We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thanksgiving”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Visited and it is a great family location with plenty of activities. It was not sunny while we were there but found plenty to do. Restaurants were good and had nice wine lists. Very happy with our choice and our time there. Nice location to easily drive to other keys to sample more than where we were.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lazybones0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
It's wonderful to see that you were happy with so many aspects of our resort. Thank you for choosing to spend Thanksgiving at the Hawks Cay Resort. Even under cloudy skies, there is plenty to see and do. We are delighted that you discovered the many great activities around our resort and we hope you'll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,029
    1,377
    693
    366
    249
See reviews for
2,427
1,268
31
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spend every Thanksgiving in Duck Key and spend a lot of time at the resort. We love our tiki bar bartenders Mike and Jass, they remembered our drinks and us every visit. This was impressive as they see hundreds of faces everyday. Can't wait to get back there and have them pour us another, good team. Special shout to Rupert the pool server!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlombardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We can't thank you enough for your kind recognition of our staff. We will certainly pass along your warm remarks to our Tiki Bar staff so they know just how much their efforts are appreciated. It is always a pleasure to welcome you to our Hawks Cay Resort for the Thanksgiving holiday and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My family and I just returned from Hawk’s Cay (2 adults, 10/3 boys Tuesday-Tuesday) and I wanted to share my thoughts while they’re still fresh. Sorry for the rambling but I know what I like to know when reading a review.

Room:

The room (we had an island view with two double beds) was large enough for two adults, a 10 and three year old boy. There is a small patio with a bistro table and two chairs. I do wish that they cleaned the patio between guests. The floor was sticky and the table looked like juice had been poured over it and was never wiped up. You get a small fridge in the room which is nice because drinks on the resort are a little on the spendy side. The bathroom was huge; there is a large walk-in shower with a bench, big enough to share if you are so inclined. It has a single sink with a very large vanity with plenty of storage space for all of your toiletries. On one wall there are hooks and shelf for hanging your wet bathing suits or towels – very handy. Overall the room is what you should expect at this price point. Maid service was good but we usually didn’t have a clean room before 5pm any day. This had its pluses and minuses but I know this will be something that may upset some people. One issue we did have was having only two bath towels when we got there; there were no hand towels or washcloths. Once we called maid service to have that rectified they took care of it quickly though.

Resort:

The resort is pretty expansive and has several pools, marina, restaurants, general store, etc. Having a little one we spent a ton of our time at the Indies Center which includes a kiddie wadding area complete with pirate ship and is close to a much larger pool. The kiddie pool was a hit with our son and he spent a ton of time playing pirate on the high seas. The large pool that is right next door was a hidden gem for us. While the main pool is filled to capacity this pool hardly had more than a handful of people there – and there are cabanas so if you don’t want to be in the sun you could easily find shade. There is a small grill (Indie’s Grill I believe) located right by the pirate ship, service was good, bring a lot of money because their standard island cocktail will set you back $10-$15 and food starts around $10 on the kid’s menu.
If you are into the hustle and bustle then the main pool is where you’ll want to set up shop. This place, even on the few days with bad weather was packed to capacity. We hung out here for a bit but found space and service from the waiters was not what we expected. If you are here during a busy time prepare to scrounge for an open seat and hunt down a waiter or wait in a long bar line to get service. Again, the food and drinks are okay but very much on the expensive side.

The marina is a marina, so if you don’t have a boat or haven’t booked a water activity you probably won’t venture there. They do have a general store, I’m not a boater so I don’t know how marina stores usually work but don’t expect to get any great deals. We bought a half gallon of milk, a Vitamin Water, and a pack of Tic-Tac’s and paid nearly $10. We had scheduled a sunset sail and the people at the booth were helpful and very nice. Unfortunately the weather didn’t cooperate so the sail was canceled.

Overall the resort is very nice and offers a ton of activities to satisfy everyone in your party.

Food:

As I’ve posted above the food and drinks are pretty pricey – something you should generally expect when going to a resort like this. We ate dinner at Ocean on our first and last night at the resort. Outside of those two times we had a few lunches by the pool but went out for all of our other meals. The first night we had their buffet, for three people (the three year old was free) it was $86 including tip and a couple pops (no alcohol). The food was okay but not what I felt was a reasonable quality for the price. Also, the pizza, chicken tenders, and tortillas were constantly being all taken and the refills were slow at best. On our last night we didn’t feel like driving to another restaurant so had dinner here again. We had a burger and I think a fish sandwich, they were okay but nothing to write home about. If you don’t want to spend an arm and a leg and/or want some variety prepare to drive 10 miles in either direction for some good eats.

We would definitely consider going back to Hawk’s Cay in the future but it isn’t a top resort on our list. I would probably rate the resort a 3.5 but that isn't an option.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a water view, the island view offers a lovely look at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent getaway at the Hawks Cay Resort. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your family for the Thanksgiving holiday and we appreciate that you've provided a detailed review for our future guests. It's always wonderful to learn how our guests choose to spend their time here though we do regret if any area of your visit fell below expectations. Thank you for sharing your suggestions and feedback and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our family of 5 (2 kids - 8 and 6, mom and dad and grandma) spent 3 nights over Thanksgiving and were generally pleased with our stay - the resort is not 5 star and not perfect but the positives definitely outweighed the negatives for our family.

First, we found what I thought to be a great rate for the Sunset Villas - the resort matched a third party rate I found online with no issues. We reserved a 2 bedroom 1.5 bath townhouse. The resort itself is very cute - the grounds are well maintained and the building exteriors appear well maintained. Upon closer inspection, however, there is deferred maintenance (can really only speak to our townhouse but I suspect many units could use some attention).

The good - the water view from our unit was terrific - we had 2 spacious porches (upper and lower) with plenty of grassy area between the unit and the water for the kids to play on the well kept lawn. The bedding in the 2 bedrooms was high quality - clean and comfortable. We had to request bedding for the pull out sofa which came promptly. The TV in the main room was large and new looking, decent TVs in both bedrooms. All the sliders had screens so we could enjoy the view and breeze. The Sunset Villas were well located for us - easily walking distance to everything - we took the shuttle when it was convenient but thought the walk was reasonable. We were close to the kids area, which was great - more on that later.

The downside of the townhouse was the cleanliness and overall condition - many of the drawers were broken - either off track or just broken. The kitchen cabinets had spilled food on them that hadn't been cleaned. The drawers and cabinets had crumbs, etc in them. The tiles throughout the lower level were cracked in a number of places. The furniture somewhat worn. The towel racks in the bathrooms loose. We had to call maintenance a few times our first night to correct several issues - the blinds wouldn't open in one case (in the main bedroom - we definitely wanted natural light in that room and the view was great - we didn't bother with the horizontal blinds that wouldn't open). There was something funky with the electric and the lights would blink on and off (not all but in the kitchen area - it was odd). The shower was broken (it wouldn't turn on) - maintenance came out in a reasonable timeframe to correct all of the issues that were correctable quickly. The carpet was stained in several places. The railing on the front porch was separated at one joint (very obvious but not a safety issue). Some tissues were under the bed that didn't belong to us....random refrigerator drawers and shelves on top of fridge (that was odd).

Service was mixed - we had poor service at the pool / bar on the day of our arrival - it was quite busy and only 2 servers seemed to be servicing the pool and bar table area. Food and drink was costly, as expected and not unlike any other resort of this type. We had thanksgiving dinner at Ocean and the food and buffet was mediocre at best - the service at that meal was great, however - it was just not very good (and expensive, particularly for small children). Also, I had called to ask if jackets were required for men and was told no, it was resort casual. What I didn't realize is that it was beach casual - we would have preferred not to have the holiday meal in an atmosphere where many folks were wearing swim cover ups. They had a more formal meal offering at Alma and we were not informed of that, which was annoying (there would have been reservations available if we had been told of that option the day prior when we confirmed our reservation at Ocean). We did have a great lunch at Ocean later in the week - terrific food and service.

One final service note - when we arrived we had a table and 3 chairs on our porch - clearly the table was designed for 4 chairs. I called to request another chair (we had 4 registered guests) and were told that the furniture inclusions were at the discretion of the 'owner" of the unit. Had we rented with the owner of the unit that may have been understandable but we reserved from the hotel and expected 4 chairs - it was an odd response - I would assume that there are basic furnishing requirements for owners to follow....

So, I've given Hawk's Cay a very good rating, in spite of the issues detailed above - we had a great time and utilized the sports facilities for hours each day - we would have gone fishing but were too busy having fun with pick up soccer games, golfing, volleyball to have time. You can't help but meet quality families as you play on the sports fields at the Indies Club. We will go back for that but hope that the resort puts some time and resources into tightening up the room conditions and cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tampamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your family getaway at the Hawks Cay Resort. It was an honor to welcome you for the Thanksgiving holiday and we greatly appreciate your detailed review of your trip. We are glad to learn that the location of our Sunset Villas worked out so well for you and your family's needs. However, we are saddened to learn that your accommodations were not in their best condition upon your arrival and we truly regret any inconveniences that you encountered as a result. We apologize if your experience did not reflect the high standards of customer service that we've set for our resort and we will be passing your comments along to the appropriate department heads. We truly appreciate that you've directed us to the specific areas that may need improving and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and two children (10 and 8) spent 5 nights over Thanksgiving at Hawks Cay. We got a great room right in front of the main room. Our room was great (included a small fridge and safe) as well as an updated large bathroom with a glass walk in shower. The weather was a bit on the chilli side for a few days but the pool was warm and the kids loved it. Our kids also enjoyed the kids area and kids camp. They were a bit disappointed that the camp didn't include a trip to the lagoon for snorkling or kayaking. All in all they were thrilled though. We found the employees to be friendly and helpful during our entire stay.
We would change only two things if we ran the resort. First, the drink prices are way to high and the bars were a quarter filled and we heard people complaining the entire week about this issue. Second, the food at the buffet was average at best and too expensive for the quality you are providing! (great pizza though!) The beach grill was very good and again the workers were wonderful. Overall we enjoyed ourselves and will be back! - Work on the the Ocean Restaurnant food quality though!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We are honored that you and your family chose to celebrate Thanksgiving at the Hawks Cay Resort. We especially appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding our bar drinks and food quality. We are always looking for new ways to improve our guests’ experience and we are truly grateful for the level of detail that you've provided in your review. It is wonderful to read that your children enjoyed our pool and Camp Hawk and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dartford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent 2 nights here in October 2013 during a fly drive to the keys and the gulf coast. It was a rest stop for us after a busy week in Miami and Key West.
The Hotel is a great blend of luxury, comfort and has wonderful, friendly staff. We stayed in the main hotel in a room on the top floor over looking the quiet pool. It was the best room of the holiday with a great bed, huge shower, comfy chairs and lovely toiletries. Our balcony was up in the leaves of the palm trees with views of the lagoon.
We ate 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners at the restaurant which were all of great quality. Relaxing by the fire pit after dinner in the warm dark evenings was a brilliant experience.
This short stay did exactly what we wanted which was give a luxury break mid way through a busy 2 week holiday and we would love to return there if we ever get the chance to visit the Keys again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are happy that we had the opportunity to accommodate you during your travels. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our accommodations and amenities. It seems like you were able to enjoy quite a bit during your two-day stay. Relaxing by our fire pit after dinner sounds like the perfect way to end the day! We greatly appreciate your warm remarks and we hope you'll have the chance to visit the Hawks Cay Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My family just finished a three night stay at the sunset villas and it was exactly what we needed before the holidays.

The villas was away from the hustle and bustle of the resort. It was quiet and tranquil. We practically had the villa pool to ourselves.

The staff was friendly and accommodating especially the shuttle staff.

We went to the lobby a few times to enjoy the fire pit and see the dolphins.

It was a great stay and if we can the same rate next year we definitely be back! We'd love to make this an annual visit right before the holidays.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cwilsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We would love to welcome you back each year! Thank you for sharing your beautiful review regarding your recent three-night family getaway at the Hawks Cay Resort. It was a true pleasure to welcome you and your family for a peaceful visit right before the holidays. We are happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,311 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing