We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little canoe run.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunnellon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Springs State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Elkins
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little canoe run.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The campground entrance was a bit of a chore to find. Once oriented, we enjoyed it. The canoe run was short but fun. Crystal clear water. Not very many animals on the river. We didn't see any alligators and only a few turtles and birds. The campground was nice. Sites were very private on our loop. We went through the other loop and it didn't look near as private or shaded. I would bet that the tubing trip is great, but it wasn't open at the time we were there. The walk through the actual park is neat. Relics of a campy 1950s tropical amusement are noted throughout. The only downside is the houses and developments on the one side of the river. I would bet that the river is packed on Summer days.

Room Tip: Pick a campsite on the main loop (not the one with the primative sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyDogTravelsWithMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    47
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
83
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We went to Rainbow Springs for the annual Thanksgiving camping trip. The sites were nice and large enough for the multiple family members to have their campers and a tent on site. The facilities are surprisingly clean and very warm. We brought and rented some kayaks to go upstream to the park which was a beautiful trek. The water is constantly clear and you can see everything beneath you. We saw some scuba divers while canoeing. Rainbow Springs park was a nice walk and they have beautiful waterfalls along the path. Each year the family picks a different campsite for the trip and I hope we pick this one again in a few years.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
192 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This park is quite different from all others we were to. It has 3 different entrances on 3 different roads; one for tubing, one for camping and another one for the park. Address on the website took us to the tubing gates. A police officer who showed up from nowhere told us how to get to the campground.
There are 7 (I think) tent walk-in sites –all very close to each other. If you tent go for site #60 –it is at the end of the walkway, private and surrounded by vegetation. Site #53 was least one I would take. Walk-in means literally few steps from where you park a car, so no worry about hauling your stuff for more than 30 sec to the furthest site. When we were leaving a large family just arrived and literally set up their own little town in tent only section. I can imagine how much fun this kind of group camping must be. The campsites provide some personal space (although vegetation separating the sites is short) but you can talk to each other from own sites with ease. That being said, having strangers around you might not appreciate this closeness at all. This area is also away from the rest of the campground and separated from it by the bathroom building. The bathrooms were less clean or maybe more run down than in other parks. I noticed that several other sites (not tent only) were in a full sun without any shade –something to keep in mind when making reservations in the summer. Cabins did not look like something I would like to try – a long line of them -like condos. I don’t know how far it extends and how the rest of the campground looks like. The part I have seen was low side of average. Too open, with too much asphalt like a parking lot. Staff, however, was very friendly. What made this rating very good is the spring part of the park. It was simply beautiful! Maintained enough to give the visitors “user friendly” feel, but still preserving its natural beauty. The spring is fantastic to swim in but it is truly for swimmers only, not for non-swimmers to play or wade. Any access point takes you into deep water immediately and you can’t just stand on the bottom. There are no showers in that part of the park, and I did not see toilets, or changing area immediately next to the pool. Up on the hill there is a concession building and I am sure you can find something there. The spring turns into a relatively wide river where you can kayak. There is also a trail that takes you to nice small waterfall. This was such a pretty place that I would go back there to explore some more. The tubing entrance was closed for the season.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank AAS619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went to Rainbow State Park to record a Wedding and it was beautiful even though it was early Dec. Temps were great. and the staff worked with us. The grounds have many places to have a wedding but the best is right after you come in with the River in the background.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Rainbow Springs takes your breath away....the water, the flowering trees and shrubs, the history and the bubbling springs in the crystal clear river.....every time we go it just keeps getting better. visitors are astonished..to owe it to yourself to .take a walk in this beautiful garden and smell the flowers!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived after dark, around 9 p.m., and like all Florida state parks, had no trouble getting in and setting up. Our campsite didn't have any privacy, but we don't care. We also didn't have any trees, but fortunately it was a beautiful weekend, so it didn't matter. Our large pop up, one tent, 2 cars, and 7 people fit with plenty of room to spare. We were 2 sites away from the bathroom, so that was nice. The bathrooms were super clean, always stocked, and had plenty of hot water and nice, big showers. The campground was also very clean. We were in easy walking distance of the tube launch, which was awesome. It is a pretty, shaded walk. We had never tubed there before, and the ranger in the store was very polite and informative, letting me know exactly what to do. Renting our tubes was easy, and the trip down to the shuttle landing was super fun. The kids snorkeled and swam and my husband and I loved looking at the houses and the birds as we floated along. The tube exit was a little harrowing. Next time we'll be better prepared to tackle it. I recommend staying to the left, not waiting until the last second to get off your tube, and be very careful because the stairs are hard and very slippery. After the long walk back to the shuttle station, the shuttle dropped us off right at the campsites, which was great. The last morning there, we hung out at the river for a little bit. Everyone waded in and looked around, even though it's chilly water! There were people fishing, but no one caught anything. We had a great time and were happy with the campground. If you are looking for an easy way to tube, this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We camped there this past weekend. The campsites were clean, big and relatively private. Restroom areas were clean. Campground had easy access to tubing which was nice. There was also a dock and small swimming area on site. The playground was in good shape. The pool is not in service and is not likely to ever be again from what we heard. It was a very easy drive to the actual state park and that was almost the best part. The park is beautiful. The waterfalls, greenery and easy walking paths were great. The headsprings almost take your breath away when you see it for the first time. The staff was so friendly. Admission to the park is free if you are camping so take your pass. You cannot tube from the headsprings area but you can swim. Also you can rent kayak/canoes. Tubing is seasonal so check first if that's important to you. We had a great time and will be back!!!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnellon
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
16.2 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dinner Bell Motel
Dinner Bell Motel
#2 of 3 in Dunnellon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Springs State Park

Property: Rainbow Springs State Park
Address: 18185 SW 94th St, Dunnellon, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Dunnellon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Dunnellon
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Rainbow Springs State Park Hotel Dunnellon
Rainbow Springs State Park Dunnellon, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing