We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
17
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
2
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Garden Cottage with its rooftop terrace was a dream. Clean, incredibly well-stocked (with spices, cooking sprays, plastic wrap, extension cords and almost everything you'd have at home), free wi-fi, and an absolutely gorgeous view with breathtaking sunset views. The inside is comfortable with good windows and light and air conditioners and appliances that work as they should. But it's the terrace that makes this cozy rental rise to the top of all things good. It's large with padded chaise lounges and chairs and a decent-sized umbrella. In the morning, it's shaded but still warm with birds a plenty, and in the afternoon the sun sizzles down warming the bricks and occupants. It's an incredibly peaceful location but still very convenient to a plethora of nearby parks and all the retail establishments you'd find in any big town/little city in the US. Victoria Drive itself is lovely and an easy 1/2 mile walk to the pleasantly walkable town center and marina. The owner, Autumn, is very helpful, full of ideas, and amazingly responsive to any questions or needs.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank solotravel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

perfect vacation with all the amenities in our accommodations. This is our second trip here and it has not disappointed. The sunset are breathtaking, and so convenient to everything...all a short walk away! We're already planning our trip back next year!

Stayed: April 2016
Thank ronnieracer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

I have stayed at this property for 9 years. I can honestly say over time it has become very run down. I will not again. It was ant infested. She did nothing but offer a can of raid. The bedding is threadbare and has not been updated in 9 years. Room and wall air conditioners are loud, noisy and disruptive to your sleep. Washer and dryer are downstairs, a hassle and great burden to carry up and down, not to mention dealing with the elements when doing your wash. Same as groceries. A real burden for older people to carry up and down. The host of this property, while trying to present a false façade of being genuine, is difficult year after year in demands to set a price for her property. Buyer beware. The yellow cottage I have stayed in as well. Also showing its age, very dated, is so noisy as it is mere feet from Alt 19.
The morning traffic would wake the dead. A quick glance on Google maps and you can see this for yourself.
There are other charming places in Dunedin I have found. I speak from experience. Just passing along what I have learned from my hard earned vacation dollars.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
4  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

We had the great pleasure of staying in the Waterside Cottage Too, a delightful second floor apartment overlooking scenic and tranquil St. Joseph Sound. This was the perfect romantic getaway for our 43rd anniversary. Our attentive host, Autumn Malagies, equipped it with everything to make our stay one we won't ever forget. We enjoyed riding our bikes on nearby, historic Pinellas Trail and even rode them to a Toronto Blue Jays spring training baseball game! Thanks, Autumn! We'll definitely be back!l
PS: My 6'2" husband asked me to add that the king-size bed is beyond comfortable!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lyvisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

My three star rating is cautionary. Dunedin is a wonderful town and Victoria Drive is a special place. The Dunedin Cottages extend from Victoria Drive to Route 19 Alt, Broadway. The Waterfront Cottages front on Victoria Drive. The Yellow Cottage fronts on Route 19 Alt, a heavily traveled major highway. The Garden Cottage is in between. Onshore breezes which refresh the waterfront rarely impact the Yellow Cottage. Noise and dead air render the front and north side sitting areas of the Yellow Cottage useless.

We have stayed in the Yellow Cottage during some or all of the months of February and March in 2013, 2014, and 2015. The repeated stays were largely the result of inertia, not wanting to spend valuable time searching for an alternative. We have a dog and rentals accepting them are limited. Also we hoped to access the Waterfront Cottage.

We will not be going back to the Yellow Cottage for a number of reasons. First, the cottage is tired and in need of upgrading. Nothing appears to be repaired or replaced until it either breaks or become obsolete. The living room couch is worn and uncomfortable. Lighting in the living and dining areas is inadequate. Harsh and glaring at one extreme, too limited to adequately read at the other with nothing in between. Many of the windows are in need of a through cleaning. The air conditioning is limited.

Secondly, with the windows open this delightfully warm March the noise from 19 Alt was unbearable. Traffic on 19 Alt is particularly heavily during the morning, noon, and evening commutes. The Yellow Cottage is just feet from it. Traffic noise particularly from the siren’s of frequent public safety vehicles, and motorcycles competes with desired internal peace and quiet within the cottage.

Finally, while it hasn’t been all bad, we have grown tired of doing business with the owner. She is arbitrary and inconsistent. Get everything you want in writing, even then that is not full protection. The intent of contract terms are ignored or swept aside with little or no justification. Operating rules are made up on the spot to justify actions. Terms acceptable one year aren’t the next. Curious contract provisions are added such as the provision for 2015 that limited the two month occupancy of the two bedroom unit without penalty, to one couple plus 14 guest nights. All business discussions and negotiations are personal and dramatic.

Stay in the grand Waterfront Cottage if available but pass on the Yellow Cottage, as you can do better.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
13  Thank BC4250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews