We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B above the rest”
Review of Meranova Guest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meranova Guest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“B&B above the rest”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I went for a birthday weekend and it was awesome. Great hospitality and food. Located in downtown area walking distance to many things. If you like to bike the trail is a block away. I must say the brownies waiting on us when we got there just hit the spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ufgatorgrl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
109
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We recently stayed at Meranova for a quick weekend getaway ... and we will definitely go back again and again. David and Frank understand the concept of gracious hospitality, and the privacy they've created around their property is unique in the b & b world. Every detail has been thought through ... our room was beautifully decorated, our welcome tour with David was both thorough and entertaining, and the little extras they provide are special ... brandy, chocolates and brownies greeted us; breakfast in the orchid garden was memorable (lap blankets included to keep away the chill) ... and the food (ad the presentation) as simply the most gracious and spectacular. David and Frank have put their hearts and souls into Meranova and it shows. We have told dozens of our friends already and are planning a group takeover of Meranova so they can experience it first hand with us. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

For years the Ritz Carlton in Naples Florida has been our winter escape destination. In 2009 a friend who had moved to Dunedin suggested we spend some of our winter escape time in Dunedin. But, where to stay? We read the
reviews of local 4 & 5 star hotels and weren't impressed.

We discussed our dilemma with our friend. He suggested we try a bed and breakfast. We had never stayed in a B & B and frankly the idea didn't really have much appeal to us. Nevertheless, we decided to take a chance and booked a room at the place he recommended: the Meranova. Are we ever grateful that we overcame that reluctance!

When we arrived we found a little patch of paradise in an ideal small town - everything of interest within walking distance and NO crowds.

Several reviewers have referred to David and Frank as being "gracious". Gracious fits hosts/owners David and Frank perfectly.

Other reviewers have written very precise descriptions of what is right (none can think of anything wrong): Gracious hosts, indescribably delicious breakfasts served in your room or on your porch, impeccably maintained grounds, standards of cleanliness/tidiness that would pass muster at West Point. All of this combines to make the visitor feel right at home.

They have an uncanny ability to anticipate the guests' special needs: Going to the beach? A special beach basket will appear at your door. Traveling by car? You'll leave with homemade brownies and cookies. Special dietary needs? They'll be sure that your menu reflects those needs.

Who cares if Dunedin doesn't have a true 5 star hotel. It has a 10 star B & B, the Meranova. Our one fear is that David and Frank will retire (probably for full-time life aboard cruise ships) before old age ends our visits to Florida.

Oh, don't forget to ask Frank about Shammy when you visit. With luck he will be home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HB T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Need a getaway in just off quaint Main St. Rooms are beautifully decorated and spotless. When you arrive, expect a snifter of brandy, homemade brownie and chocolates. We typically try to steal a few decorating ideas. Owners Frank and David really work at anticipating your needs and succeed. Take their recommendations for the local restaurants, but you WILL be dazzled by the breakfasts. If you need a few days to recharge, this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhjraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn Mi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The total package has been well thought out and extremely well executed. The grounds, the rooms, and the food are all first class. The town is very walkable and dining options abound. The hosts are friendly and accessible. The breakfasts are delicious. You cannot go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nerudfager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said in the other reviews? All of the praise heaped upon the Meranova Guest Inn is richly deserved!! Frank and David are so warm and welcoming - they made us feel as if we'd known them for years. This property is beautiful and so conveniently located to all the shops and restaurants in downtown Dunedin. The rooms are beautifully decorated and impeccably clean, not to mention comfortable and homey. The breakfasts are incredible. Every morning, we couldn't wait to see what was hiding under those plate covers! Not only was the food unbelievably delicious, but the presentation was beautiful. The pecan caramel coffee cake (with homemade caramel sauce) was out of this world. We ate every crumb off of every plate and dish that was brought to us! There was so much food that we always had something left to nibble on later. My only regret is that we didn't know about this place sooner. We stay in Dunedin every year for Spring Training - from now on, we will plan our trip around the available dates at the Meranova. We have stayed at many B&Bs in the U.S. and Europe, and the Meranova is definitely at the top of the list!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My mother and I stayed there during the month of February. We enjoyed it so much that we came back the next week during our vacation. Frank and David are truly two of the most sincere, kind, and hospitable people we have ever had the privilege of meeting. The grounds of the meranova are breathtaking, the breakfasts are to die for, and the rooms are white glove clean. As one who owns my own cleaning business, I am quite picky and both suites we stayed in were superbly clean and decorate with love. Come stay at this little piece of paradise, whether you are a local or a visitor. As a 22 year old staying in the southwest suite specifically, made me feel like this is the place I could live, for a very long time.

Room Tip: The Southwest room is an upstairs masterpiece, great porch with view of pool and has better breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoriGHannahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Beso Del Sol Resort
Beso Del Sol Resort
#4 of 8 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meranova Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meranova Guest Inn

Property: Meranova Guest Inn
Address: 458 Virginia Ln, Dunedin, FL 34698-4970
Region: United States > Florida > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Meranova Guest Inn Dunedin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing