We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay @ Beso Del Sol Resort in Dunedin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beso Del Sol Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay @ Beso Del Sol Resort in Dunedin”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I would like to thank the staff at Beso Del Sol Resort for a great week !!!!
Kudos to Christine, Mary Ann, Nancy & Jo (Walter's Angels). Lots of good information on places to go and eat.
Great water view from the room.... Great pool side bar!!! Great restaurants !!! Great Vacation Spot !!
Thank you guys

Mike & Colleen # 321

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks Mike and Colleen! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the great guest services from "Walter's Angels". Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    84
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
80
138
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest family
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Room was furnished well and had ample supplies for the two of us. Nancy, at the desk, was so kind and helpful when we checked in. The office staff went out of their way to make sure we had all we needed. We loved our patio even though the view wasn't the greatest. Enjoyed the privacy of the balcony when we had our morning coffee. Tiki Bar had decent pub food. Bed and linens were oh so comfortable! I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DDaisydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Glad that you were pleased with your accomodations and the service you received from our awesome staff. With regard to the view from your condo; while the resort is in fact located directly on the water with 2 waterfront pools, spa and piers for all guests to enjoy, the majority of our condos do not directly overlook the water. While some condos have limited partial views of the water most overlook the pleasant landscape of adjacent residential properties. We hope that you will come back to stay with us again in the future to enjoy the resort and all that the area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we just returned from our stay at the Beso Del Sol resort and was very pleased with the cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms not to mention the beautiful landscaping and the great location to anything and everything fun to do in the surrounding areas. All of the staff bent over backwards to see to our every need. The receptionists were very nice and helpful, Rick and Bill the maintenance /security personnel were absolutely great catering to everything we needed. We would like to especially give a big "thank you" to Walter who went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay at this beautiful resort.We will definitely be back and hope to see more of your beautiful city. Thanks Again for a wonderful vacation, we loved it!! Jane & Mike and the Maine girls!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for being our guests and for the great review! It is truly our pleasure to be of service to all of our guests and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
271 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I don't normally knock a place but, I unfortunately, have to this time. We stayed with our in-laws at the Baso Del Sol Resort (unit 417) during the last week of April, 2014. The rooms (except the upstairs bathroom) were spacious and clean but that is where the positives have to stop. The kitchen was not well stocked with necessary items. In addition to no dishwasher, they didn't even include a sponge (or scotchbrite) to clean the pots and pans. They didn't have a broiler pan for the oven. Nor were there any mixing bowls (until later in the week when we complained that we had to use a metal pot to mix eggs for scambling). There were no salt and pepper shakers, no cutting board, no mixing spoons (or wooden spoons for scraping teflon lined pans while cooking). They put a broom in the small kitchen closet, but no mop to pick up spills (when we asked they said call maintenance...huh?). There was an iron, but no ironing board. Going on they provided a small amount of dishwasher soap and a partial roll of paper towels. When we requested more they told us they provided only "starter kits". Here is a quote from their resort amenities book: "Vacation Club guests receive a "starter kit" of basic necessities: one roll of paper towels, two rolls of toiler paper, a box of tissues, shampoo, dish washing liquid, hand and bath soap and hand lotion. Guests will be responsible for replacing these supplies as they are used. For one week stays, towels will be exchanged on Wednesday."

By the way, they included one small bar of soap in each of the baths. The 12 cup coffeemaker had 2 (one decaf) envelopes containing a prepacked filter and coffee for 4 cups of coffee. The "tissue boxes" were partially hand stuffed with about 6 tissues.

The downstairs bath was big enough and other than the lack of supplies was okay.

The upstairs bath was a different story. The shower stall was small but bigger than the entire rest of the bath room. When you sit on the toilet, you can lean on the sink because your legs are under it. The toilet paper holder was broken and kept on falling off. My wife did a temporary repair using a bit of toilet paper to hold it on (see photo). There was no hair dryer. When we requested one, they delivered one of the type that are mounted on the wall. With no place to mount it on the wall, it was an experience to use it! There was no shower mat for the floor (until the mid week towel exchange when one suddenly appeared! (they came into the unit while we were out and left some items sitting on top of my notes for this review which were on the kitchen table). There was basically no place to put anything down (safety razor as an example).

On to the upstairs bedroom. The upstairs bedroom was spacious containing a comfortable kingsize bed. It had a portable air conditioning unit sitting in front of the bed which looke awful. Upon examination by my brother in law, the A/C unit had no dust filter and the coils were completely packed with dust. We called maintenance and they came pretty quickly and decided to replace the entire unit. The new unit was, in fact, new. However, when they installed it, they neglected to completely hook up the exhaust duct to the window. I finished the job when I noticed the room getting warmer instead of cooling off. The portable unit(s) were both noisy. The upstairs bedroom had one end table and one end table lamp. No mirror (for that matter neither did the downstairs bedroom have a mirror). No chairs for sitting were in the bedroom. Outside the bedroom (between the upstairs BR and upstairs bath) was a fairly large area containing a bureau and a couch (which I think opened up as a bed). However, there were no chairs nor ANY lights. The upstairs BR had a large window with sliders (the reason they used a portable A/C). The window had blinds which were stuck in the up position until we worked on them for a half hour. The view out the window was of the well lit parking lot (the lights would have made sleeping impossible with the blinds open). We left the blinds closed the rest of the week.

The view from this waterfront resort, was minimal. The balcony outside the dinning room looked at the trees between this resort and the next piece of property. You could see a tiny sliver of the water if you leaned over the balcony. (see photos). The view out the front and from the upstairs bedroom was the parking lot and the northern wing of the resort.

Parking was fine. Occasionally Markers 8 (the tiki lounge) caused a problem but only on weekends). The units were fairly clean and were ready when we arrived (at about noon). With a little more effort by the management, this review could have been much more positive even with the limitations such as the size of the upstairs bath.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c2h5oh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
While we thank you for being our guest we are disappointed that you felt it necessary to "knock" us in your review. With regard to housewares and kitchen supplies your condo was in fact adequately stocked with a dishwashing cloth, a set of mixing bowls, nylon utensils and a cutting board. Our housekeeping manager personally located these items for you in the kitchen cabinets during your stay. When it was suggested that you contact maintenance when you inquired about a mop it was because we do not expect our guests to have to clean the tile floors as we are happy to do so for you in the event of a spill. There was both an iron and ironing board, the previous guest had simply moved the ironing board upstairs and housekeeping had not properly placed it back with the iron. We located the ironing board for you during your stay. Yes, the condos are supplied with a "starter kit" of basic necessities for our travel club guests as explained in the welcome book. It is the guest's responsibility to replenish these supplies as well as coffee and filters during their stay. The upstairs bathrooms are small but most guests consider them to be adequate for a week's vacation. While the resort is located directly on St. Joseph's sound providing all guests with beautiful views of the Gulf and barrier islands the majority of our condos do not have direct waterfront views. Your review indicates a few maintenance issues such as a loose tp holder, difficulty adjusting the bedroom blinds, and venting of the upstairs portable AC unit. We would have been happy to assist you with rectifying any of these concerns had we been given the opportunity to do so. We sincerely appreciate your critique and and we will try to do better as a result of your comments. Perhaps you will return and give us another opportunity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

First, I must say that the customer service at Beso Del Sol is phenomenal! Maryanne, Jo and the rest of the staff were so warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms are immaculately clean. The pools and view from the pools and the pier are gorgeous, most especially the sunsets. The tiki huts, poolside bar service and Jacuzzi were awesome. The restaurants in the quaint area on Main Street Dunedin were great. Thank you MaryAnne for the phenomenal recommendations of restaurants. We ate at Pensara and my most favorite place to eat was The Living Room. Phenomenal food and great ambiance. We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend Beso Del Sol to friends and family! :) ~ The D'Angelo's

Room Tip: We had the garden view, had a balcony but not great view but good for the money saved. Balconies ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks D'Angelo family! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all that the resort and the area have to offer. Hope you'll come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stay here for spring break 2014. 14 people 5 differant condo types from a studio to a two bedroom, all the rooms were great we all had plenty of room. The staff there was friendly and helpful anytime we needed anything. Having the bar/restaurant right there was nice, they have live music on the weekends, but you don't have to worry about the noise they are done by 9:30 10:00, even if you are in your room while they are playing you can't here them, as are room was very close. Dunedin is a neat little town with a lot of cool things to see and do. I would go back here any time. It is a great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryklukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We were so glad to host your spring getaway! Glad you enjoyed your condos and the tiki bar and grill. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I booked my trip thru Expedia and had been promised and thought I paid for a room with King size bed, garden view and a bathroom with a full countertop. When I called resort a few days before arrival with a question they suggested I check my reservation. They told me I had been booked into a room with a queen size bed etc, When I arrived my room was a queen size bed, no countertop in bathroom at all and my gardenview was of the garbage area outside the Tiki Bar. This was a trip for my granddaughter's 16th birthday and I wanted her to have a great experience. The staff at Beso was really great and also the Tiki Bar and pools were nice but we were very limited in our room space.I would book there again on my own getting a room above the pool and not use Expedia and being very specific in what I wanted. Area is beautiful!!

Room Tip: Rooms in south building would be much better with the balconies overlooking pool and ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Beso Del Sol Resort to celebrate your granddaughter's special birthday. We regret that your condo was not to your satisfaction, however, as described on Expedia, our condos have either king or queen beds and we provide the square footage of all condos so you are aware of the space. Nowhere does it state that bathrooms have a full counter top as several of our condos have pedestal sinks. All condos have wall mounted shelving units fior toiletries. Not sure if you requested a relocation but we would have been happy to accomodate you if we were able to do so. We hope you will choose to return again and stay in a direct waterfront unit as you recommended! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunedin
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
3.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 95 in Clearwater
210 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
1,173 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Villas of Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beso Del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beso Del Sol Resort

Property: Beso Del Sol Resort
Address: 1420 Bayshore Blvd, Dunedin, FL 34698-4217
Region: United States > Florida > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beso Del Sol Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier all-suites waterfront resort in beautiful Dunedin, Florida. Overlooking St. Joseph's Sound and the Gulf of Mexico, our accommodations provide a relaxing old Florida-style change of pace.Visit downtown Dunedin for art galleries, wine tasting, shopping and dining. Spend a day on the links at St. Andrews or Dunedin Country Club. Soak in the sun on several of America's top-ranked beaches.Maybe you would prefer relaxing at our waterfront pool area or fishing from our pier. The possibilities are endless and all are here for your enjoyment.Resort amenities include an onsite restaurant and tiki bar serving casual fare daily, weather permitting. Join us as we toast the sunset every evening with free sunset shooters! We offer complimentary bike rentals. Boat dockage for overnight resort guests at a nominal fee. A heated spa, book and CD lending library, guest laundry,free fitness club membership,summer kids club activities and a 4,000 square foot banquet and event venue round out the guest amenities. We hope you come as our guests and leave as our friends with memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beso Del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beso Del Sol Hotel Dunedin
Beso Del Sol Dunedin
Beso Del Sol Resort Dunedin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing