We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok, nothing to write home about..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We went to Destin to celebrate bringing in 2012 and we love the white sand beaches, outlets and seafood in Destin however the hotel was just ok. The staff was friendly enough but I'm big on cleanliness and not only did they not vacuum our room each day but the hallways were in need of a good sweeper as well. The pool/lobby/breakfast areas were well maintained and the fitness center was a room with 2 treadmills but I would suggest running outside if you are a runner..nothing like running in a tiny space that steams up after 10 minutes of warm up. All in all, we enjoyed Destin but after a 4 day stay here, our whole family (kids included) were ready to get back to the comfort of our own home.

Room Tip: All rooms were about the same as far as we could tell.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJWalker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience while here at the SummerPlace Inn. I regret that you do not feel that we blew you away during your visit. I have taken the information you have shared and reviewed it with our entire staff. We certainly will address just concerns to insure they do not happen in the future. I know 4 days away from home in a sold out hotel can lead to a great desire to be back in the comforts of home - and we certainly hope your return trip home was safe and clear sailing!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I needed a place for an overnight stay close to the nearby picturesque community of Seaside, and chose this hotel in Destin. The price was unbelievable for the comfort and overall cleanliness of the hotel. Our standard room was huge with a comfortable king size bed and sleeper sofa. The one con would be the bathtub, as it had porcelein that was cracking. The breakfast was good and beach access is across from US 98. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for the value and comfort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM_World_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the superior quality of product and service that we provide here at SummerPlace Inn. My only regret is that we were not able to have our bathtubs renovated prior to your arrival! We truly do believe in listening to our guests, and this is something that we are in the process of addressing. Hopefully, the next time you come to Destin, not only will your room and service blow you away - but our new porcelained tubs will also make you smile :)

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Will Return Great Breakfast, nice clean pool indoor and outdoor, the only downside, was some of the staff , especially one of the girls that mangage the place wasn't very friendly, but other than , that great place.

Room Tip: if you choose a room with a balcony you can see the water very good from the 3rd floor and up
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina7376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

We are so glad to know that we were fully able to provide you with Superior Style. Superior Service. We can't wait to have you back, and I would like to personally extend our management team to you. I regret that one of our team leaders wasn't able to blow you away - but should you return, please feel free to contact me directly, and I will personally ensure that you get great service from EVERY team member - including our Supervisors.

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We booked 3 rooms, and were completely impressed with SummerPlace! Friendly staff, clean updated rooms, generous continental breakfast, great value! We were only passing through, but if we visit Destin in the future for any length of time, we know we will return to SummerPlace!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

We are just delighted that while passing through Destin you found our unique and superior hotel! SummerPlace Inn prides itself on being better in product, decor, service, and value compared to our competitor branded hotels. As an independent boutique hotel, we are able to custom cater to our guests, and prov ide an experience that exceeds a typical hotel night in your standard all look the same hotel rooms. We certainly hope you get the opportunity to come through Destin again, and don't forget, SummerClub points never expire - so you can save them up and before you know it you will have a free vacation to come back to Destin for!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Wow, we totally didn't expect Summerplace Inn to be an updated, modern-looking hotel for the price we booked it for. We were thinking along the lines of Days Inn or Comfort Inn, but boy, we were wrong. As soon as we walked in, we noticed the small lobby and waiting room was welcoming with earth-tone painted walls and modern furniture.

The room was even better! The furniture is mahogany color giving a nice contrast to the cream and olive colored walls. It really made the hotel room feel like home! The bed was so comfortable and firm. I didn’t wake up at all in the middle of the night! There's a microwave, fridge, cable tv, and free wireless internet. Internet connectivity was pretty slow though.

The nightly rate was outstanding. Of course, we were in Destin during off-season which probably explained such a great low price per night. Summerplace Inn was so much better in style, comfort, and value than the generic Comfort Inn we were suppose to stay in.

Service was great. We were first assigned to a room facing the hwy. But that first night, we noticed that tub was draining so slow. The front desk lady offered to get it fixed first thing in the morning and that we could stay in another room down the hall in the meantime. It wasn’t a big deal, but she was so sweet and apologetic about the whole situation. We ended up staying in the new room since we didn't want to trouble ourselves moving all our stuff again. The bathtub drained well and the toilet even flushed better. The only thing we noticed from that room facing the highway was that the bathroom was much bigger and the bathtub was more updated. Still, the room we moved to was perfectly fine.

Location was also a plus. Right off of hwy 98 and a quick walk or drive to the beach. Restaurants, shopping, and small amusement parks close by. The Track (go-karts) is right next door!

The hotel also offered free hot and cold breakfast. Thursday morning, besides the bagels, english muffins, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, etc., the only hot meal option was the waffles, but on Friday morning, they offered, scrambled eggs and sausage. Not sure if the menu differs on different days, but everything served was good. The dining room was pretty big for hotel offering free breakfast, so there was plenty of tables.

The fitness center is pretty small. There are only two treadmills with a 32” flat screen on the wall. Luckily, no one was using the fitness center at the time we went, but I could see having only two treadmills during peak season could be a problem. There is also a heated indoor and outdoor pool that I wish we had the time to use.

I would definitely stay here again. The value, location, decor, amenities offered, and friendly staff are a huge plus!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to elevator have bigger bathroom and updated bathtub & digital AC unit, but those r...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel. We rely 100% on word of mouth - and to read straight from our guests that you felt we were better than even the branded hotels gives us something to shout to at our morning huddle. I can't wait to share with our staff :)

I regret that you weren't able to move to a room that had our bathroom tubs redone as your first room. We have just started the process of refinishing all of our tubs and pouring new porcelain, and unfortunately due to our high occupacny, even in the winter, this process is taking longer than expected. Hopefully however, on your next trip to Destin, all of them will be done!

Again, thank you for your kind words - and we truly hope we get to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My boyfriend and I traveled to Destin, FL for a four day birthday trip this past Sept. 2011. We had an extremely pleasant stay at the SummerPlace Inn. One of the major pluses of this hotel is the location. We rented a car and drove from Atlanta, therefore we were able to drive to everything. Great outlet shopping was about a 15 minute car ride from the hotel. There's also a ton of restaurants and a huge Wal-Mart within a five minute drive. On the downside the beach is located across a huge, busy intersection. On to the hotel itself-because I brought my dog with us we had to stay on the first floor (a nominal pet fee of about $30). We didn't have a view because our room faced the street. The room was very clean, the bathroom floor was not. There was hair in the corners of the bathroom that didn't belong to us. The tub had been scrubbed and there was no odor in the room. Breakfast was available and we took advantage of it the first day. But it's nothing to write home about. A basic continental that they change daily. It's a good, free start to the day, but we opted to go out for breakfast after the first day. Overall I think we would stay here again if we couldn't afford better. It was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissBianca81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel was well worth that price that I paid for it (off-season). Room was very clean, nice balcony--though the view of the ocean may be a bit overstated in the promo info. Yea, I could see the ocean from our third floor balcony--barely--in the distance. The beach is about a 3-4 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is located in the middle of everything--that's good or bad (if you want solitude). Front desk staff were very nice and breakfast buffet was free--though it varies in its selection, day to day. Overall, it was not a big selection of food items, but adequate--I guess the waffles are the highlight.

Hot water was somewhat of an issue for us. At times, there seemed to be plenty, other times, not.

Overall, I would definitely return if I could get it at as good a price as I got this time

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONUalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

I would like to thank you for sharing about your experience at the SummerPlace Inn. We offer great value - in both the winter months and the summer/peak travel season. Our goal is to provide Superior Style. Superior Service. at a great value - and it is our hope that just as you felt this way during the winter season, that should you return during our busy season, at that time as well you will find we offer Superior Style and Service while still maintaining great value.

We do rotate our breakfast items, which allows us to ensure that our guests do not become tiresome of eating the exact same thing each day. Our rotation of hot items include: waffles, oatmeal, eggs and sausage. We hope you get the opportunity to experience these items at breakfast on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 39 in Destin
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#32 of 39 in Destin
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel

Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541-3337
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#6 Business Hotel in Destin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £65 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel is tastefully decorated in British Colonial theme! Our Destin hotel is near everything you are looking for – including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches. Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we’re the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. Regardless of why your travels bring you to Destin and the Florida Panhandle, we are sure you’ll love our hotel and its great location in the center of everything Destin! A relaxed pace and friendly atmosphere makes Destin one of the most charming places imaginable for a vacation. Couples and families will find something for everyone to do. Make the SummerPlace Inn your choice for accommodations in a boutique style hotel while in Destin no matter time of year it is. Of course we realize that not all travel to Destin may be leisure and fun so we want you to know that the SummerPlace Inn provides a welcomed retreat from the many chain hotels that dot US-98. If coming to the area on military or government business to a local base, visiting someone at the Sacred Heart Hospital, or to do business at one of the many area companies such as Legendary, Okaloosa County Schools or any of the Destin Chamber of Commerce members, then we are the ideal hotel for you as we are centrally located in Destin Florida USA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing