We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Camp Gulf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camp Gulf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We just returned from our first visit at Camp Gulf and had a great time! We have 2 young girls, 4 and 8, and this was the perfect mix of fun for them. We stayed in site 603 which was probably one of the larger sites on the property, right by the hippo slide, close to the activity center, close to the bath house and close to the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed all the free activities during the day for the girls...painting sand dollars, decorating t-shirts and totes, creatures with curler beads and much more. The beach is beautiful and easily accessible. The property is also extremely clean, the pools are spotless, bathrooms are very nice, even the laundry facility was really nice! However, be aware, campers are packed in like sardines, so if you are looking for a big roomy site, you may want to go somewhere else (especially on the beach side of the property)

There is one MAJOR complaint that I have and this is why I only rated it 4 starts, the WIFI is HORRIBLE! Seriously! It was so aggravating! My husband was supposed to attend an online meeting during our stay and couldn't get connected on any of our devices (we had 2 laptops, 4 tablets and 2 smart phones). I also had to cancel an online meeting. We are both IT professionals and when I called for help, I was told that no one else was having issues and it was probably my operating system....REALLY! It is clearly obvious that they need some serious help in this area. I was also told that I could purchase more band width. Are you kidding me? With the price we are paying, WIFI service and bandwidth should be maxed out and EXCELLENT. I have never had this type of trouble in any other campground. Even in the activity center it was impossible to keep a connection on our tablets, laptops or smart phones, and yes, i was typing in the correct password. But anyway, that was truly the only negative issue.

With that being said, I would definitely recommend this camping experience and we will more than likely plan on returning next year (we will just leave our business meetings out of the mix!). Thank you Camp Gulf for a very fun vacation!!!

Room Tip: Stay on high ground (the left side if you are standing on the beach looking at the campground) if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickONeill, Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are so glad that your family had such a good time, you are welcome! We do try very hard to provide you with the activities you will love and to keep everything front he bath houses to the pools and activity center as clean as we can! Regarding the WIFI, this is an indoor technology that has been moved to outside. RV's are faraday cages (holding the signals inside) and to contribute to the bandwidth issues everyone is bringing so many additional devices. We have several access points scattered through the park, with the maximum bandwidth from an excellent provider. That being said, it is much like city traffic in rush hour. It is good for email and surfing but with so many campers 'downloading' (i.e. games and movies) it affects everyone. We are in the process of adding another access point too. Next time if you have a scheduled call we can plug you into a network at the activity center. Ask at the gift store (there is a private room there too). Thanks again for posting your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed one of these cabins. Let me first point out, they do not not at all the like pictures. They are dark, dingy, and extremely small. The staff seemed somewhat nice though a few could use customer service training. The den had a very hard couch that made out into a VERY uncomfortable bed. The couch was so hard, we could not use it to sit on to watch TV. The AC are window units that are so loud you can not hear the TV.

The bedding smelled very old and musty. The bathroom are so small you can hardly turn around and the showers are a joke. As far a the RV area of the park, our friends that traveled with us and rented a slot for their RV, they were very well pleased.

But if you are looking for cabin that looks anything like the pictures they have on their web site, do not stay here. It is a TOTAL rip off for what you pay.

Room Tip: Do not rent the Cabins here. They are not work half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickONeill, Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We have asked each employee that had contact with you and can not find any reason that you may have had a stay that was unpleasant. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy yourself. I can assure you that all the photos for all our marketing are from our park and our cabins. They are meticulously cleaned for each turn over. If you had any issue whatsoever we wish you would have said so while you were here, however if you will call a customer service manager we will be happy to make things right. We pride our cabins with the best Amish furniture, detailed turn-overs, and honest advertising. The cabins are park models, which to those who are not familiar with RVing, are classified as RVs, being 400 square feet in the interior. If you feel that these are too small then perhaps renting a house would be better than an RV park/resort for your family. Hope to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excelent service! They guide you in, help with your trailer or extra equipment. Looks like 80% of the work force are campers, so they know how to help. The gift shop is nice. They even had a cook out one night! Movies outside, two pools. Clean roomy bath houses. We made reservations for next year before we left!!

Room Tip: We like the spaces in the third row back from Beach Front. They are up on a retaining wall four feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickONeill, Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Johnny, Thanks for you note. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation! You are correct that most of our employees are campers, as are the managers families (I guess that makes 100% campers for staff). We are dedicated to the industry and our guest. Let us know if you need anything! Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I am not someone who normally writes reviews. But today was the worst experience ever. Memorial Day weekend, my son and I booked a spot at Camp Gulf from Friday, late arrival through Monday. This was supposed to be our first stay there. We arrived with our 33 ft travel trailer around 7pm and get directions and parking assistance right away. Arrived at the site, we figure it is pretty tight and mention our concern, that we won't be able to put chairs in front of our Trailer or not even get the Awning out at all. We barely can open the door and facing the door and grill of our neighbor in less than 2 feet distance. We clearly described our Travel Trailer at booking. Customer service called the owner and was told, we're fully booked. Take it or leave it. After asking about a refund of the paid amount of $468 for three days, the answer was - unfortunately we can't do refunds. So we leave the site and drive down the road to Destin West RV, they are fully booked too but find a spot for us, rearranged other reservations to accommodate us. Thank you and Camp Gulf- NEVER EVER AGAIN! I hope you guys enjoy my $468 for a too small site.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
15  Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickONeill, Manager at Camp Gulf, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

R. Hueckel, We are sorry that you feel this way. You did not seem to be having the "Worst time ever" and the conversations with the customer service manager seemed very cordial. You started off by saying that you do not write reviews , so we will keep that in mind that perhaps you were overwhelmed by emotion at the time. First of all your reservation was made immediately before the Memorial Day weekend. I am surprised that you even got a site for the weekend with that short notice. We honestly had no where else to move you, as we were full. You are welcome for the parking assistance given to you; it is afforded to all those arriving and needing help parking. You were in one of the tighter sites on the beach (24'x60') and facing a neighbors awning since they were in a motorhome and elected to pull in and see the water. Even though you 'clearly described your 33' trailer at booking' it was the only space for you. We have retraced the events and spoken to those involved when you expressed your displeasure and can not find anyone who was not helpful in searching for something different for you or that ever used the words 'take it or leave it'. This would be out of character for any employee that you had interaction with, however if that was said we do apologize. There would have been other RVers to take your site if you did not make the reservation and therefore we do not offer refunds in this situation. Unfortunately you left the park and vacated the site without notifying us. Then we called you the next day and credited you for the stay even though you were told at time of reservation and at check in that we would not. This is one reason that we are surprised at your 'worst experience ever' review. Camping is not for everyone, nor being close to neighbors. Perhaps this is not the best place for you and we are glad Tom could accommodate you down the street off the beach. It is not our policy to 'rearrange other reservations to accomodate' those who fail to make plans early enough for a holiday. We hope your trip had a better ending than beginning; if it was the 'worst ever' then it could only get better, right?! We sincerely hope that you will consider returning one day and choosing your site in advance with our online descriptions that include sizes, locations, orientations, and distances to amenities. If you would have stayed you could have enjoyed the fish fry, parade, evening outdoor movie, time on the beach, clean pools, Hippo Slide and so much more! This is truly a fantastic family vacation RV resort. Please come see what so many others are raving about and give it another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I have stayed her twice now when visiting the Destin\FT. Walden beach area. Very clean, helpful staff, beautiful beach access, and lots of on site activities. Kind of pricey, but worth the extra money if you value your rest. If you can, book a beach lot. Worth the extra money for the hippo slide too!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Love the proximity to the beach. Helpful staff. Nice facilities for kids. Amazing bathrooms with individual rooms for each bathroom. Pizza place across the street was very good. Beach was very clean and nice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rebekah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Sadly we did not get to stay here for spring break due to an upcoming surgery for my husband, however, I would like to comment that the staff here was amazingly helpful and kind in helping us out with our situation. Many thanks to Mary for all her help and kind words. When he recovers we will go down and visit, if nothing else just to say Thanks in person!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank WMW0166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 37 in Destin
189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Gulf

Address: 10005 Emerald Coast Pkwy., Destin, FL 32550
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:2 star — Camp Gulf 2*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp directly on the WOrld's most beautiful beaches! There is no other private RV Resort like this. We offer full amenities and Deluxe cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Camp Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Gulf Hotel Destin
Camp Gulf Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing