremely friendly and the gentleman who maintained the lobby of the East building was continually working at something on the grounds and was always friendly. It's obvious that the employees take pride in what they do at HPI. It was wonderful being able to relax on a private beach that wasn't crowded on the 4th of July. No problem with not having enough chairs and umbrellas for everyone. The outside of the building is a bit rustic, which I thought added character. Happy hour was a nice event that we appreciated at the end of a day spent on the beach. We loved it so much, we've already booked our next visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at Henderson Park Inn for three nights over a weekend in mid-June. This place is great, BUT I have a few important tips before making your reservation. Read on to find out what not to do, but first let me set some context: My wife and are in our mid-50’s and we like upscale and reasonable quiet beach resorts. The Henderson Park Inn can certainly be that kind of place. It is on a great section of the beach in Destin that is uncrowded and beautiful. There are ample chairs and umbrellas on the beach for guests as well as bicycles guests can use. The rooms are very nice and the staff that work there are great. Breakfast and lunch are included in the room price as well as one hours’ worth of happy hour drinks beginning at 4:00 PM. Our stay could have been really great, BUT we had a 1st floor room and there was a huge wedding at the Inn that weekend. Here are my two tips before making your reservation:

1. Do not stay in the 1st floor rooms. Request a 2nd or 3rd floor room. The first floor rooms do not have a good view of the ocean and worse, there can be a lot of people hanging out on the deck in front of your room. My wife didn’t feel comfortable leaving our blinds open which is a shame because then you get no view. You also get a lot more noise from the Beach Walk restaurant which seats people on the deck in front of your room at dinner. The 1st floor rooms cost the same as comparable 2nd and 3rd floor rooms so it’s a no brainier to get the better view, a balcony, and the privacy from the upper floor rooms. The 1st floor rooms really ought to be half the price.

2. Check to see if a large wedding is planned during you stay. If a large wedding is planned, pick another time to go. It really changed the atmosphere of the Inn. The day before the wedding was constant noise and activity as they set up two large tents and brought in all of the tables, chairs and other stuff needed for the wedding. The wedding was the next evening beginning at 6:30 PM. Our 1st floor room was located adjacent to the single rest room used by the 150+ wedding guests so you can imagine what that was like. The wedding itself lasted until about 11:00 PM after which the catering crew began disassembling the chairs and tables. It was not what I expected for our stay at the Inn given the price I paid for the room ($489 per night).

What could Henderson Park Inn have done better? First of all don’t oversell the 1st floor rooms. They are vastly different than the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms given the lack of privacy and view. Second, tell us when there is a large wedding planned during our stay. I would have changed my reservation dates if had known about the wedding (and booked a 2nd floor room).

Room Tip: Do not stay in a 1st floor room Check to make sure a large wedding isn't planned during your st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our first time in Destin and we picked Henderson Park Inn for our stay. We made an excellent choice! The entire staff was friendly and attentive. The accommodations and amenities were wonderful. The beach was very private and not overcrowded. We celebrated our anniversary at the on site restaurant Beachwalk Cafe and had a very enjoyable evening. We highly recommend this establishment and will definitely be returning ourselves.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room with a larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheAgards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked a room after first liking the "New England look" of HPI and then reading the reviews. We were not disappointed. From the check-in to the check-out it was first class. The Inn prides itself in its family-like atmosphere that does not seem contrived. They really care that their guests feel at home.
Tammie from the front desk was outstanding and has even taken the time to answer some email questions after we arrived back home.The breakfast crew is top notch and cheerfully accommodating while serving a delicious meal.
If you are looking for a perfect getaway on one of the prettiest private beaches ever, with a staff that spoils you from the great breakfasts and lunches to beach chairs and snacks, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The balconies on the 3rd floor of the original building are small but still have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harriet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
6.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541-3413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £158 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin
Henderson Park Inn Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing