We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Weekend”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The stay was great. My family got in a day before me but when I arrived I still was able to get a meal in the Bar area, there was a nice fire in the fire pit with a guiter player playing. We stay off the main hotel in a house, I would recomend a house. My In-laws stayed in the main hotel the rooms were large and good size bathroom. The house has it own pool. The kids have a wonderful play area with a boat and soccer field.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

At the Hawks Cay resort we offer many amenities for all ages to enjoy. It is gratifying to hear that you and your family had a great time at our resort as this is the experience we strive to provide. Thank you for your review and we hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,846)
There are newer reviews for Hawks Cay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,133 - 2,139 of 4,846 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

What used to be a great, quiet, clean, luxury getaway, has become the South Beach / Miami "want to be" location in the Keys.....blaring salsa music, and what seems like it caters to Miami folks only, has turned what used to be one of the best resorts in the Keys into Miami South

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snovello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your impressions of our resort. It is always our goal to create a wonderful stay for all of our guests and we regret that we did not accomplish this for you. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope that you will one day return so that we can provide you with the experience that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent three days here during a trip to the Keys. I can't find a bad thing to say about the entire experience. The resort was lovely, rooms were comfy and super clean. Pool area and lagoon were very relaxing and I love that they have a separate pool for adults. The resort is family friendly and if you need quiet time, the adult pool is the place to be. My husband loved the lagoon. We had breakfast included in our package and I must say it was very good every morning. I think it was a little pricey if not in the package.

Room Tip: We had a room on the opposite side of the inlet. Still lovely,
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

It was great to have you and your husband here and we thank you for your kind comments. We are happy you were able to experience so much while here, including our refreshing pools and lagoon. Our resort offers guests the chance to try a variety of food options and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Came for a short visit with my husband, and 2 year old. The resort was lovely! We arrived late at night, but we booked very quickly and got to our room. Beds were super comfy! We loved the pool area and the lagoon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelluv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review of your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and comfort of our resort. We always love to learn when a guest enjoys their stay and we hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Hawks Cay Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As a life long Floridian I have spent hundreds of weeks in the Keys either vacationing or working over the past 50 years. I have had the opportunity to stay multiple times in the many so called resorts in the upper, lower, and middle Keys. Most of those resorts were nothing more than a motel with a swimming pool. Finding things to do in the Keys was up to you. For me that wasn't a problem, but for many visitors unfamiliar with the where's and how's of things to do in the Key's can become quickly bored. Hawks Cay could probably be the closest thing to a real resort you can find anywhere in the Keys. Hawks Cay provides daily and evening activities for the family, tennis courts, watersports activities, fishing, along with swimming pools, a saltwater lagoon, dolphin lagoon, with beautiful grounds and views. Hawks Cay is a great place to recommend to first time visitors, families with children, and to people that want to visit the Keys for atmosphere rather than being out on a boat all day. Hawks Cay does cost a little more, but could be worth it for those that want more than place to sleep and a parking lot.
The few negatives we experienced was television quality was poor. The on grounds restaurant prices were a little steep with a menu that lacked some of the local fare we look for when visiting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We can’t thank you enough for your detailed review and recommendation. The greatest compliment we could receive is that a guest would recommend our resort based on what we feel are the highlights of staying at the Hawks Cay Resort. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that you have the opportunity to visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in the Premium Lanai Room. The accommodations were excellent. A/C was up to par for this room, comfortable bed with a separate sleeper sofa. Room had a mini-fridge for beverages. Just know, you can face either the Tranquility Pool (adult) or the Family Pool & Lagoon, so if you get one of these book the room where you want to face. While you have your own private deck, it is not super useful, as there is virtually no breeze on these decks, so you cannot stay long without having to cool off in the pool or your room. Overall the accommodations were quite good, but I would say it is quite pricey, at least the rate they gave us.

Restaurant Food quality was excellent both in OCEAN and ALMA. I would give OCEAN a low rating for atmosphere, as it seemed more like a cafeteria than a restaurant, but with restarurant pricing. We ate in ALMA and everything we had was outstanding, but again a bit pricey $45 for lobster, $36 for the beef short ribs. We also ate at the Poolside Grill and found the calamari and Fish Tacos both to be good, and I would say upscale for a patio/ocean bar. If you want to go offsite, you have at least a 12-15 minute drive to some good restaurants.

We did SCUBA with the dive shop, and I would rate that a 10 on the staff. We only dove once, on two shallow reef dives, so not sure what variety they provide with the dive sites. Again, the staff was outstanding.

Room Tip: Note: If you pick the Lanai Room, get the location that you want.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mcchuck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are delighted you had the opportunity to stay at the Hawks Cay Resort. It was great to have you here and we thank you for your wonderful comments. Providing guests with great service and terrific accommodations are top priorities for us as we wish to create a memorable experience for everyone. We are happy hear that our professional dive team made such a memorable impression on your stay. The next time you are visiting the Keys, we hope that you will allow us the honor of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a villa... Perfect setting, with our boat docked out back. The resort is gorgeous, great atmosphere, lots to do. The lagoon pool was so fun... I just wish there was soft sand, it was very rocky. The food at the resort was amazing. The service was poor just because I felt the people who worked there were not very friendly. But overall it was a wonderful family vacation

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kariking14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

It is wonderful to learn you enjoyed your stay at the Hawks Cay Resort as well as our gorgeous location and restaurants. We do regret any difficulties you encountered with our restaurant staff and will share your feedback with our management team. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
19.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range: £176 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing