We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”
Review of SummerPlace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
College Park, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Our stay at the Summerplace Inn was great! The service was top notch. I saw staff jump in and serve beyond their normal duties to ensure that guests were well taken care of. The amenities were nice and clean. The rooms were comfortable and the location was perfect--in less than one minute you can be on the beach by car and under 10 minutes by foot. The only suggestion that I would make is that a cold water dispenser is added to the breakfast bar. Otherwise, we were very pleased with the service, amenities and location of the hotel. Thanks Summerplace!! See you in October.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcy4221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at SummerPlace Inn. We pride ourselves on taking care of each and every guest - and it is truly rewarding to hear that as a guest you witnessed the care and concern our staff has for our guests. I will definitely take note of your suggestion of a water dispenser in the breakfast area. We look forward to seeing you again in October (this is the staff's favorite time of year here in Destin - and we are sure you will thoroughly enjoy your time!)

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    140
    48
    13
    14
See reviews for
151
151
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My wife and I stayed at the SummerPlace Inn for four nights at the beginning of August. The hotel is in a good location, only a short trip to the major destinations in Destin. The front desk staff was always nice and willing to accommodate. The hotel and room were both clean and updated. The room included an LCD TV and the bathroom was clean with good water pressure. The breakfast includes the typical pastries, yogurt, juices, and a waffle maker.

We only had two complaints about our stay. The first day of our stay, we had some problems getting the room cleaned. The attendant stopped by every time we had just arrived back from going out, never managing to clean the room while we were out for several hours. The room never did get cleaned that day and we had to ask the front desk for more towels. The rest of the days were fine, so I don't believe this is a systemic problem. The other complaint is the rather hard pillows. My wife and I frequently awoke with neck pain or headaches from the pillows.

The hotel is definitely worth the money. If we had brought our own pillows, we would have had a nearly perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GravityCasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This was our first trip to Destin, and we enjoyed it very much. I found this hotel thru Trip Advisor and called the hotel directly to book a room and was given a very good room rate. We found the hotel to be very clean and updated with upscale furnishings and amenities. The front desk girls were very helpful and friendly to me and my family and took care of our every need. The pools are very small, so if that is important to you, be aware of that. The free breakfast was the weakest part of the experience, maybe I should not complain about something that is free, but when some hotels are putting an emphasis on this part of their experience, then it needs to be spoken of. The selections were very small, and the one waffle maker was not enough even for a smaller hotel. The hotel is across from the beach, but it is across two streets and other properties, so be prepared to drive to the beach. We went to Henderson Beach State Park and loved it, it does cost money to do this, but it is well worth the cost, there are restrooms and pavilions which makes up for not being on the beach. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Summerplace Inn and would encourage any family needing to vacation on a little smaller budget this year to take advantage of this great smaller hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrown01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Thank you so much for choosing to come to Destin as a first time visitor to the area. As a community we sincerely appreciate that you selected Destin as your getaway with all that has happened this year! As the General Manager, I try to follow up with every review/guest comment - as I take these very seriously - and as a tool to make future guests stay even better. I noticed that breakfast was not your favorite part of the stay, and excluding the waffle machine, I would love to hear of other items you would have liked to see in our selection. Please feel free to email me at mistelle.langen@pinnaclehm.com. Any input is always greatly appreciated! Again, thank you for visiting Destin and for taking the time to share with others about your experience at the SummerPlace Inn.

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Being a travel agent.. we like to drive to places and just pop into a hotel and kind of inspect it for seling purposes.. so I decided to drive over from Tallahassee for the day to Destin.. we decided to stay based on location and the exterior of hotel looked inviting.. and upon arrival the staff was amazing.. Very Very friendly staff.. the rooms were small and the door in our room did not close very securely.. and it rattled every time someone opened a door near ours so much so that you thought someone was coming in.. and I was traveling with a small child alone and did not feel all that comfortable.. the AC in room never would get really cold.. it keep the room fom being unbearable but not at night we were hot.. Also the fridge was open and soaked with a towel sitting inside that was wet and smelled like mildew. The location was good not too much noise from street traffic.. but the price was too expensive for what we got..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamieemge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at SummerPlace Inn. Thank you so much for the kind words you wrote about our team. We pride ourselves on providing "Superior Service" and when that is recognized the staff feeds off that guest's positive experience. I do apologize for your experience with the fridge. It sounds like we were defrosting it and unfortunately we had a communication breakdown internally. I will definitely use this experience to have a training opportunity with our team to ensure future guests do not encounter the same thing. Again, thank you for taking the time to share about your experience.

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed 2 nights in Destin, FL because a friend recommended the beaches. We had just spend 3 nights in New Orleans, and was ready for some sun and relaxing time.

The hotel seemed like an affordable option near the sea. We booked a room with king size bed.

The room was clean and nice, flat screen TV, a fan in the ceiling. Breakfast was complimentary.

There is a room with computers and printer available for the guests and there is a gym available.

Free parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gryand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your travel experience to SummerPlace Inn. I certainly hope that your experience in Destin gave you the Sun and Relaxation that you were seeking! Should you ever return to the area from Oslo, I hope we have the opportunity of taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvey, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Great for the price, beds comfortable, very clean, service was good except when we arrived the evening clerk act like she was afraid of African Amercians my husband is a very dark colored man, but after that everyone else was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorena73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Ms. Lorena,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at SummerPlace Inn. I'm sorry that you felt the clerk may have been afraid of your family. We are a very diverse workplace and pride ourselves on being a melting pot of our own as we refer to ourselves. This being said, I will definitely follow up on this! I am glad to hear that aside from this one encounter you received quality service and that your overall experience was of high quality. Again, thank you for sharing about your experiencve at SummerPlace Inn.

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Point, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Excellent Location, right next to the TRACK. Very friendly staff. My kids loved the candy they kept on the front desk. One day they had cold bottled water out in the lobby when we came in from a hot day. Inside was surprisingly quiet due to all the noise outside (HWY 98 and the Track). No problem sleeping....we were all worn out! My only complaint is that there was only one dryer in the entire hotel. I had to go check the dryer for availability several times before I could use it to dry our wet beach towels. There is room in the vending areas for a dryer on each floor, and that would have made our stay a little easier.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connienobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
I wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to share with others about your experience at our hotel. It is so nice to hear that you appreciated all of our "little" gestures to help make sure you had a wonderful stay. I want you to know that I am currently working on getting a second washer and dryer for the hotel. However, if in the future you encounter this same problem, please call the front desk and we will work with you to get your towels dry, even if we need to use our commercial machines! We hope to see you again soon, and again, thank you for sharing about your stay!

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.5 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 39 in Destin
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SummerPlace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn

Property: SummerPlace Inn
Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Pkwy, Destin, FL 32541-3337
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Destin
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier choice for hotel rooms in Destin Florida USA - the SummerPlace Inn. Our Florida styled hotel is perfect for overnight Destin hotel accommodations when you want a break from the ordinary. Come see for yourself why we have quickly become the local's choice for a Destin boutique hotel.The SummerPlace Inn Destin Hotel has recently completed a brand new lobby renovation to included more lounging areas and TV's for our guest. Our hotel is near everything you are looking for - including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches, shopping, and local restaurants. We are Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we're the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SummerPlace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn
SummerPlace Inn Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing