We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$188
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$235
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
212
152
48
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
152
48
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer place innbalcony roomfree breakfastjoe's crab shackacross the streetoutdoor poolyogurthot tubbooked this hotelgreat place to stayshort staygreat ratebeds were very comfortablepublic beachthe room was nicethe entire staffhenderson beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I wanted to make sure that I wrote my reviews ASAP and thus help others make a reliable decision. This hotel is simply PERFEC!!! It is located about 2 blocks from the beach, is on the main street and has a good, simple breakfast. I partically searched high & low before arriving to Destin, Fl for a nice, inexpensive place to sleep and Summerplace Inn was the one. It was a huge plus of our entire trip. All other hotels/resorts look nice, but who goes on beach vacation to stay in their hotel room all day??? Not us.
Their rates are reasonable and well worth the $. Besides the employees there are all pleasant folks (especially Jeff, in the front desk); no complaints there. Our room was clean and had a nice view of all the activity below. Not to mention that we were only about 1 min away from Wal-Mart.
Our family couldnt have been any happier w/our stay. Thank you! And we will definitely see you again next year!!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anacasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We definitely can't wait to see you back next year! I will also definitely follow up with Jeff and let him know he is now Trip Advisor famous :) - this will definitely make his day! Please don't hesitate in letting us know you are returning customer next year - and since you know you'll be back - I recommend visiting our website to sign up for our newsletter and summerclub. This gives you access to special promotions and upgrades when you come to see us next year :)

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We booked this hotel on a discount site at a rate that was significantly lower than their normal rate. But I believe I would have paid the regular rate for this place. It was nicely decorated, the room was large enough for me, my partner, and my parents to share and not be tripping over each other. Included a mini fridge, which was nice. Bathroom was a good size. The desk employees were very helpful when my parents had car trouble and needed to stay an extra night. Better continental breakfast than I have seen in other hotels. Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbyrne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

First, I hope your parents did get home safe! We always hate to see a guest in need/stranded - so I'm very happy we were able to get them taken care of and on their way the next day! Thank you also for taking the time to share about our little hotel :)

We pride ourselves on providing more than any branded hotel, with better quality rooms and the level of service that one should expect and deserves. I am happy to hear that we were able to do just that during your stay. We hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great place! The receptionists are very welcoming and kind. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmichael0583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you so much for acknowledging the outstanding job all the employees at SummerPlace Inn put forward. We pride ourselves on our service and style - and to hear that we achieved that is very rewarding! We certainly hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I'd like to start with the positives about SummerPlace. It had a reasonable rate for the time of the year that we went (July). The beds were comfortable, and the room was clean.
While none of the employees were rude, only a couple of them were overly-friendly. I would name names, but only a couple of the employees wore nametags. The pools were small, but clean. We had to go on the hunt for towels a couple of times, but, this was a very busy season for the hotel. There was a terrible continuous clanging noise in the indoor pool, coming from the exhaust fan. It was hard to relax with the noise.
Upon entering the room for the first time, we noticed a light bulb missing from the bathroom. If it had been a big deal to us, we could have mentioned it to someone. But, it continued to go unnoticed for the 4 nights we stayed there.
The room we stayed in (rear side) was medium-sized at best. The air conditioner made a horrible noise the first night. After mentioning this to the front desk, someone obviously came and worked on it. It was much better, albeit not totally quiet for the rest of our trip. There were other air conditioning units in the hallway making the same noise, so obviously ours was not the only unit with issues.
Breakfast was meager. A VERY limited choice, and waffle irons to which your waffle sticks.
Plenty of hot water, but low water pressure.
Bottom line, for all the rave reviews, I expected much more attention to detail and customer service. We were disappointed.
***On a sidenote, if you are in Destin, Joe's Crab Shack is delicious with excellent service and a fun atmosphere. Visit during lunch if you like to avoid crowds and save a few bucks. Also, the short drive to Henderson Beach State Park is well worth it. For a small fee, it is one of the nicer beaches in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2goIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

I am sincerely disappointed that we were not able to blow you away. We pride ourselves on this - and we take it to heart when we do not live up to our representation. I certainly hope that you will consider giving us another chance - as there is definitely a reason we have so many outstanding reviews and acknoweldgements of our hotel and our service. I apologize again that you feel we dropped the ball during your stay.

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We came on a family trip with my husband, mom, my 19 month old son and 4 year old daughter. We have been vacationing in Destin for 20 years. The moment we arrived Keone set the pace for the place and we were not disappointed. The front desk staff right down to the guest service staff was excellent. They were friendly down home people but also professional. We didn't have a single problem. The breakfast was above average, the rooms were clean and neat and the decor was up todate. The maid service staff was also nice, we had an issue with my daughter wetting the bed one day and they immediately took care of it without a single attitude. This is the best place I've stayed and we have stay plenty of places. I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN. Thanks Keone, Jeff, Cedric, Jenny, Josie, Jean, Titi and Faith. You guys made this place and excellent choice for my family.

Felicia

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felicia37128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

I can't wait for the staff to see all their names on our wall of fame. Thank you so much for identifying them as outstanding service agents - I will definitely acknowledge them for making your stay perfect! As the general manager, reviews like this are what keep us going. Thank you so very much for your kind words and we hope to see you again very soon!!!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews