We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just PERFECT!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I wanted to make sure that I wrote my reviews ASAP and thus help others make a reliable decision. This hotel is simply PERFEC!!! It is located about 2 blocks from the beach, is on the main street and has a good, simple breakfast. I partically searched high & low before arriving to Destin, Fl for a nice, inexpensive place to sleep and Summerplace Inn was the one. It was a huge plus of our entire trip. All other hotels/resorts look nice, but who goes on beach vacation to stay in their hotel room all day??? Not us.
Their rates are reasonable and well worth the $. Besides the employees there are all pleasant folks (especially Jeff, in the front desk); no complaints there. Our room was clean and had a nice view of all the activity below. Not to mention that we were only about 1 min away from Wal-Mart.
Our family couldnt have been any happier w/our stay. Thank you! And we will definitely see you again next year!!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anacasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We definitely can't wait to see you back next year! I will also definitely follow up with Jeff and let him know he is now Trip Advisor famous :) - this will definitely make his day! Please don't hesitate in letting us know you are returning customer next year - and since you know you'll be back - I recommend visiting our website to sign up for our newsletter and summerclub. This gives you access to special promotions and upgrades when you come to see us next year :)

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

We booked this hotel on a discount site at a rate that was significantly lower than their normal rate. But I believe I would have paid the regular rate for this place. It was nicely decorated, the room was large enough for me, my partner, and my parents to share and not be tripping over each other. Included a mini fridge, which was nice. Bathroom was a good size. The desk employees were very helpful when my parents had car trouble and needed to stay an extra night. Better continental breakfast than I have seen in other hotels. Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbyrne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

First, I hope your parents did get home safe! We always hate to see a guest in need/stranded - so I'm very happy we were able to get them taken care of and on their way the next day! Thank you also for taking the time to share about our little hotel :)

We pride ourselves on providing more than any branded hotel, with better quality rooms and the level of service that one should expect and deserves. I am happy to hear that we were able to do just that during your stay. We hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great place! The receptionists are very welcoming and kind. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmichael0583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you so much for acknowledging the outstanding job all the employees at SummerPlace Inn put forward. We pride ourselves on our service and style - and to hear that we achieved that is very rewarding! We certainly hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I'd like to start with the positives about SummerPlace. It had a reasonable rate for the time of the year that we went (July). The beds were comfortable, and the room was clean.
While none of the employees were rude, only a couple of them were overly-friendly. I would name names, but only a couple of the employees wore nametags. The pools were small, but clean. We had to go on the hunt for towels a couple of times, but, this was a very busy season for the hotel. There was a terrible continuous clanging noise in the indoor pool, coming from the exhaust fan. It was hard to relax with the noise.
Upon entering the room for the first time, we noticed a light bulb missing from the bathroom. If it had been a big deal to us, we could have mentioned it to someone. But, it continued to go unnoticed for the 4 nights we stayed there.
The room we stayed in (rear side) was medium-sized at best. The air conditioner made a horrible noise the first night. After mentioning this to the front desk, someone obviously came and worked on it. It was much better, albeit not totally quiet for the rest of our trip. There were other air conditioning units in the hallway making the same noise, so obviously ours was not the only unit with issues.
Breakfast was meager. A VERY limited choice, and waffle irons to which your waffle sticks.
Plenty of hot water, but low water pressure.
Bottom line, for all the rave reviews, I expected much more attention to detail and customer service. We were disappointed.
***On a sidenote, if you are in Destin, Joe's Crab Shack is delicious with excellent service and a fun atmosphere. Visit during lunch if you like to avoid crowds and save a few bucks. Also, the short drive to Henderson Beach State Park is well worth it. For a small fee, it is one of the nicer beaches in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2goIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

I am sincerely disappointed that we were not able to blow you away. We pride ourselves on this - and we take it to heart when we do not live up to our representation. I certainly hope that you will consider giving us another chance - as there is definitely a reason we have so many outstanding reviews and acknoweldgements of our hotel and our service. I apologize again that you feel we dropped the ball during your stay.

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We came on a family trip with my husband, mom, my 19 month old son and 4 year old daughter. We have been vacationing in Destin for 20 years. The moment we arrived Keone set the pace for the place and we were not disappointed. The front desk staff right down to the guest service staff was excellent. They were friendly down home people but also professional. We didn't have a single problem. The breakfast was above average, the rooms were clean and neat and the decor was up todate. The maid service staff was also nice, we had an issue with my daughter wetting the bed one day and they immediately took care of it without a single attitude. This is the best place I've stayed and we have stay plenty of places. I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN. Thanks Keone, Jeff, Cedric, Jenny, Josie, Jean, Titi and Faith. You guys made this place and excellent choice for my family.

Felicia

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felicia37128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

I can't wait for the staff to see all their names on our wall of fame. Thank you so much for identifying them as outstanding service agents - I will definitely acknowledge them for making your stay perfect! As the general manager, reviews like this are what keep us going. Thank you so very much for your kind words and we hope to see you again very soon!!!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

To keep things short and sweet, we had an excellent experience at the SummerPlace Inn in Destin, FL. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Only upper level rooms can see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank back2school4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

I like your style on the review...so I will keep things short too :). Thank you for sharing about our awesome little hotel here in Destin! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Me and my wife stayed here the first week of June and we loved it, The hotel was very clean the rooms were very nice and very tasteful. They had an indoor and outdoor pool, the staff was very friendly and helpful. When we come here we always stay on the beach but this time couldn't find anything reasonable so we checked emerald parkway and found this little gem of a hotel which was only a five minute walk to the beach, man I was impressed. In lobby they had cold bottled water and fruit for the guests and free continental breakfast which we didn't know about. The price was excellent so much so we've decided to come back in September. Oh be careful there are two restaurants in walking distance one of which is Bubba Gumps the food is overpriced there and you dont get your moneys worth we felt cheated..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmycrackcorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
8.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel

Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541-3337
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#6 Business Hotel in Destin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £47 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel is tastefully decorated in British Colonial theme! Our Destin hotel is near everything you are looking for – including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches. Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we’re the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. Regardless of why your travels bring you to Destin and the Florida Panhandle, we are sure you’ll love our hotel and its great location in the center of everything Destin! A relaxed pace and friendly atmosphere makes Destin one of the most charming places imaginable for a vacation. Couples and families will find something for everyone to do. Make the SummerPlace Inn your choice for accommodations in a boutique style hotel while in Destin no matter time of year it is. Of course we realize that not all travel to Destin may be leisure and fun so we want you to know that the SummerPlace Inn provides a welcomed retreat from the many chain hotels that dot US-98. If coming to the area on military or government business to a local base, visiting someone at the Sacred Heart Hospital, or to do business at one of the many area companies such as Legendary, Okaloosa County Schools or any of the Destin Chamber of Commerce members, then we are the ideal hotel for you as we are centrally located in Destin Florida USA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing