We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sweet spot in the middle of the keys”
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A sweet spot in the middle of the keys”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

You must begin this perspective understanding that you are visiting a tiny bit of land accessed by a two lane highway off the tip of Florida. If you arrive with the perspective of anything else, you are doing yourself and the Keys a disservice.
My family rented a 3 bedroom villa overlooking the Marina. It was clean, well appointed, well situated logistically and had a wonderful view of the harbor. I do want to share that it was very quiet at the villa. When we first arrived at the resort registration, my daughter exclaimed, “Why are there so many people? I want to get away from the people.” True enough, in the afternoon, there are many people in the main pool/lagoon area. However, our villa was comfortably quiet and a comfortable short walk to the pool and lagoon. We found that we preferred the morning and late afternoon/evening in the lagoon. I still miss my morning swims. My children loved having ready access to kayaks and paddle boards. My mother-in-law enjoyed the easy view from the beach chairs watching both the lagoon and the sea life in the marina channel. My husband and father-in-law raved about the tennis.
We found Hawk’s Cay delightful in its amenities and accoutrements for a family stay. We found the staff to be accommodating with our needs. I do suggest that they work on the registration front desk. There seems to be a deficiency there in handling the large influxes of registrants and checkouts. We were able to just leave and notify the front desk from the car that we had exited.
The staffs at Alma, housekeeping, concierge, and poolside were all welcoming and accommodating. You must note that there is no grilling on the property. ? We did go to King’s Seafood in Marathon and purchased some excellent grouper. We also booked Snuba through the concierge with Dive Duck Key, which was outstanding. We went snorkeling with Spirit. We enjoyed both excursions immensely, but you must take Dramamine, even if you’ve never been sea-sick. Little boats and rolling seas don’t make things easy on the equilibrium without help.

Room Tip: Villa on the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommmanostress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your great review and photos. We are delighted that you and your family had the chance to enjoy the beauty and comfort of our resort along with many of our amenities, including our SNUBA diving and snorkeling. Your kind words for our resort are sincerely appreciated as this is the experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hawks Cay Resort on your next trip to the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,078
    1,400
    709
    377
    253
See reviews for
2,497
1,284
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Resort property itself was very nice. Kitchen in the villa had the BARE necessities and not much more. Fine for a weekend but not for a longer stay.

Called ahead for early checkin and crib. Couldn't find reservation. Once that was cleared up we showed up a week later (calling that morning again to confirm). We weren't checked in until after 6 pm! And then it was into an already occupied room! Imagine everyone's surprise when we walked in! They cleared it up and got us into the correct villa but not without great frustration and some very tired kiddos in tow. We were given a resort credit after complaining, it wasn't offered.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments in regards to your stay at our resort. Please accept our apologies for the delay when checking in and the villa mix-up. This is not the experience we wish to create and your comments will allow us to pinpoint areas in which we can make improvements. We appreciate your review and we hope that you’ll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back again and go above and beyond your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The property is very well maintained and the landscaping is beautifully manicured. However the new management company is still getting it’s feet wet and some of the expected common courtesies/pleasantries are absent. Several of the new employees were not as hospitable and a few of the more experienced ones seemed bitter. In spite of this, we had a great time. But we would have appreciated it more if we were not constantly reminded that the resort was preparing for the big 4th of July weekend as we were forced to listen to the tree trimmers behind our Villa for three days straight and also missed swimming in the pool right near us because it was getting resurfaced. We managed to ignore these little problems as we enjoyed fishing every morning and every night from our back green lawn area. It is an extremely nice resort and I hope that in the near future that management can infuse some positive energy into the employees so that more people can enjoy a very pleasant & welcoming atmosphere during their stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Although we are delighted that you enjoyed the beauty if our resort, we do regret that you were not happy with all areas of your visit. We believe that customer service comes first and we regret that certain interactions you had with our staff were not exemplary. We will address your comments with our management team so that we may continue to make improvements and create a better experience for our future guests. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This place was great. We went with a large group of 20+ families on an end of summer trip. I don't think I can add anymore to the many, many positive reviews other than the kids area has a pirate ship that magnetically attracts children under 6!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bon_temps_rouler_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hawks Cay Resort for your recent trip to the Florida Keys. Our resort offers guests many amenities designed to provide a fun yet relaxing atmosphere the whole family can enjoy. We are delighted that your family enjoyed our Pirate Ship pool and hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit us again for another amazing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our family had a wonderful vacation while at Hawks Cay. From lounging by the fabulous pools while the kids played in the water , to the memorable parasailing trip. All the staff at the resort were extremely helpful! The kids favorite memory from the trip was definitely the parasailing with Hovis and crew at Sundance watersports down at the marina. Hovis the captain was the highlight of the whole trip! He made our kids feel extremely comfortable and safe. It was just a short walk from our villa and the kids could not stop smiling for the rest of the vacation! Would recommend Hawks Cay and Sundance Watersports to anyone looking for a fun vacation for parents and kids!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed many of our on-site amenities including our high-flying exciting adventure, parasailing. It meant a lot to us that you mentioned how accommodating our staff was and how comfortable you and your family were during your stay as this is what we aspire to deliver to all of our guests. Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hawks Cay Resort the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place is worth every dollar. Let me start with you WE WILL BE BACK!! Hawks Cay is a top notch resort!! If you just want to relax in the lagoon or if you want some excitement its HERE. I am an avid fisherman, and this is one of the best around. If you want to rent a boat and try a solo trip or pick a charter. It has best of both worlds. Once your catch has is cleaned, bring it to the kitchen tell them what time you would like dinner and how you want it prepared, and for a small fee its done!! We were here for 4 days and thanks to a name less airline.....I never received my luggage... but Hawks Cay was so great I completely forgot mu problems and just enjoyed!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarred_Landry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Whether you’re an experienced world class angler or a novice about to enjoy their first fishing experience, Hawks Cay Resort is the perfect place for a fishing trip. We are delighted that you enjoyed how your catch was prepared at our on-site restaurant. Thank you for your review and we can’t wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The food was excellent and the service was great. With amazing views and great local restaurants. It was definitely worth it. Can't wait to go back! There is so much to do for kids and I highly recommend the indie club. If you get a waiter named Basil while at the hotel restaurant he is very genuine and kind. Great service!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollinPierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Hawks Cay Resort. We are delighted that you had the chance to enjoy many of our delicious on-site restaurants and kid friendly Indies Club. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you are visiting the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,364 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Property: Hawks Cay Resort
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing