We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome resort”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent 6 nights at Hawks Cay. We stayed on our bait at the marina so I cannot comment on the rooms. The pools are beautiful, beach bar is excellent, gorgeous views . The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. My favorite bartender of all times is Cheryll. She is so nice you must go to Alma's bar just to see Cheryll

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marcopeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We couldn't be more pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hawks Cay Resort Marina. Your kind words for our bartender are very much appreciated and we will share your comments with her. It was wonderful to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next voyage to the Florida Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,029
    1,377
    693
    366
    249
See reviews for
2,427
1,268
31
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We've found 5 cockroaches & big ones. There is a lot of dust everywhere and it is very dirty the walls have black dirty spots. Overall, didn't like it because I despise staying in a hotel with bugs like that... Horrible.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaysas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We care deeply about every guest’s feedback and appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. At our resort we have very stringent inspection guidelines in place to ensure that all of our guest rooms are kept at their best. Any claims about insects we take very seriously and we continually work to control insects in and around our resort. However, like all businesses and residences located in the Keys, there is a certain amount that is beyond our control. We apologize that you encountered some of our Florida Key native insects and we hope that you’ll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hialeah Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My family and I arrive at the hotel, excited to spend the weekend. Beautiful lobby, pools, etc. We arrive to our room to find 4 cockroaches on the first night, bathrooms, rooms, under the sink! We called the lobby to complain and they claimed that they were cockroaches from the city. Whether they're from the city or the state, they're cockroaches and they're disgusting. Not only did we encounter large cockroaches but we also walked in to a dusty room with a messed up uncomfortable couch. As well as those inconveniences, the internet router is not 10 feet away from me and there is horrible signal, no service inside the resort. About 900 a night for this service and untidiness. Not what I expected.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank xkarlax0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to alert us to your experience at our resort. We take all pest claims very seriously and have very stringent inspection guidelines in place to ensure all rooms are kept at their best. As much as we work to control insects in and around the resort; there is a certain amount that is beyond our control, and that is true for every business and residence in the area. I apologize that you encountered some of our Florida Keys native insects and we will certainly continue our diligent efforts to control them. We appreciate your review and we hope to one day have the opportunity to welcome you back for a stay that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family and I have been spending our summer vacations here the past 4 years. Hawks Cay is one of the best places you can stay in the keys. Is it expensive? A little, but its a vacation with great amenities- unlike most other places in the keys. And, if they do have a beach or anything else thats similar, its much more expensive. We usually go off site for dinner to places we have found over the years that we love. Bring snacks and drinks because that can add up fast.

Most of these negative reviews are on the privately owned villas. Do some research people, and if you don't, don't be surprised when it doesn't meet your expectations. We have always stayed in the hotel which has always met or exceeded our expectations. Anyone who has stayed at a resort, knows cash is never accepted. Period. If your vacationing in March at a family resort, what do you expect to happen when its spring break?!? Kids! Lots and lots of them!! Again, do some research.

Sorry to rant, but I hate to see such reviews of a place that is truly paradise without having to leave the states.

See you in July :))

Room Tip: if staying in a villa, ask for pictures before you commit, otherwise stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are happy you had the opportunity to stay with us many times and thank you for your feedback. The greatest compliment we could receive is that a guest decides to return based on what we feel are our resort’s highlights. We can’t thank you enough for your detailed review and recommendation. Your loyalty is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hawks Cay Resort in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and decided to stay at Hawks Cay. Amazing is an understatement!! The staff couldn't have been any friendlier, from the housekeepers to the valet guys to the front desk, every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly and welcoming. The room was great, beds were comfortable, and the food we had poolside from the Beach Grille was really good. (Hint: get the fish tacos!) Loved this resort and we are already looking at schedules for this summer to get back down there!!

Room Tip: We had a standard room on the second floor and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Happy 10th Anniversary! We are very honored that you and your wife choose to spend your anniversary here at the Hawks Cay Resort. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our quality service and our delicious fish tacos from our Beach Grill. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back on your next trip to the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here on a business trip. They over booked the rooms so when we arrived they asked if we would mind being in a Villa for the same price... It was wonderful. My only complaint was that the bed was uncomfortable and squeaky. The rest of the place was fantastic. Our villa had two bedrooms, a kitchen, living room and two balconies. I was here with my son, so that worked out well. Only wish my whole family was with us!

I will comment that the others in our group who were in hotel rooms were not quite as satisfied. They had a number of issues. To give the hotel credit they were very responsive and solved the problems quickly.

We were only there for the weekend, but the sunset views out our balcony were amazing.

Room Tip: Their villas a perfect for a family. Ask for those nearest the hotel if you want to be near the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We couldn't be more pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hawks Cay Resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. We always love to learn when a guest enjoys their stay and we hope you have the chance to come back with the rest of your family as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had one of the Sunset Village Villas , 2 bed and it was great ! If it wasn't for the fact I lived 4000 miles away I would have bought a holiday home here ! The sunsets were great . The food in the restaurant was excellent . The Sunset Cruise was enjoyable.. The Alma restaurant is ok but there is nothing like eating outside in the beach Grille , overlooking the canal , watching the world go by... Fighting off the seagulls though :) There is a Land Train that can take you from the villas to the Pool and restaurants if you don't fancy a walk. The Cycle hire is a must to explore the rest of the Cay . The Segway tour is also a bit of fun ....... I would revisit at the drop of a hat !

Room Tip: Sunset Villas are great with the self catering option. Plenty of Pools to choose from . Just relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETERLEWIS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
It sounds like you had a great time during your visit to the Hawks Cay Resort and it truly makes us happy to read a review like yours as this is the experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. Thank you for sharing your experiences and photos with us. We look forward to sharing them with our team. It was great to have you stay with us and we hope that you have the opportunity to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,312 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Preferred Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing