We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill fast.”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going downhill fast.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Started going to Hawks Cay 5 years ago. Service, accommodations,etc. Were great.
Now....forget it. Most of service staff appear as if they've had a pay cut. Last two times we were there.....non working fridge ....no internet...broken television.
Will not return there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments in regards to your stay at our resort. We greatly appreciate your honest and valuable feedback that you've shared with us and regret if any area of your stay fell short of your expectations. Your review of our resort and staff has been addressed with our management team and we do apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We hope one day to welcome you back and provide you with an experience that exceeds all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,029
    1,377
    693
    366
    249
See reviews for
2,427
1,268
31
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at the resort over 9/11 weekend and was part of the Heroes Welcome. Awesome tribute, great people, wonderful food and drinks, and very serene. I would definitely recommend staying here for whatever your vacation needs are.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLlover_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
The greatest compliment we could receive is that a guest would recommend our resort based on what we feel are the highlights of staying at the Hawks Cay Resort. It’s always our pleasure to provide all of our guests with exceptional service, comfortable accommodations and a variety of great amenities to ensure their stay with us is memorable. We can’t thank you enough for your review and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A travel agent friend recommended this resort. We had never heard of Hawks Cay Resort. My husband and I were looking for a place to go to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. We found the resort to be awesome. The friendly staff, food, activities, relaxation poolside and of course the spa treatments. We stayed in a waterview King. We loved the room and it was very clean. The rate that we had was 4th night free including breakfast. There is a lot to do, and it was not over crowded. Plenty of room to relax by the pool or lagoon area. Loved all the palmtrees. The landscaping and the grounds were all kept neat and clean. We had a couples massage that was soo relaxing. Hawks has a tram that makes several stops around the resort, and they have valet parking. We ate most of our meals at the resort. There is a dolphin experience there too. You can just watch or take part in feeding and swimming with the dolphins. There are fees for some of it. They do not offer all inclusive rates. The food is priced for a resort. We did have our Anniversary dinner at Alma their upscale restaurant.We got to experience parasailing for the first time too. My husband and I had the absolute best time there. Sooo glad we stayed there and we would definately go back.

Room Tip: Our room was a king water view over looking the adult pool. Keep checking the rates for a good one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Happy 30th Anniversary! It was a true honor to accommodate you and your husband for your anniversary here at the Hawks Cay Resort. Our goal is to provide a positive experience for all of our guests and we are delighted that our resort left you with such a wonderful first impression. We are happy to learn that you and your husband had the opportunity to enjoy many of our on-site amenities like our Calm Waters Spa and Dolphin Connection. Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you both back on your next trip to the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our our trip through the Keys, we stopped at several resorts and for lack of better terms, "crashed" them to see which ones we liked best. Hawk's Cay was fabulous. Their outdoor area is second to NO OTHER PROPERTY IN THE KEYS.

Where to start...

The pools were large, warm and not overly busy. The frozen drinks were the best we had ever had. If you are of age, don't miss the Key Lime-colada, Banana-colada or the Rasberry Lemonade (in that particular order). A bit spendy at $14-$16 per drink, but they are large and not skimpy on the right ingredients. We crashed this place twice and had appetizers each time - calamari and chips/salsa. The lightly breaded calamari was some of the best we had in the Keys.

The Lagoon is Ahhhhhh-mazing, although the sandy surrounding is not great sand but rather gritty and sharp. There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas for laying out. We saw many families where the parent were laying out while the kids played in the lagoon - which looked ideal if your children can swim. The lagoon is quite deep though.

They have "swim with the dolphins" onsite as well as deep sea fishing charters. There is a high end restaurant (which we did not try) which had a very traditional seafood/steakhouse menu.

After crashing five different resorts on our drive, this is the one we will come back and stay at on our next trip tot he Keys.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
It sounds like you had a great time on your visit to the Florida Keys and it truly makes us happy to read a review like yours as this is the experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to having you stay at the Hawks Cay Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

stayed here previously as a guest of a family get together...i thought the rooms were dated and not super clean for the price..just found out the wife is surprising me with a trip there next month..hope they have inproved!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions of our resort. We will share your comments with our team as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience of our future guests. As updates are ongoing throughout our resort, we’re excited to welcome you next month and hope you notice a difference. We look forward to seeing you and your wife on your next trip to the Florida Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hawks Cay probably isn't for everyone but it was great for us. Five adults and one 10-month-old stayed 6 nights in Hawks Cay's Harbor Village. We had a 3-bedroom, 3-bath unit which was the perfect size for all of us. We enjoyed having the dock right outside our back door for fishing and we loved the view. Customer service was good and being the off-season, the facilities were not crowded. We complained that the ceiling fan was not working in the master bedroom and we were offered a credit and the fan was replaced with a new one. The grounds were beautiful and well-groomed. The lagoon and Pirate Ship pool were great for the little one. Yes, the furnishings and decor were dated, but it looks as though efforts are being made to update. Our unit had modern appliances and countertops. It looked like the bathroom faucets were fairly new. The paint also appeared to be fairly fresh in nice colors. Our only real complaint is that the floors were filthy and the upholstery could use a good cleaning. The housekeeping staff mopped the floors and they were better after that but the floors are made of a textured ceramic tile and one could see that there was grunge filling all the little pits and crevices. A simple mopping isn't enough. They need a good scrubbing or steam cleaning. All that being said, we would come back without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review and photo of your recent visit with us. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Hawks Cay Resort as well as our gorgeous location and friendly staff. Your feedback about the floors in your villa has been addressed with our management team and we do apologize for any disappointments this may have caused you. We will be undergoing updates to our resort in the coming months and we’re looking forward to welcoming you back in the future when all of our updates are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stopped in for a 3 night stay on our way from Miami to Key West. Check-in was quick and painless and we were pleased to get a free upgrade in room. Resort is in a beautiful location and the 3 bedroom townhome on the canal was nice and clean (One toilet was not functioning which required 2 visits to the front desk). The pools were great and we enjoyed drinks by the fire pit at night. A wedding party had booked up the sunset cruise all 3 nights but thankfully we had plenty of time in Key West. We were extremely disappointed by the level of attentiveness from the service staff and I am quite surprised to read other comments complimenting them. There does not appear to be a culture that promotes customer service. We waited over an hour for our dinner and a couple times at the bar service was poor to say the least, and not because they were overly busy. Almost seemed as if it was a nuisance to have to serve. Also, the food was average at best. I recommend making the 15 minute drive into town for meals. Pick any place and you will be happier than with the resort food. I will not return since I feel I should receive much greater value for the investment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. Although we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful location, we do regret to learn of your interaction with some of our staff members. We are committed to providing our guests with superior service to ensure that their visit is the best it can be and we truly apologize for any inconveniences. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back and to go above and beyond your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,311 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing