We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camp Gulf
Nearby Hotels
US$253
US$222
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Destin)
US$105
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$234
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
183
64
24
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
64
24
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrv parkbath houseactivity centergolf cartbeach frontcamp groundnice campgroundpizza place across the streetindividual roomsmotor homebig rigsoft serve ice creamobstacle coursefull hookupsfire pitbeautiful beachsecond row
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I am not someone who normally writes reviews. But today was the worst experience ever. Memorial Day weekend, my son and I booked a spot at Camp Gulf from Friday, late arrival through Monday. This was supposed to be our first stay there. We arrived with our 33 ft travel trailer around 7pm and get directions and parking assistance right away. Arrived at the site, we figure it is pretty tight and mention our concern, that we won't be able to put chairs in front of our Trailer or not even get the Awning out at all. We barely can open the door and facing the door and grill of our neighbor in less than 2 feet distance. We clearly described our Travel Trailer at booking. Customer service called the owner and was told, we're fully booked. Take it or leave it. After asking about a refund of the paid amount of $468 for three days, the answer was - unfortunately we can't do refunds. So we leave the site and drive down the road to Destin West RV, they are fully booked too but find a spot for us, rearranged other reservations to accommodate us. Thank you and Camp Gulf- NEVER EVER AGAIN! I hope you guys enjoy my $468 for a too small site.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
15  Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickONeill, Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

R. Hueckel, We are sorry that you feel this way. You did not seem to be having the "Worst time ever" and the conversations with the customer service manager seemed very cordial. You started off by saying that you do not write reviews , so we will keep that in mind that perhaps you were overwhelmed by emotion at the time. First of all your reservation was made immediately before the Memorial Day weekend. I am surprised that you even got a site for the weekend with that short notice. We honestly had no where else to move you, as we were full. You are welcome for the parking assistance given to you; it is afforded to all those arriving and needing help parking. You were in one of the tighter sites on the beach (24'x60') and facing a neighbors awning since they were in a motorhome and elected to pull in and see the water. Even though you 'clearly described your 33' trailer at booking' it was the only space for you. We have retraced the events and spoken to those involved when you expressed your displeasure and can not find anyone who was not helpful in searching for something different for you or that ever used the words 'take it or leave it'. This would be out of character for any employee that you had interaction with, however if that was said we do apologize. There would have been other RVers to take your site if you did not make the reservation and therefore we do not offer refunds in this situation. Unfortunately you left the park and vacated the site without notifying us. Then we called you the next day and credited you for the stay even though you were told at time of reservation and at check in that we would not. This is one reason that we are surprised at your 'worst experience ever' review. Camping is not for everyone, nor being close to neighbors. Perhaps this is not the best place for you and we are glad Tom could accommodate you down the street off the beach. It is not our policy to 'rearrange other reservations to accomodate' those who fail to make plans early enough for a holiday. We hope your trip had a better ending than beginning; if it was the 'worst ever' then it could only get better, right?! We sincerely hope that you will consider returning one day and choosing your site in advance with our online descriptions that include sizes, locations, orientations, and distances to amenities. If you would have stayed you could have enjoyed the fish fry, parade, evening outdoor movie, time on the beach, clean pools, Hippo Slide and so much more! This is truly a fantastic family vacation RV resort. Please come see what so many others are raving about and give it another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I have stayed her twice now when visiting the Destin\FT. Walden beach area. Very clean, helpful staff, beautiful beach access, and lots of on site activities. Kind of pricey, but worth the extra money if you value your rest. If you can, book a beach lot. Worth the extra money for the hippo slide too!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Love the proximity to the beach. Helpful staff. Nice facilities for kids. Amazing bathrooms with individual rooms for each bathroom. Pizza place across the street was very good. Beach was very clean and nice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rebekah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Sadly we did not get to stay here for spring break due to an upcoming surgery for my husband, however, I would like to comment that the staff here was amazingly helpful and kind in helping us out with our situation. Many thanks to Mary for all her help and kind words. When he recovers we will go down and visit, if nothing else just to say Thanks in person!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank WMW0166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The park has a great location right near everything in Destin. We have a very large RV and it was easy to get in. The sites are beautiful and level. Checkin was simple and the staff was friendly. We did not try any activities, however the calendar looked lively. My daughter enjoyed that the pool was usable even though it was a little chilly. We would recommend this park.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peacelovegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews