We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than what I expected!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SummerPlace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than what I expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I just recently got back from my last college spring break and was more than happy I stayed at Summer Place Inn. I'm extremely OCD about hotels and being dirty but since I am in college I had to stay in my price range. When I found SPI I was skeptical because it was such a good price but after reading the reviews I was going for it. There were seven in our group and we booked a double queen. Realizing we needed more room the staff was more than happy to help us a upgrade for a good price.

It was great to have the beach across the streets. The go-kart tracks literally are next door and lots of shopping and restaurants within driving distance, some walking. I would definitely recommend SPI to anyone I know. Me and my group also want to give a BIG thank you to Jeff!!! He was helpful from the week before we got there until the day we left.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
I am so glad you guys had a great spring break! I also want to thank you for acknowledging Jeff for his outstanding service. That is what we are about at SummerPlace Inn - not just saying you will get great service - but delivering it every day - above and beyond what one can expect. We hope to see you again next year!

Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    132
    46
    13
    14
See reviews for
144
148
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodruff, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We booked five days at SummerPlace for late February. We were not disappointed!! The management, front desk people, room attendants, and maintenance staff were energetic, respectful, helpful, friendly, and took pride in their work and in this hotel. The rooms were clean, with ceiling fans in addition to air conditioning. The complimentary breakfast included cooked oatmeal, eggs and sausage, Activia yogurt, orange and apple juice, milk, coffee, cereal, assorted pastries, waffles. and fruit. There is a walking trail connected to a sports complex behind the hotel that we used each day, and the indoor and outdoor pool were refreshing. We ate at several waterfront restaurants, including The Back Porch(three blocks down from the hotel and literally on the water) with the best homemade key lime pie, for an incredible price. We will be back again next year. This hotel is a great place with great value and outstanding staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you so much for your praise of our entire team! Reading reviews like this is what keeps us going day after day. We love to help our guests make memories that will last a lifetime - and to hear that we all were able to help accomplish that is the reward that keeps us smiling every day at work. We can't wait to see you again next year!

Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Really enjoyed this hotel for its vaue.....very well kept, furnishings look new, very good, free continental breakfast and it's in a great location off Hwy 98 close to everything. Selected it because of reviews from recent guests..........thanks everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProudSingleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
At SummerPlace Inn, we feel the best way to decide on where you will stay - is from former guests and the experiences we had. I noticed that this is how you decided on our hotel - and I really appreciate you also taking the time to share about your experience with our future guests. I hope we get to see you guys again soon - and thank you again for choosing our award winning SummerPlace Inn!

Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My family and i spent the weekend down in destin and had a great time. The hotel was always clean, and the staff was friendly, but never the less we had a few issues. The first issue was that in the outdoor spa area this is a bulb and wires just hanging in the bottom, just made my wife and I uneasy. The other issue was though the staff was helpful and nice, they fail to notice the multiple children swimming unsupervised in the indoor pool, the youngest was about 3 years old. I just was amazed by the fact none of the employees even walk by the pool to see what the noise was.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donahue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our wonderful little hotel. I want you to be assured that the light bulb that was being repaired during your stay has been taken care of :)

We value all of our guests, and we do our best to ensure that everyone is taken care of. Unfortunately, we cannot force parents to remove their children from the pools - however I can assure you we keep an active eye on all activities - however we do not provide a lifeguard on duty - so we must rely on parents being responsible for their own children.

Thank you again for taking the time to share about your experience!

Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Our stay was an excellent experience. Checkin took a few extra minutes as a young lady was being trained by the front desk clerk. I did appreciate that i was asked first if it was ok with me. The public areas were well cared for and clean. The room was large with every thing one would need to have a good stay and it was very clean. The price through priceline was excellent! You could walk to local attractions and restaurants. The staff recommened a few restaurants and each was right on for what we asked. This was an excellent property with an outstanding staff and we will be back! By the way breakfast was served and it was not to bad.

Room Tip: Upper floors on the south may have a view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mebucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corinth,ms
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

we really enjoyed our recent trip to the SummerPlace Inn-They were recommended to us by friends of ours.They were everything I expected,and more.If we were to visit there again this is the place I would stay.They were clean and very nice

Room Tip: choose off season rates are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
We are so glad to hear that you heard about us through your friends and more importantly that we did not let you down. We rely on word of mouth as a major part of our "advertising strategy" and to hear that once again we were able to exceed those expectations will have us giving high fives at our morning roundup! We can't wait to see you again and thank you again for choosing the SummerPlace Inn!

Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We went to Destin to celebrate bringing in 2012 and we love the white sand beaches, outlets and seafood in Destin however the hotel was just ok. The staff was friendly enough but I'm big on cleanliness and not only did they not vacuum our room each day but the hallways were in need of a good sweeper as well. The pool/lobby/breakfast areas were well maintained and the fitness center was a room with 2 treadmills but I would suggest running outside if you are a runner..nothing like running in a tiny space that steams up after 10 minutes of warm up. All in all, we enjoyed Destin but after a 4 day stay here, our whole family (kids included) were ready to get back to the comfort of our own home.

Room Tip: All rooms were about the same as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWalker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience while here at the SummerPlace Inn. I regret that you do not feel that we blew you away during your visit. I have taken the information you have shared and reviewed it with our entire staff. We certainly will address just concerns to insure they do not happen in the future. I know 4 days away from home in a sold out hotel can lead to a great desire to be back in the comforts of home - and we certainly hope your return trip home was safe and clear sailing!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SummerPlace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn

Property: SummerPlace Inn
Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541-3337
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Destin
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier choice for hotel rooms in Destin Florida USA - the SummerPlace Inn. Our Florida styled hotel is perfect for overnight Destin hotel accommodations when you want a break from the ordinary. Come see for yourself why we have quickly become the local's choice for a Destin boutique hotel.The SummerPlace Inn Destin Hotel has recently completed a brand new lobby renovation to included more lounging areas and TV's for our guest. Our hotel is near everything you are looking for - including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches, shopping, and local restaurants. We are Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we're the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your SummerPlace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn
SummerPlace Inn Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing