We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent three days here during a trip to the Keys. I can't find a bad thing to say about the entire experience. The resort was lovely, rooms were comfy and super clean. Pool area and lagoon were very relaxing and I love that they have a separate pool for adults. The resort is family friendly and if you need quiet time, the adult pool is the place to be. My husband loved the lagoon. We had breakfast included in our package and I must say it was very good every morning. I think it was a little pricey if not in the package.

Room Tip: We had a room on the opposite side of the inlet. Still lovely,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
It was great to have you and your husband here and we thank you for your kind comments. We are happy you were able to experience so much while here, including our refreshing pools and lagoon. Our resort offers guests the chance to try a variety of food options and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,074
    1,394
    708
    377
    253
See reviews for
2,490
1,282
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Came for a short visit with my husband, and 2 year old. The resort was lovely! We arrived late at night, but we booked very quickly and got to our room. Beds were super comfy! We loved the pool area and the lagoon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelluv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and comfort of our resort. We always love to learn when a guest enjoys their stay and we hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Hawks Cay Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruit Cove, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As a life long Floridian I have spent hundreds of weeks in the Keys either vacationing or working over the past 50 years. I have had the opportunity to stay multiple times in the many so called resorts in the upper, lower, and middle Keys. Most of those resorts were nothing more than a motel with a swimming pool. Finding things to do in the Keys was up to you. For me that wasn't a problem, but for many visitors unfamiliar with the where's and how's of things to do in the Key's can become quickly bored. Hawks Cay could probably be the closest thing to a real resort you can find anywhere in the Keys. Hawks Cay provides daily and evening activities for the family, tennis courts, watersports activities, fishing, along with swimming pools, a saltwater lagoon, dolphin lagoon, with beautiful grounds and views. Hawks Cay is a great place to recommend to first time visitors, families with children, and to people that want to visit the Keys for atmosphere rather than being out on a boat all day. Hawks Cay does cost a little more, but could be worth it for those that want more than place to sleep and a parking lot.
The few negatives we experienced was television quality was poor. The on grounds restaurant prices were a little steep with a menu that lacked some of the local fare we look for when visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We can’t thank you enough for your detailed review and recommendation. The greatest compliment we could receive is that a guest would recommend our resort based on what we feel are the highlights of staying at the Hawks Cay Resort. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that you have the opportunity to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in the Premium Lanai Room. The accommodations were excellent. A/C was up to par for this room, comfortable bed with a separate sleeper sofa. Room had a mini-fridge for beverages. Just know, you can face either the Tranquility Pool (adult) or the Family Pool & Lagoon, so if you get one of these book the room where you want to face. While you have your own private deck, it is not super useful, as there is virtually no breeze on these decks, so you cannot stay long without having to cool off in the pool or your room. Overall the accommodations were quite good, but I would say it is quite pricey, at least the rate they gave us.

Restaurant Food quality was excellent both in OCEAN and ALMA. I would give OCEAN a low rating for atmosphere, as it seemed more like a cafeteria than a restaurant, but with restarurant pricing. We ate in ALMA and everything we had was outstanding, but again a bit pricey $45 for lobster, $36 for the beef short ribs. We also ate at the Poolside Grill and found the calamari and Fish Tacos both to be good, and I would say upscale for a patio/ocean bar. If you want to go offsite, you have at least a 12-15 minute drive to some good restaurants.

We did SCUBA with the dive shop, and I would rate that a 10 on the staff. We only dove once, on two shallow reef dives, so not sure what variety they provide with the dive sites. Again, the staff was outstanding.

Room Tip: Note: If you pick the Lanai Room, get the location that you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcchuck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are delighted you had the opportunity to stay at the Hawks Cay Resort. It was great to have you here and we thank you for your wonderful comments. Providing guests with great service and terrific accommodations are top priorities for us as we wish to create a memorable experience for everyone. We are happy hear that our professional dive team made such a memorable impression on your stay. The next time you are visiting the Keys, we hope that you will allow us the honor of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a villa... Perfect setting, with our boat docked out back. The resort is gorgeous, great atmosphere, lots to do. The lagoon pool was so fun... I just wish there was soft sand, it was very rocky. The food at the resort was amazing. The service was poor just because I felt the people who worked there were not very friendly. But overall it was a wonderful family vacation

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kariking14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
It is wonderful to learn you enjoyed your stay at the Hawks Cay Resort as well as our gorgeous location and restaurants. We do regret any difficulties you encountered with our restaurant staff and will share your feedback with our management team. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

trying to figure out where to vacation this year and was nervous at first seeing the prices....
but once we booked it and got there-
everything was awesome from the booking experience where a gentleman named andy helped me till the minute we checked out
snorkel trip- lauren and mike .. the bomb!!!! girls jumped off boat- swam with a shark.. sweet
paddle boarding- the guys at check in were very safety cautious which we appreciated- the girls did that 2 times they had so much fun
my husband and i ate at ocean restaurant for dinner which was nice- a little Bahamian feel- lots of servers all over if you need anything.. the girls had dinner by the pool with tiki torches around them'' they loved it
so many things for the kids to do
people complaining about resort fees?? really ? read the black and white- it clearly as any resort does explain to you they will have them... have a stay at Disney and see how that feels..
tell the kids to bring skateboards, they can get around the entire place
so glad we did it..
just got back after a week and would go back tomorrow!!!!
she even showed up the morning of check in at 8am and used their facility till our villa was ready, their idea even... and they even said you can do it on check out day-- kinda get 2 more days
DO IT!!

Room Tip: stayed in the marina villas great views always boats coming and going ac worked great- entire vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
It is always wonderful to learn when a guest enjoys their time with us and we greatly appreciate your review. It seems like you and your family really made the most out of your getaway and we're glad that you chose the Hawks Cay Resort, as it was a pleasure to accommodate you. Thank you for kind recognition of our staff members and we hope you'll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Disappointed with the check in. We booked & prepaid for two premium Lanai rooms over two months ago.
We arrived early at 11.00 as we wanted to go around the pool until check in at 4pm ,we told the check in desk that we have arrived & ask them to ring us , if the rooms were ready early & left them our phone number & bags.
We didn't get a call , so we went to the check in desk to see what was happening.
We was told that we had two separate rooms in DIFFERENT buildings & not together.
I explained to the desk clerk, that we wished the rooms together as we were with our elderly parents from England & we wished the rooms together or in the same buildings as we booked two rooms at the same time & paid together ,so we assumed that they would be in the same building , so we could sit together on our lali in the day. But was told ,we didn't make a special request , we couldn't have it & all the other rooms were taken. I have traveled all over world & stayed in hundreds of top class hotels , and we have never had to make a special request before & two rooms have always been together. I explained to the desk clerk, what if children were staying in the other room surely you would not want them to be in a different building. The desk clerk went into the back office to speak to the manager , as we were very unhappy but the manager did not come out to see us , but sent a message saying the same thing & he said, "I don't know what you do in your country , when you book a hotel but you should of made a special request" , which I found very a offensive , about the 'YOUR COUNTRY' which I don't know what that had to do with anything. So I asked to see the manager as he wasn't going to come see us , now we were very unhappy & I was in tears. The manager came out & said the same thing , no apology or nothing , just that we could be put in a cheaper rooms with no Lanai .So we had to accept the rooms given as we had prepaid. We were told that one room was ready but the another room would be ready at check in time 4pm., they took our phone number again & ensured us that they would ring us.
So it got to 4.35 and no phone call , so back down to reception & we told the second room was ready now & they had forgot to call us !!! We could of being waiting all night for the call !!
The first room 3115 is really lovely & big with a walk-in shower right on the tranquillity pool but the second room 4110 is a lot smaller with just a shower in the bathtub & not on the pool but behind palm trees , so it's no way the same quality but the same price classed at premium rooms.
So I decided to book my hair in for a wash & blow dry at the Spa , but was told that the stylist was on holiday during my stay, so that was the end of that. So I put the shower on in room 3110 & tub was full of sand & black hairs.
We went to the sunset grill bar & sat at bar, the staff didn't ask us if we wanted a drink , we had to ask them to serve us. When we finished our drink , we awaited & waited but they seemed all they wanted to do is clean the bar , so they could finish up. So we had to ask again to be served plus the four people next to us were waiting too. Also I didn't like the fact that bar girl 'told me you should be using sun cream, you look burnt' we had only been here 7hrs & Im not impressed with the staff or service, I think they need some training in customer service. As in the past we stayed in Dubai, their hotels are 5 star & staff service is outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannelee711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
It is clear from your review that we missed an opportunity to create the experience you had expected of us. We do regret the difficulties and inconveniences you encountered during your stay and offer our most heartfelt apologies. While we understand your dissatisfaction during check in, there are times when we are unable to make a room change do to our occupancy. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are visiting the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,357 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing