We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Florida State Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunnellon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Springs State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very beautiful we didnt swim due to weather and time of year (January) but there were people in the springs which was crystal clear. The restrooms and changing area are old but adequate. I hope they get funding soon to redo the visitor center that caught on fire awhile back. The river itself looked great and wish that we had more time to perhaps go kayaking on it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank sailfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have been to many natural springs in Florida. This is one of the best! The spring is beautiful with a consisitent 72 degree temp. There are lifeguards on duty who pay close attention. It is not an easy spring to get in and out of, and during the busy summer holidays can get very crowded. The bathrooms could use some sprucing up for sure. They do have some neat shaded walking paths with pretty (man-made) waterfalls. Small children may not get much out of it as there isn't anywhere to stand in the spring. You can bring noodles, but not rafts. If you come, pack some chairs, noodles and a lunch. If you plan to stay long, you might want to bring a tent. Plenty of areas to set up a tent for the day. Coolers are allwoed. There is also an area where you can rent canoes for 2 hours. It's a refreshing change from the beach and pool! Ages 6 to about 60 might find it most appealing. Under or over might be uncomfortable.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Cokie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The park restrooms are D-sgusting! There are people EVERYWHERE...leave ALL your valuables in the trunk of your car! The water has no wading so bring a floaty noodle and dont think you'll be able to slowly get used to the water temp. Also, this park seriously needs a changing area (the nasty bathroom stalls dont cut it)! Even though the water was great, we will NEVER return to this park...florida has way nicer ones!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

What a nice find!!!!

Rent a tube for $10 and you've got two hours of relaxation ahead as you leisurely float down two miles of Rainbow River Springs. Beautiful trees, birds, lovely homes to see right on the river. Water is shallow so you can hop out at any time, snorkel, swim or just take a quick dip. This is a great solo activity or for groups (kids too).

Kayaks and canoes are available for rent or you can bring your own gear. Boats are allowed on the river if you are so inclined.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleCristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We camped here w a group and enjoyed the campground. Most sites are not shaded, but we used fans and tent shades. Sites are big and well spread out. Certainly did think they were on top of each other. We tubed from state park. $10 and change per person for tube and tram.
Will certainly return - will probably stay away from hot summer months here.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank tennillebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We've stayed here several times and thoroughly enjoy it. Yes, there is very little shade, but you can pick a site so that you get the morning sun and it's not too bad. #13 is the best site! While at the river, we watched the bald eagle, saw sandhill cranes, a pair of pileated woodpeckers and a hawk. We drove over to the Springs and hiked the trails. The azaleas were in bloom, it was early morning and very few people there. My husband has been coming here since the 40's and remembers the old rides and enjoys talking to the rangers about the old facilities. The did have a fire in the gift shop around Christmas and it and the snack bar are now closed. And only 1 waterfall is running. We spent an afternoon visiting the antiques shops in Dunnellon and another day drove up to Cedar Key. A great place to use as a base camp to go visiting the nature coast of FL or, like us, a quiet, quick place for a nice mid week getaway

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nanaannemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Rainbow Springs was a highlight of our Florida holiday.
We did not camp there, but did spend an afternoon exploring the springs and the trails of the park. The property was a popular theme park from the 1930s-1970s, until losing favor to newer attractions like Disneyworld (c.1970) and other Orlando locations.

Florida State Parks purchased the land in the '70s and have allowed it to revert to the wild, though there are still relics of its theme park days evident throughout the park. Ruins of a small zoo, rodeo grounds, and man-made waterfalls are interesting footnotes to its former life. There used to be glass bottom boat tours and an aerial tram way, both long gone. However, you can rent canoes and kayaks at a concessionaire inside the park, and cruise the beautifully clear blue-green springs. There's a buoyed-off swimming area for easy access to the year-round 72 degree water. Lots of fish can be spotted by the naked eye, because the water is so amazingly clear. (Note: there are also warning signs about alligators!)

Other hightlights: Beautiful dense tropical forests, and interesting birds. Plus a butterfly garden. The visitor center is well-stocked with park history, books and souvenirs and the staff is helpful and informative.

We really enjoyed Rainbow Springs State Park and will be sure to visit again next time we're in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
5  Thank GhiaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnellon
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
3.7 mi away
Dinner Bell Motel
Dinner Bell Motel
#2 of 3 in Dunnellon
73 reviews
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hilton Ocala
Hilton Ocala
#3 of 34 in Ocala
1,847 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
818 reviews
16.1 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Springs State Park

Address: 18185 SW 94th St, Dunnellon, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Dunnellon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Dunnellon
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Rainbow Springs State Park Hotel Dunnellon
Rainbow Springs State Park Dunnellon, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing