We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawks Cay Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$158
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
US$219
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$213
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,860)
Filter reviews
4,860 results
Traveller rating
2,088
1,419
718
378
257
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,088
1,419
718
378
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin experiencemain poolbeach grillsunset villagepirate shiptranquility poolocean restaurantkids clubsalt water lagoonfire pitlagoon areaadult poolswimming with the dolphinsthe main hotelbedroom villakey westfamily pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,204 - 2,209 of 4,860 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just spent 6 nights at Hawks Cay. We stayed on our bait at the marina so I cannot comment on the rooms. The pools are beautiful, beach bar is excellent, gorgeous views . The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. My favorite bartender of all times is Cheryll. She is so nice you must go to Alma's bar just to see Cheryll

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Marcopeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We couldn't be more pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hawks Cay Resort Marina. Your kind words for our bartender are very much appreciated and we will share your comments with her. It was wonderful to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next voyage to the Florida Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We've found 5 cockroaches & big ones. There is a lot of dust everywhere and it is very dirty the walls have black dirty spots. Overall, didn't like it because I despise staying in a hotel with bugs like that... Horrible.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaysas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We care deeply about every guest’s feedback and appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. At our resort we have very stringent inspection guidelines in place to ensure that all of our guest rooms are kept at their best. Any claims about insects we take very seriously and we continually work to control insects in and around our resort. However, like all businesses and residences located in the Keys, there is a certain amount that is beyond our control. We apologize that you encountered some of our Florida Key native insects and we hope that you’ll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My family and I arrive at the hotel, excited to spend the weekend. Beautiful lobby, pools, etc. We arrive to our room to find 4 cockroaches on the first night, bathrooms, rooms, under the sink! We called the lobby to complain and they claimed that they were cockroaches from the city. Whether they're from the city or the state, they're cockroaches and they're disgusting. Not only did we encounter large cockroaches but we also walked in to a dusty room with a messed up uncomfortable couch. As well as those inconveniences, the internet router is not 10 feet away from me and there is horrible signal, no service inside the resort. About 900 a night for this service and untidiness. Not what I expected.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank xkarlax0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to alert us to your experience at our resort. We take all pest claims very seriously and have very stringent inspection guidelines in place to ensure all rooms are kept at their best. As much as we work to control insects in and around the resort; there is a certain amount that is beyond our control, and that is true for every business and residence in the area. I apologize that you encountered some of our Florida Keys native insects and we will certainly continue our diligent efforts to control them. We appreciate your review and we hope to one day have the opportunity to welcome you back for a stay that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family and I have been spending our summer vacations here the past 4 years. Hawks Cay is one of the best places you can stay in the keys. Is it expensive? A little, but its a vacation with great amenities- unlike most other places in the keys. And, if they do have a beach or anything else thats similar, its much more expensive. We usually go off site for dinner to places we have found over the years that we love. Bring snacks and drinks because that can add up fast.

Most of these negative reviews are on the privately owned villas. Do some research people, and if you don't, don't be surprised when it doesn't meet your expectations. We have always stayed in the hotel which has always met or exceeded our expectations. Anyone who has stayed at a resort, knows cash is never accepted. Period. If your vacationing in March at a family resort, what do you expect to happen when its spring break?!? Kids! Lots and lots of them!! Again, do some research.

Sorry to rant, but I hate to see such reviews of a place that is truly paradise without having to leave the states.

See you in July :))

Room Tip: if staying in a villa, ask for pictures before you commit, otherwise stay in the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are happy you had the opportunity to stay with us many times and thank you for your feedback. The greatest compliment we could receive is that a guest decides to return based on what we feel are our resort’s highlights. We can’t thank you enough for your detailed review and recommendation. Your loyalty is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hawks Cay Resort in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and decided to stay at Hawks Cay. Amazing is an understatement!! The staff couldn't have been any friendlier, from the housekeepers to the valet guys to the front desk, every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly and welcoming. The room was great, beds were comfortable, and the food we had poolside from the Beach Grille was really good. (Hint: get the fish tacos!) Loved this resort and we are already looking at schedules for this summer to get back down there!!

Room Tip: We had a standard room on the second floor and it was fine
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Happy 10th Anniversary! We are very honored that you and your wife choose to spend your anniversary here at the Hawks Cay Resort. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our quality service and our delicious fish tacos from our Beach Grill. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back on your next trip to the Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews