We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Pearl Restaurant

The Black Pearl Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 168 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the Black Pearl Restaurant, creating a one of a kind dining experience is our goal, every dish from the warm ciabatta bread to the homemade vanilla bean ice cream is made in house, and to order especially for you. We believe life is too short to eat bad food.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent food, great ambiance. Chef is outstanding, good wine selection. Very worth the wait to get reservations. Excellent presentation and service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraH1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    31
    21
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent restaurant with amazing food and very good staff! We enjoyed a wonderful night there! Would love to come back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Vive la France!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Quaint, intimate, delicious french cuisine with attentive wait staff. The filet mignon was superb, mushroom ragout pasta delightful, and the house specialty of licorice ice cream divine! Bon appetit! Reservations needed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertAlberta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in an Intimate Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Friends in the Dunedin area recommended this restaurant for our 30th anniversary dinner. We're vegetarians so we were impressed with the great dining experience here. The wine list offers many good choices in all different price ranges. Service is excellent. The establishment is not stuffy and fancy attire is not required of the guests. The atmosphere is relaxed. The quality of the food and its presentation is excellent. Be sure to make a reservation because this restaurant is very popular. Dunedin is a fine place to go for dining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Florida_Pat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streamwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We found a "gem"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We've been coming to the Clearwater area on business and were tired of the same restaurants every time we were in town. We heard about Black Pearl and read a lot of great reviews so we thought we would try it. We were not disappointed.
From the moment we walked in the door, we were lavished with attention. The restaurant is very small - only about 12 tables - so they can treat each patron with lots of attention. The service was excellent and the staff was courteous and attentive - and happy! Whatever you needed, the were happy to oblige.
As for the food - it was the best meal we'd had since coming to the area. I personally had 2 appetizers instead of a full meal and for me it was just the right amount of food. I didn't feel too full nor was I still hungry. I'm not a seafood eater and there was quite a bit of seafood on the menu - but I was still able to find something. I had the butternut squash ravioli, which was excellent! I also had a pork belly appetizer (a special for the day) and it was also very tasty. My friend had the fried green tomatoes and said it also was very good. Another friend had the filet and said it's the best he's had in a long time.
I will say that the food is a little pricey, but once in a while, it's okay to pay a little more for you meal. All-in-all, we enjoyed the cozy atmosphere, the superb service and the excellent food. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank limjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Pearl Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Black Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing