We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beso Del Sol Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

This well-kept secret was fabulous. Clean, convenient to shopping, restaurants, nice, clean rooms, pools and jacuzzi. Impressed. Service excellent, everyone at the resort was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbacree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    84
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
80
138
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

This was our 3rd stay at Beso Del Sol and just as every other time, we LOVED IT!! It seems that it gets better and better each time we go. This time around we were there to celebrate our 2nd Anniversary. As always, Sadie, Lou Anne and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to make sure that our stay, and special occasion celebration, was absolutely perfect and memorable. They treat you like you are someone of importance rather than just another guest like other hotels and resorts do. So customer service gets 5+ ***stars***! The overall appearance outside is very welcoming and super clean. There is no trash lying around, a beautiful lighted fountain welcomes you at the entrance, and a cute little rock garden type area by the office beautifully displays a helpful and informative directory of the area listing all of the hotspots for anything you may desire for shopping, dining, nightlife and etc. As for our room, we stayed in a studio waterview room (#319), which by far was the best one yet for view. The decor was exactly as shown in the photos on their website and exactly how we remembered it to be from our last trip, which is really nice and comforting, fitting the whole tropical / island getaway related theme. The room was immaculate in terms of cleanliness and the view from the balcony was breathtaking whether day or night. They have always offered great Bath and Body brand products and toiletries, but this time around there was an even wider array of toiletries provided... I mean, you don't need to bring anything at all with you, which turned out to be a perfect coincidence since we forgot our bag of stuff at home. We were quite surprised to find there was shampoo, conditioner, body wash, face & hand soap, lotion, makeup remover towelettes, more shampoo varieties, quality name brand shaving gel & razor and I am sure there is more that I am forgetting. If you wind up forgetting your stuff like us, you would be extremely grateful to find it all there so that you don't have to actually go and spend a ton of money and time to go and buy it all. We made great use of the kitchen... sink, dishes & utensils, microwave and fridge and even the nice size dining table & chairs. Granted, even though the fridge and sink are not full size like at home, as others have mentioned in their reviews, you still have them to use which is way better than any other standard hotel room that doesn't offer any of that, and way way bettter than nothing at all... so we had no complaints about it, it got the job done just fine. The weather was absolutely perfect and allowed for enjoying some very delicious drinks out at their Marker 8 Tiki Bar. The service at the bar was great and so were the drinks. We chose mixed drinks over the average bottled beer and they were no more than average in price that you would normally pay at a regular bar... The added bonus though to having them here is that you get to enjoy beautiful water views, great weather and eventually an AWESOME view of the sunset.... along with their signature sunset celebration & shot / toast... you definitely don't want to miss this during your stay. The area offers a ton of things to do, places to go, eat, shop, drink and more. If you are a steak lover, Spoto's Steak Joint is the best!!! They are only about a 2 min drive from the resort and even though a little pricey, their steaks melt in your mouth and by far are one of the best we have ever had, so they are well worth it. If you feel like a beach day... Honeymoon Island is the best. Yes, you do have to pay for entrance, but for what they have to offer there it is well worth it. It is way more than a beach, it is a whole state park. If you want an unforgettable, even better experience, take their ferry to Caladesi Island. It is unbelievable there. Beautiful, uncrowded... you have to see to believe. Oh, and the food at Honeymoon Pavillion will surprise you... It is actually really great restaurant quality food, try them out too. Lastly, Beso Del Sol offers a lot to its guests that the average, normal person would be more than happy with. The towels are decent, clean towels, not gross like someone else mentioned. They offer free wireless internet that does work and is not as slow as a previous reviewer stated, either way, it is offered and free and it works, so don't complain. The beds are not super soft, but not terribly uncomfortable to where you can't sleep. They offer free bike rentals to use so you can enjoy the area... no one else does, but yet some still find a way to complain about it. They offer a gym and laundry area which is clean and functional... who cares about where you have to walk to get to them, it's not far by any means, so come on people, appreciate the amenities being offered and that you have them available to begin with. There are plenty of places without them or have them in more inconvenient areas than this. Overall, if you want a relaxing, beautiful, reasonably priced place to stay, that offers more than most and has great customer service and the right amount of business to where it is not super packed & busy.... This is it! You will be missing out anywhere else. Hope this review was helpful and informative and that you enjoy your stay with them as much as we did. Can't wait to go back next year... Only 11 more months to go :) BTW, check out their website if you want to see pics of the rooms, pools, etc. They are true to what you will see when you go.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CJ21409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Unity, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We just returned from a two weeks stay at Beso Del Sol. The resort is located directly on the bay although not on a beach but our balcony offered a glimpse of the bay also. The staff here is most helpful, the Pinellas Trail is only about a block away. Dunedin is a friendly place with many shops and wonderful restaurants in a small town atmosphere. Honeymoon Island, Caladesi and Clearwater beaches, all beautiful beaches, are just a few miles away. We had a great time and will return.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank waynepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bancroft
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at Beso Del Sol in Dunedin Florida for the month of Dec 2010 and it was great. Sadie,Lou Anne,Walter and the rest of the staff were second to none. They treated us like family and were very accommodating. Our condo was magnificent inclluding two flat screen TVS. The complex was conveniently located near downtown Dunedin, Gulf Of Mexico and the Pinellas Trail which was a plus when bikes are included free with your stay. This resort fits our needs and we just love it. Would we come back? It`s already booked! Paul & Dianne from Bancroft Ontario.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

We have been coming to Beso Del Sol for several years during the winter months, and at each visit we notice the steady improvements made by the new owner. The units have been up graded with new furniture, compact appliances, flat screen tv, and tastefully decorating. The office staff and cleaning personnel are always there to take care of your daily needs with a smile. If you are not in one of the rooms that over look St. Joseph Sound you can still come down to the pool area to view the beautiful sunsets.
The rails to trails walkway is a short distance away and bikes are available for the resorts guests at the front door. The new restaurant will be completed in a few weeks and will over look the water area from the fourth floor of the complex. The larger units face the parking area which at night is a relax full look with lighted palm trees and a huge water fountain to welcome you if it happens to be your destination.
Dunedin is a quiet town with many small shops and a variety of eating places in many price ranges. On Fridays there is the farmers market in the town square which has your favorite produce.
If biking isn't your thing Clearwater Beach and Honeymoon Island are just minutes away via car.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heron25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

I wish I could find something better to say about this property, it is not a bad place, it is just not a destination. It might be a good place if you need to be somewhere else and use it like a hotel as the units are clean, the landscaping is pretty, the people working here are nice and they have bikes that you can use.

But The rest:
The unit looks pretty enough but the beds are uncomfortable, the bath towels are in sad shape, the living room sofa caves when you sit on it, which is something that can be remedied but the balcony looks at nothing - no water views - just the side of another building (and there are no views to be had from anywhere inside the unit).

The kitchen is not really a kitchen, it is a kitchenette. Itty-bitty sink - no dishwasher, itty-bitty stove, full size fridge. No counter space, Not much for kitchen tools, had to go buy a pizza pan.

Sound travels inside the unit like a cave. You can hear everything going on upstairs, next door and all around you. The second bedroom is off of a loft area but there is no door to stifle any sounds, the upstairs bath is also itty-bitty.

Access to the fitness room - which also houses the computer is odd, you have to go around the main building to the pool side to get in and out.

Not each building has a public use washer & dryer and there is nothing in the units so we had to lug our dirty laundry across the parking lot to a separate building,

The pool was not heated (even though they advertise it as such) The hot tub was heated though, so we were able to use that. The bar area did not have any heaters going - and it was just to cold to sit in the wind and drink - plus they do not have a blender so they can't make any of the "virgin" drinks that the kids love. Wasted $$ opportunity for the bar owner.

There is nothing on the property to entertain the kids with (except the pool) so bring some board games (we bought a few as there is nothing on the property - that we knew of anyways.)

There is no beach but I knew that, It is possibly the first time in my life I have ever paid to go see the beach (at Honeymoon Island) $8.00.

Dunedin as a community - There really is not much to do, and the really cute shops in "downtown" closed up way too early. (Which is a shame because the one thing that seemed like a perfect evening - would be to go out for icecream after dinner and stroll the shops looking for that special something. (Another missed opportunity.)

The information book that is in each unit - is geared towards Tampa, Beso Del Sol should really make up their own binder with local information. Other resorts do this and it is something that could answer so many questions from where are the local churches are, to the closest pizza joint.

Honestly I know I won't be back - I just love the beach too much to not wake up and see it out my window. But if you are in town for a funeral, wedding, or business, then Beso Del Sol maybe able to fill your needs. It is just not my idea of a resort/destination spot.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
It's hard to be all things to all people but we try our best to provide our guests with clean and comfortable accomodations with the convenience of being able to prepare meals in the condo while saving on dining out. All of our professionally managed units are fully equipped with kitchen supplies and we will gladly provide specially requested items such as pizza pans. The resort now offers a water taxi service, kayak rentals, dolphin tours and shelling excursions. The tiki bar has expanded its offerings to include tasty frozen drins for adults and kids. Several furniture and bedding upgrades have recently been completed. We may not be directly on the beach but we overlook Americas only twice rated No 1 beach, Honeymoon Island and the most beautiful sunsets on the Gulf Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

I loved our stay at the resort, everything was almost perfect. The staff was great and very friendly and there were only a couple of things that could of been better. Like the internet was a bit slow and the stove area just needed to be a little bit bigger. But other than that the room was very comforting with an awesome view of the water. We also enjoyed the free bike rentals for our early morning rides. And it was a bonus to find that the pinellas trail was directly across the street. It was a great trip away from home and we would most definitely do it again.........

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnLy4FuN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunedin
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
3.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Villas of Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beso Del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beso Del Sol Resort

Property: Beso Del Sol Resort
Address: 1420 Bayshore Blvd, Dunedin, FL 34698-4217
Region: United States > Florida > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beso Del Sol Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier all-suites waterfront resort in beautiful Dunedin, Florida. Overlooking St. Joseph's Sound and the Gulf of Mexico, our accommodations provide a relaxing old Florida-style change of pace.Visit downtown Dunedin for art galleries, wine tasting, shopping and dining. Spend a day on the links at St. Andrews or Dunedin Country Club. Soak in the sun on several of America's top-ranked beaches.Maybe you would prefer relaxing at our waterfront pool area or fishing from our pier. The possibilities are endless and all are here for your enjoyment.Resort amenities include an onsite restaurant and tiki bar serving casual fare daily, weather permitting. Join us as we toast the sunset every evening with free sunset shooters! We offer complimentary bike rentals. Boat dockage for overnight resort guests at a nominal fee. A heated spa, book and CD lending library, guest laundry,free fitness club membership,summer kids club activities and a 4,000 square foot banquet and event venue round out the guest amenities. We hope you come as our guests and leave as our friends with memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beso Del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beso Del Sol Hotel Dunedin
Beso Del Sol Dunedin
Beso Del Sol Resort Dunedin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing