We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We got a great deal via the internet for $62 / night. Stayed 3 nights and we weren't interested in being on the ocean, because the next week we were meeting friends in Gulf Shores for a week on the beach. So this hotel was what we were looking for. Staff was very pleasant, room was very nice, continential breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel if you don't want to be on the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CancunCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you so much for your recommendation of the SummerPlace Inn! Destin is a funny little town how it is set up with beach access - with only one hotel located directly on the beach - that being a full service hotel. However, SummerPlace Inn is fortunate to be directly across the street from the Destin Beach but having been to Gulf Shores myself, it is a much different environment to be on the Gulf, and I sincerely appreciate your view of this! If you enjoy golf there is a great hotel in Gulf Shores (Marriott Courtyard Craft Farms) that while not located on the Gulf is a great hotel located directly on their premier golf course :)

Hope the rest of your trip was amazing and we hope to see you again next year!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were looking for someplace to stay for one night for our wedding anniversary and ended up going with SummerPlace due to the price.

We told them we were coming for our anniversary so they told us on the phone we would be upgraded to a balcony room on the front facing the water for no additional charge. When we arrived (about 3:15) we were advised check-in wasn't till 4 but they would check to see if any rooms were ready and were asked to sit and wait. We didn't get to check-in till about 3:50 so I wouldn't say plan on being able to check-in early as you can most other places. When we got called up to check-in I double checked the rate on the bill and it was $30 higher than we were told on the phone. The clerk corrected the issue and gave me a new bill.

When we got to our room we were put in a 1 bedroom "suite" that did not have a balcony. We really wanted the balcony more than we did a "suite" so my wife went back downstairs to ask about moving. She was told then that the only balcony room they had available was on the second floor. I didn't figure that was high enough to see the water so we just stuck with what we had. Room was very small even for being considered a "suite". Had a separate bedroom from a sitting area. The sitting area had a couch and a chair with TV. Couch was very hard. Room and bathroom were both clean. The toilet in the bathroom is one of the lowest I have ever seen in my life! Very hard to sit on and get up from. The bed was by far the hardest bed I've ever slept on in my life. I woke up the next morning hurting all over as did my wife.

The hotel over all was very clean and I guess for the lower price I shouldn't complain but sleep comfort just wasn't there. I did complain about the bed at check-out and was told someone "the other night" had to have a piece of plywood put under it because it was too soft. I definitely know that wasn't the bed I slept on.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend calling them as you can get a cheaper price compared to what's listed on th...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishoparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Most importantly, I would like to say congratulations on your anniversay! As I can see in your review, the hotel certainly tried to excede your expectations by offering you complimentary upgrades, before you even arrived at the hotel. I am glad that they were able to get the complimentary upgrade charge taken care of prior to being billed as well. I'm sorry that you did not sleep well on our mattresses. This hotel does not have plywood available for use under beds - so I apologize for this miscommunication that you represent. This is not a complaint we typically receive, mainly because of the quality we use in comparison to other hotels. However, we each have different preferences - so I will definitely take into consideration having some different bed types available to guests such as yourself. Thank you again for taking the time to share about your expereince.

Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a great stay at the summer place inn this summer. We got the the hotel early we asked if we could check in early and they had a room avaliable on the first floor close to the entrance. We have to very light sleepers so I adked if we could move to another room on the third floor and they were happy to accommodate. They checked us in early and we had a great stay. The rooms were cleaned everyday. Our kids Baffin in the pool every evening. They are so close to restaurants and entertainment. The beach is across the main highway so we drove to the beach everyday. If our kids were older or it was just adults we could have walked. The staff keeps everything so clean. We had a great time and we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank deepulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you so much for taking note of the pride with which we represent our hotel. We are always happy when we know our guests are as happy as they can be - and it sounds like we did a great job! I will be sharing your comments with our entire staff, as their pride in their work and the hotel they work for clearly shows in the way the hotel is maintained and presented. This will definitely make their day! We hope in the future we will be able to take care of you and your family again! Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need anything at all!

Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Our experience was fantastic! When we arrived around noon I thought I would give early check-in a try, but was doubtful that it would work considering we were four hours early. However, I was pleasantly surprised when Jefferson at the front desk said our room was ready! If you are lucky enough to check in with Jefferson at the front desk, be prepared to have the best check-in experience you've ever had! He was very polite, helpful, and seriously entertaining! Our two sons wanted to take him home with us!

The two pools were not very large, but they were just what we needed! After a day at the beautiful beach (public access is just across the street) the indoor pool was a nice retreat from the sun! The outdoor pool has a nice fountain and hot tub, too.

Our room was very clean! The beds were nice and comfortable! The only two complaints I had was that the refrigerator didn't get very cold, and the hair dryer was kind of gross. Luckily I brought my own hair dryer.

The location is perfect! Right across the street from public access to the beach, next door to The Track amusement park. A playground is located just behind the hotel (I https://hosted72.renlearn.com/707625/ it's a public park). Restaurants line the street... I recommend the Pancakery or the Donut Hole for breakfast if you don't want the free continental breakfast which was fine for a free breakfast!

All in all, we'd stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your detailed review of SummerPlace Inn. I can't wait to share with Jeff about your comments - as I know this will make his day! It is always so much appreciated when we know our hard work has not gone unnoticed - and to have you take the time to share such positives about us really blows us away. We can't wait to take care of you again and we hope to see you soon!

Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

During our stay at SummerPlace Inn we had a truly wonderful experience. The staff were all very accomondating and pleasant to deal with. The rooms were perfect. The beds were clean and comfortable. The decor and painting throughout was all new in appearance. This is a wonderful place to stay. You will not be disappointed at all. At checkout I asked the gentleman at the front desk if there was a local car wash nearby so that I could vacuum the sand out of my car before my trip home. This hotel attendant dropped what he was doing, grabbed a dyson and an extension cord and let me use it... Please take care of the place if you stay because we are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room that faces the Gulf. These rooms are great.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler344532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay and would come back! The room was nice and large , pool nice breakfast was ok it would be nice to have hot meat (bacon etc.) but you will not starve remember BUDGET! can't beat it !

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifixhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Decent hotel.. close to stuff.. worth 130/nite in season and about 75 off season.. any more perhaps go some other place.. Do not repeat do not stay at Sleep inn.. absolutely pitiful. Checked room first.. Jason Worhees, Freddy Kruger and Michael Myers would not ever stay there. : P

Room Tip: always negotiate and be strong... walk away from high price.. go in Sept. rates go down.. Roomsaver...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 39 in Destin
180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#31 of 39 in Destin
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel

Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541-3337
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#6 Business Hotel in Destin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £65 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel is tastefully decorated in British Colonial theme! Our Destin hotel is near everything you are looking for – including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches. Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we’re the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. Regardless of why your travels bring you to Destin and the Florida Panhandle, we are sure you’ll love our hotel and its great location in the center of everything Destin! A relaxed pace and friendly atmosphere makes Destin one of the most charming places imaginable for a vacation. Couples and families will find something for everyone to do. Make the SummerPlace Inn your choice for accommodations in a boutique style hotel while in Destin no matter time of year it is. Of course we realize that not all travel to Destin may be leisure and fun so we want you to know that the SummerPlace Inn provides a welcomed retreat from the many chain hotels that dot US-98. If coming to the area on military or government business to a local base, visiting someone at the Sacred Heart Hospital, or to do business at one of the many area companies such as Legendary, Okaloosa County Schools or any of the Destin Chamber of Commerce members, then we are the ideal hotel for you as we are centrally located in Destin Florida USA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing