We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Mothers day weekend getaway”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I decided last minute to take our parents and my sisters and kids to celebrate Mothers Day Weekend. Since we had some elders and Kids this was the perfect place. Not too congested nor loud. It was just right. We were a large group so we stayed in the Sanctuary Private Villa Section where everything was still in walking distance.Villa was clean, very good condition. There was much to do : we did bicycle riding, kayaking, swam in the lagoon where we sun bathed and lounged on our floaters and road the jet ski ( we brought out own jet ski and were able to keep it at Marina so we had it ready to just get on and ride out) Villa was beautiful, we saved money by stocking up our frig and cooking. Resort had a kids camp and multiple pools to choose from. Beautiful Lush sights ad incredible clean clear blue/green water. Dolphin excursion was better here then at Seaworld. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Resort accommodated a late check out since we were many and had an elder.
We would definitely return and recommend to our family and friends

Room Tip: Villa in the Sanctuary section has private pool. Own parking area. FULL KITCHEN
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessIcaPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend Mother’s Day weekend with us. It was wonderful to have you and your family here and your kind comments about our staff and resort are very much appreciated as this is the experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. We are delighted that you and your family had the opportunity to enjoy many of our amenities including our very popular Dolphin Connection Experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,189 - 2,195 of 4,848 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently had a mini family reunion here so we all stayed at different accommodations at the resort. Our hotel room was acceptable nice walk in shower but the beds were so high up that is was extremely difficult to get into them. I do not know what they were thinking when they put that high of a bed in the room but I would have to bring a step stool back to climb in comfortably . They have several pools and if you are traveling with children they will delight at the pirates pool. I found the on ground activities...ie : renting bikes , ten dollars an hour to be extremely price prohibitive. They charge a 29.00 fee per day per room and that covers parking, wifi etc....but no activities. My NEICE rented a house which came with 3 bedrooms, 2 baths and it's own splash pool. The house was nice but beware only one bedroom downstairs and all the rest is on the second floor. If you have seniors who find steps difficult take this into consideration when assigning bedrooms. The furnishings were sparse , needed to be upgraded but it was a greet meeting place and we used it not to have to go out for every meal. Since we had a kitchen we made lunches and a couple of other meals at the house. My nephews rented a villa and their concern again were the furnishings. The one bedroom had no nightstands just a bed and a small dresser with a tv on it that had no remote control. We are not sure if people own these and rent them out but they need to re-do the rooms as the prices are not cheap and you do expect to have a place to put a lamp and perhaps your iPad near your bed. We did eat lunch and breakfast at the resort and again expect to pay resort pricing. The food was good, breakfast a nice buffet, lunch off a menu but nothing great just ok and resort pricing. I would suggest since you are so close to marathon explore the wonderful surrounding restaurants that gave great food and a wonderful location to watch the sunset. We tried several if these and we're quite pleased....so venture out of the resort for meals. They do have a huge fire pit lit at night with music so go back grab a cocktail and enjoy.......I feel they are trying to upgrade the resort slowly and we all had a great time. They have a ways to go but for accommodations in the Fl Keys this is about par for the course. We have been to many places in the Keys and unless you stay at true 5 star places in Key West this is what we have come to expect. I do hear at Christmas they gave a wonderful light display . We would go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask how high the beds are......no joke you need to jump into them.....also ask for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We are honored that you and your family choose to spend your family reunion here at the Hawks Cay Resort. It seems like you really made the most of your stay and it was our pleasure to accommodate you. Your comments regarding the height of our guest room beds have been forwarded to our management team so that they can be addressed. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just spent 6 nights at Hawks Cay. We stayed on our bait at the marina so I cannot comment on the rooms. The pools are beautiful, beach bar is excellent, gorgeous views . The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. My favorite bartender of all times is Cheryll. She is so nice you must go to Alma's bar just to see Cheryll

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Marcopeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We couldn't be more pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hawks Cay Resort Marina. Your kind words for our bartender are very much appreciated and we will share your comments with her. It was wonderful to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next voyage to the Florida Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We've found 5 cockroaches & big ones. There is a lot of dust everywhere and it is very dirty the walls have black dirty spots. Overall, didn't like it because I despise staying in a hotel with bugs like that... Horrible.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaysas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We care deeply about every guest’s feedback and appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. At our resort we have very stringent inspection guidelines in place to ensure that all of our guest rooms are kept at their best. Any claims about insects we take very seriously and we continually work to control insects in and around our resort. However, like all businesses and residences located in the Keys, there is a certain amount that is beyond our control. We apologize that you encountered some of our Florida Key native insects and we hope that you’ll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My family and I arrive at the hotel, excited to spend the weekend. Beautiful lobby, pools, etc. We arrive to our room to find 4 cockroaches on the first night, bathrooms, rooms, under the sink! We called the lobby to complain and they claimed that they were cockroaches from the city. Whether they're from the city or the state, they're cockroaches and they're disgusting. Not only did we encounter large cockroaches but we also walked in to a dusty room with a messed up uncomfortable couch. As well as those inconveniences, the internet router is not 10 feet away from me and there is horrible signal, no service inside the resort. About 900 a night for this service and untidiness. Not what I expected.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank xkarlax0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to alert us to your experience at our resort. We take all pest claims very seriously and have very stringent inspection guidelines in place to ensure all rooms are kept at their best. As much as we work to control insects in and around the resort; there is a certain amount that is beyond our control, and that is true for every business and residence in the area. I apologize that you encountered some of our Florida Keys native insects and we will certainly continue our diligent efforts to control them. We appreciate your review and we hope to one day have the opportunity to welcome you back for a stay that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family and I have been spending our summer vacations here the past 4 years. Hawks Cay is one of the best places you can stay in the keys. Is it expensive? A little, but its a vacation with great amenities- unlike most other places in the keys. And, if they do have a beach or anything else thats similar, its much more expensive. We usually go off site for dinner to places we have found over the years that we love. Bring snacks and drinks because that can add up fast.

Most of these negative reviews are on the privately owned villas. Do some research people, and if you don't, don't be surprised when it doesn't meet your expectations. We have always stayed in the hotel which has always met or exceeded our expectations. Anyone who has stayed at a resort, knows cash is never accepted. Period. If your vacationing in March at a family resort, what do you expect to happen when its spring break?!? Kids! Lots and lots of them!! Again, do some research.

Sorry to rant, but I hate to see such reviews of a place that is truly paradise without having to leave the states.

See you in July :))

Room Tip: if staying in a villa, ask for pictures before you commit, otherwise stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are happy you had the opportunity to stay with us many times and thank you for your feedback. The greatest compliment we could receive is that a guest decides to return based on what we feel are our resort’s highlights. We can’t thank you enough for your detailed review and recommendation. Your loyalty is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hawks Cay Resort in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and decided to stay at Hawks Cay. Amazing is an understatement!! The staff couldn't have been any friendlier, from the housekeepers to the valet guys to the front desk, every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly and welcoming. The room was great, beds were comfortable, and the food we had poolside from the Beach Grille was really good. (Hint: get the fish tacos!) Loved this resort and we are already looking at schedules for this summer to get back down there!!

Room Tip: We had a standard room on the second floor and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Happy 10th Anniversary! We are very honored that you and your wife choose to spend your anniversary here at the Hawks Cay Resort. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our quality service and our delicious fish tacos from our Beach Grill. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back on your next trip to the Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
19.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range: £166 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing