We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Rainbow River Kayak Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.00*
and up
Self-Guided Kayak Trip on Rainbow River
Ranked #3 of 11 Tours in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have kayaks for rent and provide shuttle transportation to and from the beautiful Rainbow River. Come experience the 72 degree refreshing crystal clear water of the Rainbow and take a paddle trip for yourself in one of our many kayaks for your next adventure.
Miami Beach
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Five of us booked this river trip through Rainbow River Kayak Adventures on Memorial Day weekend... we ranged in age from 11 to 78 and we all had an incredible time. This company was professional from initial phone inquiry and booking to our drop-off and pick up. Really great guys to deal with, clean and air-conditioned vans for the transfers. They made sure we had the right equipment for our needs. It was a popular day for the river but it never felt crowded. Gorgeous water, beautiful cypress-lined riverbanks and the occassional private home along the route. We look forward to doing this one again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good people. gpood value.”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The price is cheap. You rent a kayak or canoe. You can either paddle upstream and then go back down, or you can be dropped off upstream and float down. The river is clear. Lots of traffic, but very courteous people. Much of the river flows through a large park, and the scenery is good.

Afterwards, grab a bite to eat at a nice little bar and grill on the river.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCALA, FL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing river experience, amazing owners!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We went Kayaking New Years Day and what a wonderful way to ring in the new year! It was a perfect day out, the river was so beautiful and Amber and Chris couldn't of made our experience any more pleasant! Definitely wish we would have stayed longer, but we will be back :)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NINIERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful kayak trip on the Rainbow River”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The Rainbow River is a very beautiful river. The water is so clear that it looks like you can reach the bottom. I tried reaching the bottom with the kayak paddle and the water is deeper that that. I saw lots of birds, painted turtles and one otter.You paddle right through the backyards of a lot of very beautiful homes on the river. Chris took me to the launch and picked me up later at the take out point. The only thing that would make this trip better is if it were longer.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AFFORDABLE, FUN, AND CONVENIENT!”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Heard plenty about the Rainbow River before but had never been. With the great weather lately we decided to make a family trip up from Tampa and bring the youngsters (5 and 7). There were several different kayak rental companies in town to choose from- but after doing some research and being recommended by friends, we went with Rainbow River Kayak Adventures. WHAT A GREAT CHOICE IT WAS! Several different kayak models to choose from meant we all got what we wanted! My 7yr old son and I paddled our own kayaks while my wife and 5yr old son enjoyed the day in a tandem. The convenient shuttle service and friendly staff were the icing on the cake. Miss Amber is quite a joy! We will absolutely be using them again for future adventures.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Family M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow River Kayak Adventures also viewed

Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Been to Rainbow River Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing