We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms/villas Need remodeled and staff needs to cheer up and act like they care.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rooms/villas Need remodeled and staff needs to cheer up and act like they care.”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hawks cay was a huge disappointment . The villas are very dated. Carpets are stained. Furniture stained. We felt dirty the whole time. We moved to Tranquilty Bay in Mararhon and had an awesome experience in unit 4 and then in 44.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lov2travv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at Hawks Cay Resort. Unfortunately, you did not reserve a spectacular Villa with Village at Hawks Cay by KeysCaribbean. All our Villas are meticulously maintained and our guests love our Villas as their home in Paradise. We hear many complaints about the hawks cay hotel service. Our guests receive prompt, courteous and friendly attention by our KeysCaribbean employees. Next time book direct with Village at Hawks Cay Villas by KeysCaribbean for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    13
    8
    17
See reviews for
60
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed in a 3 bed/3 bath townhouse from 7/17-7/24/12. There were 5 of us, with three kids under 15.

First, the good/great things about this resort:
1. It's beautiful! Great plants, nice pools, and great setting on Duck Key with lots of views of sunsets, sunrises, boats, etc.
2. There is a LOT to do here. Plenty of activities for all ages -- sports, massages, kids pools, adult pools.
3. Lots of food. Plenty of restaurants to choose from and a convenience store in case you want a few groceries or snacks.
4. Cable system with lots of channels and the ability to watch free movies! Not first run, but still nice for a rainy day (which we had only one all week!)

Now the bad:
1. Housekeeping was non-existent. We were there for 4 days and literally had no one ever stop by to empty trash or provide new towels or anything. We reused towels, which we were ok with, but after 4 days they were rank! I would have emptied the trash too, but there was nowhere to do that. We asked at the front desk and were told they do not do a full cleaning every day (which I'm totally ok with) but that they should come by and at least do trash and towels. They gave us new towels that night (never took the old) and I thought we'd be ok from there on out. The next day, still no housekeeping. We escalated the issue the 5th night to the manager. He assured us the problem would be solved. The next day, STILL no housekeeping to speak of (and we were there all day due to pouring rain). So we emailed every manager and owner of the resort we could find. Funny enough, we got 4 phone calls that night and our entire unit was cleaned! Which was great, since we had no more dish detergent, no towels and no clean dishes to use either. Sad that it took THREE complaints to get anything accomplished and had to involve higher up than a manager to see results!
2. Saw several people in our row of units that must have also had the same problems because one guy was begging a resort employee to take out his trash and another unit had a giant stack of towels and trash outside of the door.
3. There is no place to really swim in the ocean here. There is ocean water in the "lagoon" but it is very murky and a lot like swimming in a lake.
4. The food is ridiculously overpriced and not good. I expect the high prices at a resort, but the quality is usually much better than this. I am also a vegetarian, along with my teenage daughter, and there is not many options there for us. We ate one lunch at the grill by the pool and one dinner at Tom's Harbor House. After spending over $100 at each (for a family of 5), we ate most of the rest of our meals in our kitchen. I only ordered two cocktails and they were $10 each and I'm not sure there was really any alcohol in either of them.
5. Service at the restaurants is terrible. I assume this is because they already have 18% tip added, but it's no excuse for not providing adequate service.
6. Not sure if the resort can do much about this, but there are mosquitoes everywhere! Wish I would have taken pictures of our legs to post here. It was very uncomfortable to sit by some of the pools at night because of the bugs constantly biting you. And there were tiny ants EVERYWHERE that you had to brush off the chairs to even sit down.
7. Activities abound but none are very spectacular. Most are overpriced, as with most resorts, and you can get nearly all of the activities cheaper elsewhere. Try Sombrero Beach in Marathon for snorkeling/picnic/etc. plenty of diving and parasail tours if you research before you go.
8. The tram is great to get you around the resort, but the drivers were rude. I saw them completely blow through stops on occasion and not even wait to see if someone was coming. (we were 20 feet away once and he just kept going).

Overall, I really loved this resort when I saw it online and read the reviews. I am generally not picky when it comes to hotels/resorts, but for $350/night I would have at least expected to get trash pick up and towels every day. I've had better service at a motel 6 and better food at an applebees.

Location is great, but don't expect ANY customer service. When we checked out, the guy at the front desk asked how our stay was and we told him it was not good. We summarized our issues with housekeeping and managers and he literally didn't say a word. He handed us our bill, told us we were paid in full, and to have a good trip home. I think either he doesn't care or they hear this so much they are used to it. Either way, management needs to step up and train their employees better and/or fix the morale problem they seem to have.

I would love to bring my family back to this resort, as it could be fantastic if everything on the website was true and we LOVED the Keys, but not sure we will return if we keep seeing reviews like ours. I think we will just rent a house on Marathon and save the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyDodson, Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write Trip Advisor and informing them of your most recent visit to Hawks Cay Resort. Unfortunately, your posting does not belong to KeysCaribbean Resorts Village at Hawks Cay Villas. Although we have many of the privately owned Villas at the Village at Hawks Cay in our rental program; you reserved your Villa rental directly with Hawks Cay Resort. Trip Advisor had previously been notified of their posting error to the wrong company, however, they were inclined to simply leave an erroneous negative posting on the wrong company. Quite frankly, we learn about many negative service encounters that guests booking directly with Hawks Cay Resort experience. The good news is that we are able to assist the dissatisfied guests from Hawks Cay Resort with a great return visit experience and rates of nearly 50% less than they paid to Hawks Cay Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duck Key hotels

coral springs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I must say the place was pretty decent looking- a bunch of pools, large grounds, and a decent room. However looks can be deceiving.

First, you get whacked with a $30 resort fee everyday. Of course, the company doesn't put that in the daily room charge so when you are comparing hotel prices you can't compare apples-to-apples. This is simply a junk fee to add on to an already very expensive hotel. Add on $30 to whatever price they give you!

Our TV and room safe were broken when we arrived so we called up the front desk and they said they would send maintenance down. After 30 min. of not seeing any maint. guy we called again, but to no avail. Finally, we had to speak with a manager to get a maint. guy--so three calls to simply get a maintenance guy to fix a TV and room safe.

Then we went to the Beach Grill, one of the on-site restaurants at the hotel. They do not allow you to charge the bill--I suppose hoping that if it is billed to your room you will simply not think twice about how much you are charging up. It would be nice to have the option of paying off the bill and not having such a monster bill at the end. Nonetheless, at most of their restaurants service was extremely lousy and very slow. We ate at both the Beach Grill and Tom's Harbor. At Tom's Harbor we waited nearly a half hour simply to get our check.

Since your car is parked away you've to wait for their "island" tram to get everywhere. This thing is slow as heck and who wants to wait outside in 95 degree weather for a bus to get around?

If you want free breakfast look elsewhere. Sure you could get a free breakfast at a Motel 6 for a quarter of the price of Hawks Cay, but at Hawks Cay they charge you $19 simply for a buffet breakfast. In fact, a lot of things at the hotel are upcharges, such as just about all the water activities, swimming with the dolphins, bike rentals, etc. This place is hardly all-inclusive and you would think, at $300 a night plus a $30 whack on a bogus "resort fee," that these things would be included.

The final day we had to practically beg to get our checkout moved back just one hour. When I asked if they had our room rented out the next day they said no. So they were simply being jerks, and standing on ceremony to get us out. In fact, we received a note the previous night from the manager, a Mr. Singh, that checkout was at 11 and if people were not out there would be a 50% charge for the next day, and if guests were not out by 2PM we would be charged 100% for the next day. Seriously? In a $300/ night hotel they treat you worse than a foreclosure judge would.

The last straw happened the final day when we called to simply have our bags picked up and loaded into our car--supposed to be part of the service for the $30 daily resort fee. No one came...we called three more times and despite assurances from the front desk no one ever showed up.

In short, I will never stay there again! They've Ritz Carlton prices with service worse than the EconoLodge. There are plenty of other options nearby in Marathon and throughout the Florida Keys where you can get a lot more for your dollar and be treated with respect!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marc j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyDodson, Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write Trip Advisor and informing them of your most recent visit to Hawks Cay Resort. Unfortunately, your posting does not belong to KeysCaribbean Resorts Village at Hawks Cay Villas. Although we have many of the privately owned Villas at the Village at Hawks Cay in our rental program; you reserved your Villa rental directly with Hawks Cay Resort. Trip Advisor had previously been notified of their posting error to the wrong company, however, they were inclined to simply leave an erroneous negative posting on the wrong company. Quite frankly, we learn about many negative service encounters that guests booking directly with Hawks Cay Resort experience. The good news is that we are able to assist the dissatisfied guests from Hawks Cay Resort with a great return visit experience and rates of nearly 50% less than they paid to Hawks Cay Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed in a 2 bdrm condo, while my brother stayed in a 3 bdrm condo. The 2 bdrm was basic, but comfortable. The 3 bdrm felt a little more homey, with comfortable living room furniture. The kitchens could've used more serving bowls and platters (there were 10 of us between the two condos, and we had to serve dinner out of the pots and pans). The staff was very nice and helpful at all times. One night the garbage disposal broke, which made the kitchen sink not drain. Not only did they come right away, they worked on it until around 11pm, when they replaced the garbage disposal unit. The shuttle goes around every 15 minutes or so, and will drop you off in front of your room, not just at the main stops, if you ask them to. The lagoon and main pools are the right size if you have little kids, but kind of cramped and crowded if you have teenagers (teenage girls don't like to be splashed by little kids). They had activities for little kids, plus a center where they could do arts and crafts, play video games, etc. We rented our condo through Keys Caribbean vs Hawks Cay Resort, and it was a LOT cheaper for pretty much the same amenities (we didn't use all the amenities, so I don't know if we would've been turned away or not). All in all, it was a very nice vacation, and I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimmy2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

What an awesome place....if you rent directly through Hawks Cay resort you have FULL access to all ammenities, the pools the activities and restaurants. Its a great place for adults and kids. If you rent through someone on a site like VRBO.com, or a personally owned villa and not through the hotel you might save a few dollars on the nightly rate but you can't use the ammenities, does not seem worthwhile. It was not a large difference and we enjoyed every minute. Thevilla we rented was spacious and the furniture and location were all walking distance to everything on property....Call Hawks Cay today to book a reservation.

Room Tip: Sunset Village is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

We lived our villa, but our favorite thing about staying in Sunset Village was the Sunset pool, which was open to ky Sunset Villge guests. Because of this, it was more private and quiet than the other pools. Also know that each resident has something different in the backyard, be it the Sunset Pool, a tree and rope swing, a private pool, or some other view or activity.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addiemac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Nice two bedroom condo and a great value for Hawks Cay, You can't utilized any amenities of the resort so if you want that the the villas are not for you. The unit in farily good shape but lacked some of the basic necessities (i.e. hangers, salt and pepper, some kitchen ware). there was a great screened in proch for sitting in the evenings. Beds were not comfortable.Centrally located in the Keys.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
12.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
7.0 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
18.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
7.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
783 reviews
3.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean

Property: Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Address: 5001 Sunset Village Drive, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village At Hawks Cay Villas By Keys Caribbean Hotel Duck Key
Village At Hawks Cay Villas By Keys Caribbean Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing